Project Review Day

I have embarked on several WoW related “projects”.  I like multi-tasking, apparently.

Project One:
Fix Lyrandre’s disc gemming!

I robbed the bank and a guildie of four epic SP gems to replace the one in her helm (wtf, it’s my 8.5 helm why did it not have the epic version?) and to put THREE in her belt.  THREE GEM SLOTS IN MY BELT.  Dear crafted belt, I love you, so so much.  Every socket in her healing gear is now effectively red…

Project Two:
Fail less as a shadow priest!

We’ve recently imported a very awesome shadow priest from horde side, who is another co-worker of Mach and Zoja’s.  He totally puts me to shame, but that’s alright-I’ll abuse him as my mentor.  I’ve started tweaking my shadow gear and will sit in front of a target dummy and try a different rotation at some point…but it’s one thing to look at a list of BiS gear and another to stare at what I HAVE and try to optimize it.  Bleh!  Still, with our current bounty of excellent healers and a need to 2 heal some fights, it would behoove me to not suck as shadow.  

Project Three:
Prepare the huntard!

Jamethera the hunter, my raiding main for a large chunk of BC, is in Serious Leveling Mode.  Josh got a bug in his pants in regards to leveling his paladin, so we have every intention of hitting 80 this week.  Originally I had her in a leveling spec, but Josh flopped from ret to holy so I went ahead and threw myself into the current BM raiding spec. 

The only thing I did not account for was the lack of the hit talent in said spec.  Er…maybe that’s fine for those of you in epics, but for me starting out, not so much.  Oops!  She’s currently in a mix of blues and old epics, but with luck all of those epics will be gone by 80.  I’d hate to wear Kara gear into Naxx-I’d hate to be one of those lazy people going “lol carry me through Naxx plox and hand me epics.”

Actually, no, let me rephrase that.  I’d LOVE to be one of those people, but a sense of personal pride prevents me.  So heroics at 80 it will be until I can at least PRETEND I’m Naxx ready, and THEN I’ll be carried through Naxx and handed epics. 

I have every intent on raiding as BM because by the gods, I was BM since before the first hunter talent reset and I’ll be BM when I finally quit.  Some day, I’ll also show our other hunters how to top DPS meters without pulling aggro. 

/stares at them

Project Four:
Prepare the Warrior!

Lyestra is…still at 78.  She’s been 78 for weeks now, because I log on, get lonely, and then log off.  In between mad rushes of hunter leveling, I’ll get her to 80 on her new server (O HAI EARTHEN RING), improve her tanking gear, and…well, casually tank things.  If my friends on that server are welling to tolerate a scrub, I might even pick up a DPS spec.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kotakh on September 14, 2009 - 10:17 am

    Did i hear BM raiding spec?!?

    …didnt know that was possible ;)

  2. #2 by Mikata on September 14, 2009 - 10:24 am

    Oh ho ho ho…

    I’m so glad Reì hit 80 long before your hunter… less competition. (God… now I sound like Hunt… shoot me now. >_<)

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on September 14, 2009 - 10:39 am

    @Kotakh – /rude

    @Mikata – I’ll catch up and THEN take your gear from you. :D

  4. #4 by Mikata on September 14, 2009 - 10:46 am

    @Amber

    HA!!

    >_>

    Doubt it….

    =p

  5. #5 by Ambrosyne on September 14, 2009 - 10:52 am

    @Mikata – don’t challenge me, missy.

  6. #6 by Kotakh on September 14, 2009 - 11:13 am

    @Amber

    My comment was actually semi-serious. And while i most certainly didnt want to be rude and i really dont want to tell anyone how to spec their toon, i really tought BM spec raiding was dead right now.

    And from everything i’ve read on elitistjerk, it seems to be indeed a dead raiding spec.

    Of course, if you want to raid as BM you’re more than welcome to it :) And i wish you all of Mikata’s epic gear too :)

    I will even heal your Hunter ass…as long as you respect the major points of your last flowchart of course.

  7. #7 by Mikata on September 14, 2009 - 11:22 am

    NUUUUUUUUUUU

    YOU ALREADY TAKE GEAR FROM MY DRUID… WHY MY SHAMAN TOO!!!!

    /sob

  8. #8 by Ambrosyne on September 14, 2009 - 1:09 pm

    @Kotakh – There are a few who still raid as BM. There is, in fact, an entire thread on EJ about raiding as BM.

    It’s not dead-it’s uncommon. Top DPS? No, of course not, but it’s my favorite spec and always has been. Not to say that I won’t dual spec something else and see if I can finally not suck at it, but…doesn’t mean I’m not going to see how far I can push BM!

    Josh made MM spec work when BM was king, I can make BM work in the age of MM and Survival, damn it…

    To crib someone’s numbers on BM vs MM, here’s what it looks like right now:
    PTR BM – 7500.89 w/ Devilsaur
    PTR MM – 7902.37 w/ Wolf

    Live BM – 6807.75 w/ Devilsaur
    Live MM – 7835.60 w/ Wolf

    …so it seems “not terrible” on the current PTR.

    I’m crossing my fingers.

  9. #9 by Ambrosyne on September 14, 2009 - 1:10 pm

    @Mikata – What gear do I take from you? I LOSE EVERYTHING TO PHASEROLL.

  10. #10 by Pyoska on September 14, 2009 - 1:17 pm

    ‘THREE GEM SLOTS IN MY BELT. Dear crafted belt, I love you, so so much.’

    OMG This. <3 my Belt of Arctic Life.

  11. #11 by Ambrosyne on September 14, 2009 - 1:18 pm

    @Pyo – Geeeeemmmmmmmssssssssssssssss

  12. #12 by Mikata on September 14, 2009 - 1:55 pm

    @Amber
    /pokes your twitter feed

    I HOPPED ON THE TWITTER TAIN, lawlawlawl!!

  13. #13 by theerivs on September 14, 2009 - 3:01 pm

    Sorta like me, I got a bunch of projects too. Working on my mage, my girly pally, and I got a baby Warlock, and Warrior too.

  14. #14 by shadowtycho on September 14, 2009 - 11:48 pm

    I’m in your vent, listening to your raids.

  15. #15 by Mikata on September 15, 2009 - 7:59 am

    ZOMG

    ……..

    I was wondering who Tycho was, haha.

  16. #16 by Kotakh on September 15, 2009 - 8:31 am

Leave a Reply

