“Let’s go to Ulduar!” they said…

What was normally our Naxx25 night turned into an Ulduar10 night due to lack of sign ups,  which was all fine and dandy until you considered that I was fucking tanking.

Also, why the hell does my alt do FL+1 before my main does?  Eh? Eh?  What the fuck?

We did FL, Razorscale, XT, Crazy Cat Lady, and…Thorim. 

I can’t tell if my heart-stopping drops in health were due to my gear (almost all Naxx25 but not quite), or because we had no standard “tank healers” in the raid (two trees and a shammy). 

As always, I may know the theory behind something but if I have not DONE it yet, I will usually fail.  Thus one wipe on CCL (lrn2pull Amber), and the first two Thorim wipes because fuck if I know how to tank the gauntlet.

We got Thorim the third try and I don’t know how.  See, my camera will sometimes get stuck at a funny angle.  Normally, I can click frantically a bit and it will fix itself, but when this happens while I’m tanking the first mini-boss on Thorim?  Er… 

Somehow we killed the first mini-boss, also killed the second (the hunter’s pet brought it to me), and then I was able to run in a wavering, drunken line to Thorim.   The whole “tank him with his back to the lighting” aspect was pretty lost on me as I was stuck staring at his ass, and turning him correctly that way was a trial and error process costing the warlock his life…again.  Then he keeled over dead and I flailed and whined and fixed my camera and decided that I never wanted to do that ever again.

Then the worlds ugliest tanking mace drops and someone hands it to me.  What?  No, no, let’s give me loot for THINGS THAT NEED REPLACING.  Like, my BELT.  Or my CHEST.  Oooooor my SHIELD.   Not my FUCKING weapon when I have LAST LAUGH hdjashdasdsjhasd.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Zalgosh on July 31, 2009 - 10:45 am

    Your comment: ‘Also, why the hell does my alt do FL+1 before my main does? Eh? Eh? What the fuck?’ made me chuckle.

    This is because in my guild the only people who have the ‘Safety Dance’ achievement are the ones who did our most recent Naxx10, which was an alt run. My guild has had Naxx on farm for months, and this was this first time we managed no deaths. Only 3 people were there on their mains, and 1 one of these was a recent 80 who hadn’t even done Hiegan before (had to riptide his huntard ass every cd to keep him up, but its cool).

    It was lots of fun too, I was able to solo heal most of it, /flex.

  2. #2 by Ambrosyne on July 31, 2009 - 11:19 am

    @Zalgosh – All I can think of is that when it’s alts/friends and “doesn’t matter” people are more willing to take risks. Which makes no god damned sense-I mean lets try hard stuff with the GEARED toons, okay?-but, it seems to be what happens.

  3. #3 by Dorgol on July 31, 2009 - 11:48 am

    Not quite the same, but my Paladin has Yogg+1 keeper on 10 man… and has yet to kill him on 25 man.

    At the same time, my Paladin has never killed the Antechamber bosses on 10-man, but has killed every boss – except Yogg (and obviously Algalon) – on 25-man.

  4. #4 by Prot on July 31, 2009 - 2:47 pm

    Oh my god, isn’t that an ugly tanking mace? I too have Last Laugh and when I saw that drop I was torn. It is the same if not less than LL but it would be another visible piece of Ulduar gear to help promote my guild’s progression in Uld.

    Grats though on your first tanking of Ulduar. It is pretty fun and heart racing at the same time eh? Remember though, Uld10 is meant for Naxx10 geared people. If you be rocking mostly Naxx25 then you are in pretty good shape.

    Grats again.

  5. #5 by Ambrosyne on July 31, 2009 - 4:34 pm

    @Prot – the idea of doing Uld 10 in full Naxx10 gear makes me tremble. To those who do it-kudos!

  6. #6 by Brent on August 1, 2009 - 5:30 pm

    “I can’t tell if my heart-stopping drops in health were due to my gear (almost all Naxx25 but not quite), or because we had no standard “tank healers” in the raid (two trees and a shammy).”

    I’m deeply offended that you don’t consider Druids to be a ‘tank healer’. Any Druid who can’t tank heal must have been rolled since Wrath came out, because prior to that our prime role was Tank Healing, and we’ve lost NONE of our single tank healing functionality.

  1. New Rules 8/4/09 at 2fps

Leave a Reply

