Post Patch Shakedown

Of course the first thing I do after patching up is log in and see what addons are vomiting lua errors.  I always cringe when x-perl is one of them-wow ace had an alpha that was 6 days old, but that just vomited fewer errors.  Cartogopher just flat out curled up and died, but everything else was either updated or working fine,  so I grabed a Zoja and some random DPS and off we went!

New instance time!  The first thing we discovered is that in the ground part of phase one, the rogue NPC will two shot priests.  Isn’t that handy to know?  I found that out after healing a silly ret pally, so I highly suggest you let your tank…I don’t know, actually grab everything and tank.  Everything else seems pretty easy, until you get to the Black Knight.  As a disc priest I found myself flailing a wee bit as two ret pallys tried to blow themselves up on ghouls.  It doesn’t seem like it’s overly friendly to melee heavy groups.  From the sounds from Steve’s group it’s not very kind on resto druids, either, so I’d suggest that everyone be a bit careful going into the Black Knight fight.  Ghouls go asplody, okay?

It’s a quick instance, but it would be even quicker if the announcer would shut the  fuck up.  I want a /slap option for him, but him getting killed by the black knight makes it almost worth it.  I am also heakoous

We did run into a few bugs-NPCs not dismounting when they ought to and running around shotting people, for one, but if they’re the last ones up you can run out and reset them.  When you come back they should all be properly dismounted.

For the record: killing those Converted Heros?  Blizzard, you DID realize that you put most of them in large packs, right?  And that pulling large parks of them results in DEATH for lonely little priestys, forcing them into hunting down the few solitary buggers?  Right?  Right?  ‘Cause fuck you, seriously. 

I think I remember them spawning in singles a bit south of the obvious farming location, but I couldn’t find exactly where last night because they were being camped to hell and back.  I’ll have to remember where that is and plunk my space goat ass there, because the wide open place is Bad. 

I totally forgot to buy my raptor pet, but I did at least get Jamethera her flying (YAY).  I also dinged DKAmbro 60 and bought her a non-dead pony.  Tonight’s a raid night (after which I’ll bitch about replen, penance, and PoH nerfs), but then it’s alting time again…well, assuming I’m not running heroics…er…fuck.  Too many things to do!

I also hope that X-Perl has been properly updated tonight.

,

  1. #1 by Zalgosh on August 5, 2009 - 9:47 am

    My guild split into 2 10man groups to try the new raid. It was pretty fun, even though we didn’t down him, trying to learn what he does without any studied strategies or dbm to help.

    Also, I’m assuming that the new wing in VoA is supposed to be empty until the new Arena season, but can’t wait to fight the new boss there. We’ve had a earth, nature, and are getting a fire boss this patch, so I’m wondering if we get a water based VoA boss in 3.3, and where he’d even go. (And after that, what about the Heart boss, and can we summon captain planet if we beat them all?)

  2. #2 by Zalgosh on August 5, 2009 - 9:50 am

    When i say “we didn’t down him” i mean the first boss. It was sad we didn’t down him, but we only tried a few times before going to Uld 25.

    Which reminds me, here’s a tip. Remember how easy XT is, just pull him over to one side between the piles and rape him? Yeah, not so fun when all four piles spawn adds when you’re not expecting it, and you’re right beside two of the piles.

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on August 5, 2009 - 10:19 am

    @Zalgosh – uh-oh, did they fix that, then?

  4. #4 by Zalgosh on August 5, 2009 - 10:29 am

    Yep, looks like it.

    Also, apparently the number of adds spawned is bugged and you get way too many (like crazy too many). I never really payed attention to the number of adds before, and just assumed since we had some new people we just weren’t keeping up with them. However I’ve seen people post on the forums and elsewhere, so I’m hoping it gets a hotfix and this wasn’t blizz’s idea of upping the difficulty.

  5. #5 by Tego on August 5, 2009 - 1:50 pm

    I love the packs of converted Heroes they squishy, and fun to take 3 or more at a time, I’ve also noticed that the lines of them don’t all come when you pull with a spell, just the ones you hit, though this was pre-patch

    then again I love to just walk over to all of them and take em on 8+ at a time

    Though this may be me…. prot spec paladin FTW =)

    Tego

  6. #6 by kyrilean on August 5, 2009 - 2:44 pm

    Can you imagine our Ulduar raid tonight with X-Perl bugging out? Screw you guys, I’m healing myself…

  7. #7 by theerivs on August 5, 2009 - 2:58 pm

    SO sour that they changed those quests, converted heros. I hate blizz!

