Why Disc Is Totally Awesome And Holy Is Not

(Disclaimer: I love holy priests, just not being one.)

  • We have LASER HEALS.
  • We can sprinkle the raid with bubbles.
  • We can put bubbles on TOP of bubbles.
  • Did I mention that we have laser heals?
  • We can make people REALLY SHINY with Pain Suppression!
  • We can make other people REALLY SPARKLY with Power Infusion!
  • We have huge….pools of mana.
  • PEW PEW LASER.
  • Oh, and bubbles.  Mm, bubbles.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Ron on September 15, 2009 - 5:15 pm

    /wave Disc priest raid healer

    /hug Holy priest raid healer

  2. #2 by Ron on September 15, 2009 - 5:16 pm

    Damn wordpress formatting!!!

    Anyways, the emote at the Disc healer was directed at them and their dead raid.

    The emote at the Holy healer was directed at the happy and living raid

  3. #3 by shadowtycho on September 15, 2009 - 5:26 pm

    in before desu

  4. #4 by Oasic on September 15, 2009 - 5:30 pm

    Omg, like, you totally convinced me to re-spec. :-)

  5. #5 by Elleiras on September 15, 2009 - 5:34 pm

    Totally random aside:

    The other night, our resident Grouchadin was complaining to me in whispers about our healing lead, a disc priest.

    “Man, [Disc Priest] really needs to step it up,” the Grouchadin groused. “He should be putting out at least 3K HPS on Beasts.” Um, dearheart. -I’m- putting out 3K HPS on Beasts. -You’re- putting out 3K HPS on Beasts. “Exactly. So why can’t he?” Because I’m a resto shaman who specializes in multi-target throughput, and you’re a holy paladin who specializes in single-target throughput, and he’s a disc priest who specializes in single target mitigation. “But look at [Other Priest]! He’s topping the meters!” Yes. Because he’s HOLY.

    There is no point to this story, other than healing meters are dumb, and my Grouchadin would be super-cute if he were a green muppet.

  6. #6 by Perrin on September 15, 2009 - 5:58 pm

    Actually there’s a recount mod that fixes that, and I know World of Logs treats much of the “Absorbed” properly (as best it can). WTB more information about what absorbed and how in the combat log so that Disc Priests get their due.

  7. #7 by Ron on September 15, 2009 - 6:12 pm

    The recount mod and WoL are inaccurate estimations and are based on a static formula. Recount is very useful for all healing classes outside of the mitigation based Disc priest.

    I think the point most of us folks are trying to make to the stubborn bubble machine is that if you’re raid healing as a priest you should be Holy, no questions. If you’re raid healing as Disc you’re doing more harm than good.

  8. #8 by Dreaming on September 15, 2009 - 6:28 pm

    As so often a very funny post from you, thank you. I always enjoy to read your blog.

    As for Disc healing, if you want to get a better idea of their contribution in a raid, use World of Logs (http://atouchofarcane.blogspot.com/) instead of Recount or WoW Web Stats.

    It really changed my idea about the usefulness of my disc priest in a raid. Just to say when things get frantic in an encounter, the “healing” done by my priest shields jumps to nearly 50% of my whole healing.

  9. #9 by Kestrel on September 15, 2009 - 6:58 pm

    Hmm…might need to come up with a Holy Top 10. Wings come to mind.
    .
    .
    .
    .
    NOT THOSE WINGS, DAMMIT!

  10. #10 by Kiramaren on September 15, 2009 - 8:35 pm

    Mmmmm BBQ :)

    Long live the Bubbles!

  11. #11 by HoHo on September 16, 2009 - 4:03 am

    “The recount mod and WoL are inaccurate estimations and are based on a static formula. Recount is very useful for all healing classes outside of the mitigation based Disc priest.”

    Those estimations are roughly 90-95% correct at most times. Only places where they can fail is when tankadin gets “killed” or on TotC twins. In pretty much everywhere else they are quite accurate.

