Dear Pugs

Dear Death Knight Pug,

You were the epitiome of tanking gear =/= tank.  If you’re going to death grip pull, at least death grip the caster.  You had my hunter trapping in Nexus.  Trapping.  In Nexus.  We begged you to pull with DnD but no, the fun of making someone sail through the air was too much for you.  I had to find my mis-direct button for trash pulls.  

You are so lucky that I am a fucking fantastic hunter, buddy!  I have no regrets about annoying you iwth Devilsaur stomp stomp stomp. 

>:|

-No love,
Jamethera the Uber Hunter Who Remembers When CC Mattered

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Light on July 29, 2009 - 11:57 am

    Why is it there are so very few good death knight tanks (at least on my server…)?

  2. #2 by Grimmtooth on July 29, 2009 - 12:22 pm

    Hah, my hunter would probably have enjoyed the chance to trap again. Ooo, I could break out my BM set for the trapping bonus!

    Oh, and /salute for keeping the lights on with BM spec!

    @Light – I think Hannelore said it best: “I believe every rouge, loladin, fury warrior, and those enhancement shamans and mages that were always ticked off whenever a warlock beat them on the meters, all got together and rolled death knights.” You will notice a distinct paucity of experienced tanks in that list :)

    http://egotisticalpriest.com/2008/11/wrath-week-1-thoughts/

    Worth the read if you haven’t before :)

  3. #3 by Ten'nen on July 29, 2009 - 1:45 pm

    “When CC Mattered”

    Wut iz CC? Wai du magez haz spellz 2 make peeps into animalz? Blizzard iz funny!

    No seriously. Why haven’t I had to sheep in forever? Blah. Bring back mah sheep pulls!

  4. #4 by Misneach on July 29, 2009 - 1:56 pm

    I feel for you.

    Bad DK tanks exist simply because people think they can throw on plate and tank anything. I’ve seen it in Warriors and Pallies, too, but the reason there may be “more” bad DK tanks is because it’s a new class that starts at 55 and people thought “oh, hey, my guild needs tanks so I’ll make a DK tank and have him at 80 in no time. It’ll be the coolest!!!”

    /sigh. Idiots.

  5. #5 by Firespirit on July 29, 2009 - 2:51 pm

    I have holy as my second spec (Retribution is my primary, of course :) ) – and it never fails that when I am in the mood to heal a heroic or two I get stuck with a terribad DK tank. In most cases my beacon is not on the tank, but rather on me, and that doesn’t even keep me alive sometimes. /sigh

    /toast to times when Tanks knew how to tank, CC was used because it was a necessity, rather than to prop up a bad tank, and healers didn’t have to do more healing on themselves than the tank.

    Will we ever see those times back? In a PUG situation, I doubt it…..

  6. #6 by Nomnomnoms on July 30, 2009 - 3:15 am

    I wish CC still mattered. I think I enjoyed the frequent sheeping in places like Zul’Farrak in 2006 more than the repetitive spam aoe that I do in heroics nowadays.

  7. #7 by Korenwolf on July 30, 2009 - 4:20 am

    There are still good PUG tanks out there, I suspect I’ll be breaking out my tankadin again once 3.2 drops so he can build up the conquest gear to keep him vaguely current. It helps having played both sides of the fence (tank & heal) and having SWMBO as my healer, there’s nothing like being shouted at across the room to reinforce your awareness of the mobs in a pull :)

  8. #8 by Zalgosh on July 30, 2009 - 7:56 am

    I had originally rolled a dk when wotlk first came out, instead of powering my shammy up to 80, because surprise, my guild needed tanks. However, before I even START any class, I go to wowwiki and various blogs and read about the class, and their basic mechanics, and how to fulfill the role I want to do.

    In addition, because I had never had a tank (besides a low level warrior, in his 20’s or something), I read a lot of general and DK specific tanking guides.

    When I first started tanking for wotlk instances, nobody wanted to take me ’cause dk’s suck at tanking’ or for the better reason of I hadn’t tanked/done an instance so I didn’t know its mechanics. Everytime I would convince a group to let me stay and tank, I ‘impressed’ them, meaning they realized DK’s weren’t terribad tanks, just the ones they had all had.

    And at first, I was actually using cc. Some people might call me a noob or w/e, but since I hadn’t had much experience I preferred asking for saps and traps so I didn’t accidentally wipe a group. As I got better, I didn’t need cc, but for a while I still asked for it, just so I got practice pulling and generating threat without breaking cc or letting the mobs jump the CCer. I like to think that I was smart by recognizing limitations in my tanking experience.

    I’m more experienced and better geared now, so I don’t bother w/ CC, but I start every pull w/ DnD (duh, highest threat move, why wouldn’t you?). Some people tell me I don’t need the reduced cooldown on DnD, but I find it very helpful if I have it on call for adds spawning in boss fights (plus howling blast) and also I overgear most heroics so its up for chain pulling the whole instance.

    Also, unless I specifically ask another DK to death grip someone to bring them to me(very rare, only when there’s multiple casters), if they death grip I don’t taunt off them, I just tell the healer to let them die. Sadly, some DK still don’t know that death grip is a taunt.

    PS Sorry for this huge ass comment.

  9. #9 by Zalgosh on July 30, 2009 - 8:06 am

    Just remembered this right after posting my last comment. The last DK tank I attempted to heal in a pug was ‘super-awesome’. I’m pretty sure he wakes up every morning and eats a big stack of failcakes covered in sadness syrup.

    Not only did this DK think that defense cap was 522 (wtf?), but he only had 511 defense. Also, he death gripped melee onto his DnD to start pulls, while casters were all like: “hey, look at the shammy, get him.” Out of 6 pulls in H OK, he got crit 8 times, died 3 times, and i died 4 times. That’s when I asked about his defense and then had to /facepalm. Hell, it was hard enough to keep heals on him when i have to drop grounding totem and interrupt casters spells, let alone heals on myself, but then he gets crit?

    I left the group and i tried to run more heroics. When I said in lfg “healer, lf any heroic, want def capped tank” he started complaining to me. He said he couldn’t get past 522 defense, so I gave him some ideas of where to go to get gear and where to get rep with. He even had some of the gear I told him to get, but was using epics he had gotten from guild runs instead. When I told him that he needed to use blues for a while because of their higher defense, he told me “Epics are better”, what a scrub.

  10. #10 by Misneach on July 30, 2009 - 9:03 am

    @Zalgosh: If only more players, especially those with DKs, were like you. A little research goes a long, long way.

    And that second comment reads like you were dealing with an 8 year-old…”Epics are better”…surprised he wasn’t wearing some mail in there.

Leave a Reply