  8. #8 by Jacob on August 5, 2009 - 3:05 pm

    those Converted Heros? Blizzard, you DID realize that you put most of them in large packs, right?

    My shaman has learned: pull them from range, from the edge of the pack. Surprisingly, they are not linked, and if you peel three with chain lightning, the others will ignore you while you deal with the ones you pulled away.

  9. #9 by Karzon on August 5, 2009 - 3:31 pm

    I followed a thread on the forums to fix X-Perl. Replace GetDifficultyColor with GetQuestDifficultyColor. That actually let me clean up a lot of addon errors last night.

    http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.html?topicId=19110020989&sid=1

  10. #10 by Light on August 5, 2009 - 3:48 pm

    I PUGed Ulduar 25 last night and it might have been a mistake. I read that FL is bugging with 2 towers up, we had to knock it down to 1.

    XT was also spawning about 100 adds during the heart phase. We manged to get rid of most of the bomb bots but because every time he hit the heart phase it spawned another 100 adds, we went right up against the enrage timer and died.

    I’d say… give it a week.

  11. #11 by Ambrosyne on August 5, 2009 - 3:58 pm

    I don’t know what I did wrong, then-I holy fire one of the Heros and they were all like OH HI PRIEST LET ME EAT YOU. And then a horde rogue came by and said OH HI PRIEST LET ME EAT YOU and I said OH FUCK THIS and left and all was glorious in the world.

  12. #12 by Mikata on August 5, 2009 - 4:33 pm

    So, tonight in Ulduar…. Can I make a friendly suggestion not to do XT? Because I’m in the same boat with Kyr… I’ll just sit back and heal myself and get ready to shadowmeld when everyone else goes ‘splody.

    :)

  13. #13 by Ron on August 5, 2009 - 5:52 pm

    Easy fix for the X-Pearl issue… Grid…

  14. #14 by Dorgol on August 6, 2009 - 11:36 am

    Funny thing about the converted heroes… I was already killing them. They are nicely bunched up for my Paladin (holy, prot, ret – doesn’t matter) and my Druid (Feral Cat).

    I stopped doing the Argent quests a few weeks back, though. Sooner or later I need to get back into it so I can get my Paladin-only mount (and I wouldn’t mind getting the other 6 or 7 mounts I don’t have).

  15. #15 by Ten'nen on August 6, 2009 - 2:54 pm

    Xperl makes me cry sometimes. Especially when I was healing on my paladin, and when I would target someone else who, on my party screen was losing health, it would keep the same health bar as the last person I clicked on. It also kept the same face. So I’d be trying to heal my Belf pally tank looking at some random Snake head we were trying to kill in Gundrak, or I’d be healing the orc rogue and have up the Tauren druids face. It was scary.

    Also, XT is bugged out the wazoo. The bug actually existed back a few weeks ago when it happened to me, but this patch just made it go BOOM and XT goes “I CAN HAZ FRIENDS NOW!” and then the raid dies. It’s hysterically painful.

  16. #16 by Ambrosyne on August 7, 2009 - 11:57 am

    Ron, I already use grid-…just not for 5 mans. Shush!

  17. #17 by candy on August 7, 2009 - 12:04 pm

    I keep hearing a lot of dramas about how hard the new heroic 5-man is, but my attempts thus far have all involved alt healers or healers with Heroic/naxx gear at best, and we still rolled the place. I will admit that I keep up VE more than I would normally, and have tossed out shields on said healers and the tanks when I got the “oh shit” feelings but still. And dear God that announcer needs to TALK FASTER!! He talks as slow as Kael in the Eye! RAWR!

  18. #18 by Burlyn on August 7, 2009 - 1:38 pm

    Actually the converted heroes are pretty easy to kill on my disc priest. I bubble, power infuse, then spam holy nova while they attack me, which kills them and heals me at the same time. Wewt. :D

Leave a Reply