    As for disc having a raid die, on our second XT hardmode kill we wiped quite miserably on first try, on second I went disc and we killed him without anyone dying. Bubbles are OP, coh/poh are just gimmics that don’t do anything but just patch up broken stuff whereas bubbles make the patching unnecessary in the first place.

  12. #12 by Myssidia on September 16, 2009 - 7:53 am

    Holy is good but not fun (imo)

    Disc is good and fun (imo)

    Therefore Disc is the superior spec, I am merely Holy because all the ridiculous priests on my server that I raided with decided that calling me bad for being Disc was a good idea. Also raid leaders don’t know that disc should be tank healers.

    “Myss, ur a priset? Raid healz go”

    “Uhm… I’m Disc? I would prefer to tank heal… I mean… the only other two healers are shaman and I just though…”

    “NO! PRISET GUD RAID HEALZ!”

    /whimper

  13. #13 by Ambrosyne on September 16, 2009 - 9:30 am

    @Ron – Are you mocking my raid disc heals? ARE YOU? I DID JUST FINE, THANKS. And then they nerfed PoH, and I was all like, FUCK. BUT WE CAN STILL KILL HODIR, K. Nightghost just dies, that’s all, and it’s not like THAT’S new.

    WHEN DID YOU BECOME A TRAITOR TO DISCDOM?

    @Myssidia – Faction swap and transfer, dearie…factionswap and transfer. …although you’d be our third disc priest. And maybe we don’t need three disc priests. Speaking of-

    @Oasic – NO! Ur gud holy preest. We neeeeeed yoooouuuu.

  14. #14 by Hoho on September 16, 2009 - 12:43 pm

    @Myssida, disc is one of the best raid healers in game. We rock on fights with lots of aoe damage going around, especially if it comes in big bursts like on flame watcher, XT or pretty much anything else remotely hard.

  15. #15 by Myssidia on September 16, 2009 - 2:23 pm

    /quivers with shame… I respecced a few months ago to prove to those naysayers that I’m better than them… And on the meters I always heal higher and overheal less… I would love a reason to be disc again, but if you already have two… I don’t suppose I’d be able to. >_> I’m looking very hard at that factionswap and transfer bit though… I’m still waiting just a few days to hear back from the guild all my friends went to, but if that doesn’t pan out, and I’m beginning to think it won’t, I’m trying to decide between nelf and spacegoat. Nelfs have awesome mounts, but spacegoats look prettier…

  16. #16 by Ron on September 16, 2009 - 3:32 pm

    I’m not a traitor to Disc, you know that… but the point you’ve been trying argue is apples to oranges.

    Point is, if you want to improve your raid healing and your guild’s overall success in raids, you would learn and spec for Holy on those occasions in which you are raid healing. Disc simply cannot compete in terms of raid heals… end of discussion.

    Example: Phase 1 – I.C. (25 Normal Mode)

    With myself and one other person assigned to raid heals, I’m around 6k – 6.5k hps during this phase. No mana issues. I tail off at the end because there is a boss down and we now have additional raid healers. The highest I’ve ever seen a Disc priest hit in that fight as raid heals is 2.5k hps. That means 3.5k – 4k hps that needs to be made up in mitigation which is not possible, sorry. Sure you can make up for it with additional raid healers… but then you’re essentially being carried and that’s no fun.

    If you’re the tank healer then Disc is great and recommended over a Holy spec, hands down. But if you’re healing a raid as Disc you’re just being stubborn and costing the raid in terms of DPS (because you’re probably bringing an extra healer) and healing (because as Disc you’re not meant to be a dominant raid healer).

  17. #17 by youyankityoutankit on September 17, 2009 - 8:34 pm

    I just hit 80 with my disc priest today [leveled as disc since 30]. I successfully healed H-UP, reg ToC [and H-ToC with help from one of the guild healers who was dps on the run] right away, and man it was sweet! My main is a tank and since disc focuses on mitigation, the mindset seems to suit me quite well! And you got to love the laser heals!

  18. #18 by world of tanks laser mod download on September 7, 2014 - 8:39 am

    What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious knowledge about unpredicted feelings.

Leave a Reply

