Mm, mini-vacations

I didn’t post yesterday because I was running around Six Flags instead of being at work.  Wee!  I’m still not at work, but I’ve a nice collection of random commentary for you now.  Aren’t you excited?

Post-patch fun continues!  In Ulduar on Wednesday night, no less than 3 people who ran back to get the harpoons were killed by 2-3 fireballs in quick succession.  I have no idea what the hell that was about.  XT, naturally, obliterated us and that was that until Monday.

On our first foray into the new 5 man on normal, Zoja forgot that he was in arms spec.  Arms tanking doesn’t go very well, by the way.  The mage (who is misidentified in the intro as a paladin) also loves ignoring the tank and pelting me with fireballs.   I’m starting to sense this theme, with fireballs…

Did you know that you DPS better as shadow in shadowform?!?!?!  I apparently totally forgot this for part of a heroic.  Fuck yeah, I’m awesome.

Apparently some of the competitors don’t appreciate you getting loot for besting them, and after the others have left the ring will remount and trample you all until you manage to flee.

I’ll try to get a Flowchart up today, but try is the key word there.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Mikata on August 7, 2009 - 1:09 pm

    No…. flowchart now!

    ♥ Amber

  2. #2 by Firespirit on August 7, 2009 - 2:30 pm

    LOL! Looks like you had as much fun as I had the first time in the new instance.

    Lets see – we start with a healer that was a complete noob with jousting – we should have totally kicked him when we saw the signs – couldnt mount because he didnt have a lance – ran out of instance because he had to go get a lance – came back in – couldnt mount because he didnt have lance equipped – mounted – didnt put the shields up – yelled at him to put shields up – he puts one click up – yelled at him to put more up – he lets the one fall – engage boss – healer dies and logs.

    Then I get horrible lat (im talking, I watch everything happen, cant do anything) and we wipe.. I come back in, with a fresh guildie healer – and I lag out so hard, I disconnect. I try to get back in, it loads, then pops me back to the character screen 3 times until I finally get back in and have lat so high Im staggering around pulling about 600 dps. we managed to get it down only because it was on normal, and not because of skill. On top of it all, they didnt drop any champion’s seals. That blows.

    Then I hearthed, went to IF and proceeded to make about 600g from jewlcrafting in a half hour :P

  3. #3 by Mikata on August 7, 2009 - 2:48 pm

    Let see… in mine, the healer did fine until we got to the final boss, and the healer decided to stack on top of the tank during the 2nd phase, and all the ghouls went ‘aplody and ate the healer’s face, and she couldn’t run back in time and everyone died.

    And as much as I would love to go on ranting and raving about how horrible the healer was, there’s not much I can say…

    I was the healer. -_-;;

  4. #4 by Jacob on August 7, 2009 - 5:35 pm

    In my run healing, I stood on top of the tank to help him keep aggro off me. We had to make sure to moved out of Desecrated ground, and our DPS stood off to the side and would focus fire any ghoul that headed over to the DPS.

    All the explody was over by DPS, and it was healable.

  5. #5 by Zalgosh on August 8, 2009 - 2:51 pm

    In my runs of the new instance, it seems like the tanks are having issues picking things up, either all the mobs of the first boss after the dismount, or all the adds on the black knight. After the first night of dying to the black knights asshole version of army of the dead, I learned that the only way to heal that phase is to pretend i’m pvp healing. I’m running from the adds, throwing riptide up, dropping earthbind and stoneclaw totem to distract the adds when i need an actual heal.

    My group last night was fails, the dk needed and won on a tank ring, even though he was dps, and even though the tank wanted it. His reasoning was that it was ‘clearly a DK tank ring’. Also, the enhance shaman was using the lance to dps the whole time, saying he didn’t have anything else since his account got hacked, and didn’t have any gold for a better weapon. Hell, he could kill a few mobs in icecrown and have enough gold to buy a green lower level weapon. Even a level 20 weapon is better, since the lance has only like 3dps and you can’t use shaman enchants on it.

    @firespirit – there are lances inside the instance in case someone doesn’t already have one.

  6. #6 by Light on August 10, 2009 - 8:17 am

    The best part is when the orc bugs out and gets on his mount after you’ve already defeated him.

    Oh, and bad PUG tanks that like to stand in the rogue’s poison. Bad, bad tank.

  7. #7 by Zalgosh on August 10, 2009 - 9:04 am

    We had some guildies on last night, and even though it wasn’t a scheduled raid night, we decided to do Ulduar 10. They figured we’d give XT a shot (I cringed), but it appears that they fixed the add problem at some point in time during the week, so that’s nice.

    Also, we had 2 weaker dps in the group, but we still had to back off during the first heart phase to prevent hardmode.

Leave a Reply

