How2Ony

  • Stay away from the whelp caves!
  • NO REALLY, STAY THE FUCK AWAY FROM THE WHELP CAVES
  • and the bosses tail…
  • …and her head…
  • …and deep breaths…
  • …and the big adds when they make the burny circles…
  • …and where the big adds SPAWN lest they come nom you when you are not a tank…
  • …and the lava spouting cracks during phase three…
  • Did I mention stay the fuck away from the whelp caves?!
  • GET OUT OF THE LAVA POOL BY THE ENTRACE ZEREN!  FFS!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by slytherati on September 30, 2009 - 10:28 am

    And don’t be an idiot and not realize OH THOSE ARE THE WHELPS until you get feared into them, like a certain disc priest might have done last night. HURR.

    Hey, now I know. XD

  2. #2 by Ben on September 30, 2009 - 10:34 am

    What about moar dots?

  3. #3 by Linedan on September 30, 2009 - 10:35 am

    Her cleave reaches WAY further back than any other dragon I’ve ever seen. On our kill of her last week, several of us non-tanking melee types were stacked up behind her front legs…three promptly got whacked by the cleave. It reaches to roughly the midpoint between her front and back legs, so shade toward her back leg, but not past it or you’ll get tailslapped into the whelps and that’s a FUCKING FIFTY DKP MINUS.

  4. #4 by Ambrosyne on September 30, 2009 - 10:43 am

    @Linedan – Yeah, I think we lost all our melee in phase 3 to that. Also, WTF is with hunter pets now getting tail swiped? We had flying cats and wolves everywhere.

    @slytherati – Our Fearless Leader got to make his fail angel by the entrance because he attracted the attention of one of the adds. He inspired one of these bullet points all by himself. ;)

  5. #5 by Light on September 30, 2009 - 10:46 am

    But PUGs like hiding in the whelp caves. It gets you away from warders, honest!

  6. #6 by shadowtycho on September 30, 2009 - 11:58 am

    yay ony,
    every one loves ony,
    she teaches us who cant stand in the right spot,
    and who never stands in the right spot
    and those whom standing in the wrong spot is their new fucking day job…

    happy 5th anniversary wow
    5 years strong and we’re still only kinda bored.

  7. #7 by kyrilean on September 30, 2009 - 12:01 pm

    Is that all?!

  8. #8 by rustbeard on September 30, 2009 - 12:11 pm

    Move away from the head Lee…

  9. #9 by Smashie on September 30, 2009 - 12:27 pm

    Its kinda funny to see everyone having the same problems with Ony in 3.2.2 that were problems in vanilla. Its almost like deja vu.

  10. #10 by Ambrosyne on September 30, 2009 - 12:58 pm

    @Kyrilean – Is that all WHAT?

    /shakefist

    The fight isn’t that hard. It’s a big Where To Stand game. I fail to understand the difficulty. But that may have a lot to do with having FARMED HER A BILLION TIMES AT 60.

    /cry

    I’m going to bring Ambrosine in there with her Ony cloak.

  11. #11 by adgamorix on September 30, 2009 - 3:04 pm

    Did a PUG with my guild as the core, and then some others for an Ony 25.

    Everyone know the fight? (nods all around).
    /pull
    /DK goes to whelp cave
    /DK goes to cleave zone
    /DK (non tank) Death-Grips warder….

    I love PUGS!

  12. #12 by KCnecrol on September 30, 2009 - 4:22 pm

    All I can say is that I recently did a pug 25 onyxia; and it was THE MOST PAINFUL display of human intelligence I have ever seen. Whelps to the left. Whelps to the right. Whelps down the middle. I think someone actually went over to the welp eggs to try to click on them :(

  13. #13 by Light on September 30, 2009 - 4:27 pm

    @KCnecrol

    But but mah achievement! Needs 50 whelps! What do you mean shamans can’t tank? You have a shield! You can heal through 50 whelps attacking you at once right? :|

    Last week it took the 25 man PUG I was in 21 minutes to down her. -21 minutes-. We had 3 healers, 2 tanks, and 2 DPS left standing when she died.

  14. #14 by Ambrosyne on October 1, 2009 - 8:50 am

    We had people DCing while burning the whelps down due to AoE. I was like WEEE 2FPS!

  15. #15 by Kiramaren on October 1, 2009 - 9:35 am

    I tried a 25man Ony on Monday with some of our members and then pugged the rest…. An okay grp but I think Blizz has some issues with this, during one of the pulls we had all 3 tanks d/c on the whelps… /cry! I turned down all my setting and turned off most of my add ons. . . . and it still happened a lot, everyone was d/cing :s too much graphics /computer melts.

    Best part on one of the attempts (I was MTing) so i picked up the guards, well on my screen all that was visable was me and a pally and it still happened!

    I know my comp is a lil out dated (getting a new one made hopefully with in a month) but /cry /cry /cry

  16. #16 by Lussani on October 1, 2009 - 1:37 pm

    Phase 3: Ohai Ony I didn’t see you land there. That’s a big claw you have.

    /dead disc priest

  17. #17 by tytalus on October 1, 2009 - 2:46 pm

    Yeah, bad framerates on those whelps…I ran Ony 25 the other day with the guild and was OTing, so I was dragging half the whelps over to the MT’s other half and my screen about exploded. Some of the dps were disgusted with what my death knight aoe could do there.

    …then I blew myself up on the adds’ nova thingies. Ah well. What I get for not saving a little runic power for the anti-magic shell. It was the very last add on phase 3, though, so it didn’t wipe us.

    Still, my favorite part was watching people go flying while being stationed by the whelp cave. Several landed right next to me as I waited for some whelps to appear. *boing* Hi rogue! *boing* Hi warlock! Um…warlock?

  18. #18 by Ambrosyne on October 1, 2009 - 3:18 pm

    @tytalus – Grouped up whelps = a fine time to be a shadow priest.

    MIIIIIIIND SEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAR

  1. Blergh | Righteous Defense

Leave a Reply

