Last Laugh Mocks Me

I was dragged into our guild’s Naxx 25 wrap up on Sunday, and was lucky enough to get Last Laugh (farewell, Sword of I’m Tired of Running UP).   I cheerfully ran off to throw a weapon chain on it for the time being, and then…

…realized that I was one point under defense cap.

Oh, for fuck’s sake!

In my great laziness I just went ahead and bought the crafted epic shield I should have had already off the AH, thus ensuring that I’ll replace it in the very next Naxx 25 that I run.  Then I looked at my 1h Axe skill and realized it was at…1.

So I ducked below Dalaran and beat on a treant for 25 minutes.  I’m not exaggerating, I saw my seal timer tick down.  I spent a lot of time alt tabbed, despite the very real risk that some hordie would come along and go LOL PALLY and stomp me.  I gave up at 370 or some odd skill because I was finally hitting hard enough to kill the silly trees in only a couple of minutes.  I can’t say I like Ambrosyne carrying around such a menacing weapon.  I mean, it’s Ambrosyne!  Her idea of a taunt is probably something along the lines of “Hey, you!  Over here!  Don’t hurt my friends!”

Lyestra also recently picked up an axe to tank with, but it suits her nicely.  She’s always been the sort where a more brutal weapon was right up her alley.   Thankfully the treants were above her in level so there was little risk of her killing them accidentally, so her alt-tabbed weapon skilling was easier.  I think weapon skilling is teh dumb, though.

Project-wise I’m currently working on Uldaur Boss Notes, because I have every intention of not letting Huntres explain another raid fight ever again.

,

  1. #1 by Rhidach on July 21, 2009 - 10:51 am

    Grats on the LL!

    If you’re that close you might be able to swing swapping your shoulder enchant for the stam/resil pvp one which has more uncrit% than the pve one. That might put you at 5.6%+ total uncrit.

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on July 21, 2009 - 10:54 am

    PvP whut?

  3. #3 by Rhidach on July 21, 2009 - 12:02 pm

    You must have some honor saved up, haha, I hate pvp and I somehow have 2k. You can also use those stone keeper shards to buy tokens that convert to honor.

    This is the shoulder enchant I’m blathering about: http://www.wowhead.com/?item=44957. It’s +.18% uncrit as opposed to .12% with the Hodir one.

  4. #4 by HP on July 21, 2009 - 12:39 pm

    If you really want to level up weapon skill, go to HVH and smack on the NPCs there (don’t activate the instance). Just autoattack but I don’t know if you can alt-tab so easily.

  5. #5 by Dorgol on July 21, 2009 - 12:43 pm

    I actually leveled up my unarmed skill in HVH – while healing the group. Silly Achievement gave me away.

  6. #6 by Linedan on July 21, 2009 - 1:11 pm

    Balancing that 540 defense floor is one of the tougher things you’ll do as you upgrade Amber’s tanky gear. You’re not supposed to gem for +defense unless you absolutely have to, but if you’re one point short, it might be worth it to swap one gem slot temporarily.

    You *can* tank Naxx with 539 defense. You’re running something like 0.04% chance of getting critted (I think). Now considering that this is Patchwerk, the hardest-hitting boss in the instance, and is capable of taking your head cleeeean off if he crits, you need to ask yourself a question…”do I feel lucky?” Well, do ya, tank?

  7. #7 by Adgamorix on July 21, 2009 - 1:23 pm

    http://www.wowhead.com/?item=38954 – slap a defense enchant on that shield.

  8. #8 by kyrilean on July 21, 2009 - 3:11 pm

    “…I have every intention of not letting Huntres explain another raid fight ever again.”

    The others might not be laughing, but I’m crying!!! :)

  9. #9 by The Renaissance Man on July 21, 2009 - 4:44 pm

    The best method for leveling weapon skill. Go by the white dalaran weapon. Regardless of whan weapon type you’re trying to level,the white dalaran weapon of that type has the fastest swing time. Next step? Go to Hellfire penninsula, turn on seal of light, and find a Fel Reaver. Alt tab, profit.

  10. #10 by nimayne on July 22, 2009 - 2:59 am

    grats to the last laughter:)

    skilling weapons allways happens at one point, takes a long time and the last point some…never (at least it feels like that)

  11. #11 by Misaki on July 22, 2009 - 3:32 am

    Grats on LL :)
    I don’t know if it still works, but I levelled my weapon skills (on my mage, lulwut) in Dire Maul. The ghosts at the end are attackable, but don’t die and don’t attack back. You can literally just afk there for as long as you need to.

  12. #12 by Ambrosyne on July 22, 2009 - 9:17 am

    @Misaki – Knowing me I’d get lost in DM. Even though I remember the days when people used to acutally RUN that instance, I never went much, and I can’t navigate my way out of a paper bag.

    TRM has a point I’ll try to remember. Though even at 80 I instinctively flee from those damn felreavers. :)

Leave a Reply

