Healers Keep a Naughty List

Most healers have a “list”.  Actually, most healers have two lists.  One list consists of people we really like-the tank that is always watching our backs, the warlock who uses his demon as a Healer Guard, the hunter dropping ice traps at our feet, or even just the DPS who don’t stand in fires.  We like these people.  If they do something silly, they have an automatic Healer Aggro Dump.  Think of it as healer rep, if you will.  When you’re honored with a faction and accidentally take out a guard or two, it doesn’t ding you too badly.

The other list?  Well, that consists of the people we don’t like.  They’re the people who never run back after a wipe, the people who never sit down and eat as if your mana bar is their damn mage food, and the rogues who bitch every time they die in a whirlwind.  You merely walk into town and next thing you know, it’s like all the Light’s Hope Chapel guards have descended on your ass. 

In our guild, the worst ones are the people that end up with their names in “Healer Channels”.

LetHuntDie has been the official healing channel of BoO since someone had the mistake of letting me pick the name.  Hunt isn’t a bad kid-he’s a kick ass hunter and isn’t not that obnoxious towards the healers most of the time, but giving him hell as been a guild tradition since before I joined.  He canget really fucking annoying but I think that’s just a part of being 16.  Aspect of the Emo Kid QQ. 

NoHealsForNightghost started off as a joke-I’ll often declare a “new healing channel” when someone is especially annoying, unless of course it’s Hunt.  Then it’s just “CHANNEL NAME IS GO.”  But last night our guildie hit a new point of annoyance.

Hodir was a rough fight for us.  It was a scraping the bottom of the mana barrel fight, pots used, Hymns blown, fiend on cooldown, oh fuck oh fuck OH THANK GOD HE DIED fight.  The days of me being able to tie our resto shaman on meters as disc are gone-thank you, PoH and Penance nerfs.  The boss submitted and everyone stopped where they were-except me, because I perpetually strafe and jump like a space goat on crack.  Stopped, and…the debuff kept ticking.

Ticking.

Ticking and stacking on people whose health was already low.  Mikata said something on Vent about moving if you still had the debuff but it was a wee bit late.

Nightghost died.  Died, and then proceeded to make some angry remark on vent about how the healers couldn’t fucking heal him.  Consider it the equivalent of clicking “At War”. 

Cue the healers smacking their PTT keys, only stopped by the raid leader-Mr. Cranky Tank Josh-telling us to chill.  If by “chill” I mean “STFU OR I’LL REPLACE YOU WTF GUYS.”

This did not, of course, stop me  entirely…

CAN’T HEAL WHEN OOM

…nothing can stop my /rw abuse!  NOTHING!

Ahem.  But seriously-it’s a stacking debuff that you’re in complete control of, and healers can’t magically pull mana out of their asses at the end of a boss fight.  Fail on…whatever was to blame for it continuing to tick despite our victory, but whatever.  Even if it had been some other uncontrollable factor, if your healer is OOM and hasn’t been spamming GHeal on themselves all fight or something else stupid, what the fuck do you want them to do when they have no god damned mana?

Angrily blaming other people in a raid for shit that’s not their fault is bad, mmkay?

Angry outbursts on vent in generally aren’t all that great, actually.

Go figure.

This Lesson in Raiding brought to you by People Who Should Know Better.

Bill is so getting the shit beat out of him next time I see him.  By which I mean I’ll angrily hit him in the shoulder a few times and he’ll laugh at me, but it makes me feel better.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Shayzani on September 10, 2009 - 11:31 am

    Wow. I likely would have gone ballistic on him. That kind of crap is intolerable.

  2. #2 by Sebastian on September 10, 2009 - 11:35 am

    We don’t do this any more — we’re far too hardcore now, sadly — but back in the OLDEN DAYS, back in Molten Core and Blackwing Lair, some of the class leaders would BAN their class from healing specific players.

    There was a druid. A druid that would ONLY play feral. This was back before feral was viable — this was back when healing was THE only raiding spec for druids.

    And one day the shaman class leader snapped. ‘If anyone heals the feral, I’ll kick you from the guild.’

    Of course, they didn’t tell ME this. And I was the raid leader! So I kept wondering why this feral druid was dying… over and over…

    Only a few months later did I actually find out the reason.

    Mean healers!

    (I’m a holy priest, incidentally :)

  3. #3 by Jov on September 10, 2009 - 11:52 am

    I’ve commented several times that GridStatusIgnored is mandatory for our healers.

    I think some of the dps wonders if I’m serious… At least they don’t whine too much anymore.

  4. #4 by Mikata on September 10, 2009 - 11:56 am

    I’m sorry… but Bill it’s just like WTFWHY???

    It’s a debuff… that stacks… when you stand still.

    Hm… how do we go about this…

    You see you have 3 stacks… 4… aw man, how can we solve this problem? As long as I stand still, the stacks keep going up

    What to do… what to do……..

    FUCKING MOVE MUCH MAYBE???

    -.-;;

    If only if only I could control who my Wild Growth hit… he’d never get heals.

  5. #5 by kyrilean on September 10, 2009 - 11:56 am

    I believe his exact words were something close to:

    “I wouldn’t die if the healers pulled their heads out of their asses.”

