80 #3: Huntar!

My hunter was, once upon a time, my most beloved character.  She was even my raiding main for most of BC, only being shelved when the hunter glut made it almost impossible to find a home post guild-asplode. 

I took a lot of pride in learning how to play, thanks to my patient mentor, Olgas.  And now I have to…relearn how to play.  Sans mentor, at least for the BM spec.  Meep!

Mere minutes after dinging, I was invited to the in-progress guild run of Naxx25.  I had remembered to train my 80 skills (Josh didn’t-ha!), but was for the most part unenchanted, ungemmed, scrub hunter with a pet who was…still level 78?  Fuck.  BoA gear to transfer XP bonus to pets, too, imo.

Of course, now she is a scrub hunter with a few epics, so this evening will be dedicated to gemming, enchanting, gear-buying and…running ToC into the ground.  Oh, and leveling my pet.  Silly devilsaur.  THEN I’ll have to turn around and level my wolf because I hate the Northrend wolf models.

I also managed to create loot drama by…trying to be nice.  Oops?  My recommendation is this: don’t do “limitless loot” runs when you have several alts looking for gear plus pugs in a raid.  Someone is going to have hot dice, and then everyone else will, if not be butthurt, at least be making sad faces as they watch a lot of gear go to a rogue who is barely beating said scrub hunter in DPS.  Seriously, I’m 3% from hit cap with a low level pet in a sub par DPS spec and I’M ON YOUR HEELS DPS-WISE WTF GO REROLL.

*coughs*

We’ll ingore the part where I ran out of ammo halfway through the last boss and went melee on Loatheb.

Yeah.  So.  Error in loot rules on our part (Andy, honey, WHY DID YOU NOT USE OUR NORMAL RULES) that will…not be repeated. 

Now I need to go…play with spreadsheets. 

/cower

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Arrens on September 18, 2009 - 1:14 pm

    I think you forgot a “d” at the end of your post title there, hon. Just figured I’d point that out.

  2. #2 by kyrilean on September 18, 2009 - 1:52 pm

    To be fair, these are the loot rules that prevailed last Naxx run with Mach.

    Gratz on 80, btw!

  3. #3 by Ambrosyne on September 18, 2009 - 2:00 pm

    @Kyrilean – True, but they weren’t standard at the start of our Naxx runs, and there’s a reason for that. :P I don’t like them. Sure it’s nice when Steve is along hoovering gear, but now there’s several guildies competing for similar gear on top of the pugs, so lets do what we can to quiet the QQ, eh?

    And this from one of the ones who had loaded dice last night.

  4. #4 by theerivs on September 18, 2009 - 2:08 pm

    I blame the mages. They suck…. BTW anyone need a port to Exodar. LOL!

  5. #5 by Ron on September 18, 2009 - 2:14 pm

    Grats on #3 Amber :). If only your hunter received a bubble when you FD’d she’d fit in quite nicely with your bubble theme.

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on September 18, 2009 - 2:15 pm

    @Ron – I know, she totally breaks it, and so will my warrior. Ah, well.

  7. #7 by Ron on September 18, 2009 - 2:44 pm

    Suggestion for new site name then… “I like bubbles, pets, and plate”

  8. #8 by dorgol on September 18, 2009 - 3:39 pm

    I recently pulled my mage through to 80 as well, making it #4. I got all excited and bought dual-spec (PvE Fire / PvP Frost) and equipped a bunch of gear (crafted Robe, Gloves, Boots, Belt; BoE Legs from a heroic; already wearing Engineer Goggles).

    Then I looked around and though… WTF AM I DOING?!? My Warlock has dual spec and has never switched. My Warlock hasn’t entered Naxx (though I did do a Sarth kill). My Warlock is my old main and if I do caster DPS in a heroic it will be with HIM!!! So WHY did I just dump an equivilant of 3k gold into my MAGE?!?

    Yeah, I kinda wish I had taken a few minutes to think things through. :)

  9. #9 by Beruthiel on September 18, 2009 - 3:51 pm

    Amber – with regards to your wolf: I do not know if you know or not, but don’t just pull your level 70 (assuming?) wolf from the stable master. Go back to where you got that one and tame another (yes, even if it’s like level 15) because upon becoming tamed (or your friend, I don’t recall which), it will automatically become within 5 levels of you.

    So, as you are level 80 (grats!), you can go tame a level 15 wolf, and it will become a level 75 wolf.

    Hopefully that helps some =)

  10. #10 by Ambrosyne on September 18, 2009 - 4:38 pm

    @Beruthiel – They actually will level jump if I yank them out of the stable. I know this because I sat there pulling every single one of them out boredly.

    >.>

    :D

Leave a Reply