    Maybe not exactly that, but I remember having to pull something out of my ass…

    I’m not used to the debuff continuing to tick, so when it says I’m out of combat I stop healing. BTW I was at 48% mana. :P

  6. #6 by Vorian87 on September 10, 2009 - 12:44 pm

    we just banned the huntard for a week from raiding. he couldn’t stay alive on hodir on any of the attempts one week

  7. #7 by Ambrosyne on September 10, 2009 - 12:45 pm

    @Kyr – STFU, holy pally! Go cook some bacon!

    …you and your mana bars…

    Mikata and I were OOM, anyway. :P

  8. #8 by Kotakh on September 10, 2009 - 12:49 pm

    Wow…was i in the same raid as you guys? Lol i totally missed that.

    I did see Amber comment about changing the healer channel name to Nohealfornightghost but i had no idea why.

    As for running out of mana…what the hell were you doing Amber!! JK, i dont know why that fight was so mana heavy for you guys but it sure was. I even did think of using my innervate on you this time and you still ran oom.

    *note to self: be more aware of whatever is happening on vent and in chat while dpsing*

  9. #9 by Ambrosyne on September 10, 2009 - 1:04 pm

    @Kotakh – I’m a disc priest trying to AoE heal. My mana ceases to exist in that fight very quickly if I’m not exploting the mana return from shields during Frozen Blows. It used to be doable, but that was pre-nerfbat. Now it stings a wee bit…23k mana worth of sting…

  10. #10 by Mikata on September 10, 2009 - 1:15 pm

    @Amber

    NO REPLENISHMENT IS TEH FAIL!!!

    >_>

    And uh… I went OOM for trying to outheal Ky…

    <_<

    But at the end of the fight I ended it with like 20% of my mana because my bell proc'd… I just didn't want to heal Murri.

  11. #11 by Albyll on September 10, 2009 - 1:45 pm

    Those healer lists sound like “Friends of Carlotta” and “Enemies of Carlotta”. :D

  12. #12 by Ron on September 10, 2009 - 2:07 pm

    A) it’s always the healers fault and B) quit your bitching and go Holy :)

  13. #13 by theerivs on September 10, 2009 - 2:38 pm

    I personally don’t want heals….Let me die. I like laying around doing nothing. LOL!

  14. #14 by Mikata on September 10, 2009 - 2:52 pm

    @Rivs

    Scrub…

  15. #15 by Rhidach on September 10, 2009 - 3:02 pm

    I make a point of grinding healer rep whenever possible. We had a really hard raid last night that I should be dead many times during, so after the kill I popped in the healer channel really quickly and declared my love and infinite admiration for the healer corps and then popped back out.

    And the other tanks wonder why I’m always last to die!

  16. #16 by theerivs on September 10, 2009 - 3:37 pm

    @Mikata

    Treetard

  17. #17 by Ambrosyne on September 10, 2009 - 4:15 pm

    @Ron 1) Fuck you! :P

  18. #18 by Vorian87 on September 10, 2009 - 4:34 pm

    @ rhidach

    haha nice :D

  19. #19 by Mikata on September 10, 2009 - 4:40 pm

    Amber!!! CAN I KICK RIV PLEEEEEASE???

  20. #20 by Sebastian on September 10, 2009 - 4:43 pm

    Oh, I see how it is… I don’t get a reply… hmpf.

  21. #21 by Ambrosyne on September 10, 2009 - 4:47 pm

    @Sebastian – :P

    We had one of those rebel feral druids too. And a ret-holy pally…with Sulfuras. And a SHADOW PRIEST. What the hell?

    Usually I don’t have to declare “no heals on X”-a general consensus will be reached amongst us, anyway. :D I don’t remember that happening in our vanilla WoW guild, but the paladins were usualyl in thier own channel independent of the other healers. Goodness knows what THEY were up to.

  22. #22 by Vorian87 on September 10, 2009 - 4:48 pm

    probably playing poker

  23. #23 by Kestrel on September 10, 2009 - 5:05 pm

    @Amber: The pallies? They were deciding who would “forget” to put up a blessing this time around.

  24. #24 by Ablimoth on September 10, 2009 - 7:03 pm

    @Rhidach

    Totally with you man, I sit in the healer channel permanently… Incidentally, all the other tanks in my guild defer to me to tank the hard bosses because they think I’m ‘easier to heal’… as a Warrior… like I’m magic or something…

    <3 healers

  25. #25 by Cassandri on September 10, 2009 - 9:54 pm

    Oh god Amber this is absolutely true.

    “hey have an automatic Healer Aggro Dump”

    I had the bad luck to take 3 laser machine gun hits in Mimiron in a row and when the 3rd one hit, my poor healer (we have 1 healer assigned per party) just couldn’t keep me alive. I was down to like 5% health thinking “this is all over” and got about 20k overheals from 2 other healers.

    I guess all that rezzing paid off :P

  26. #26 by HoHo on September 11, 2009 - 4:49 am

    I never heal people except tanks with bleed effects when boss dies. It’s always fun to see them die to hodir debuff or dust cloud in voa :)

  27. #27 by Xarnen on September 11, 2009 - 12:03 pm

    Tanks have the same lists. Tends to be bloated with warriors, hunters, dks and rogues. I have a new VH rule: When the dk pops his army to e-peen his dps in there, I just drop to cat form and cower and move to face opposite the healer. Watch the DK die and taunt the Cyan thereafter. Rogues we just assume are going to die as well. :-)

Leave a Reply

