RAWR TANK

There was actually a little discussion on Twitter about gender and in game roles and why we just don’t see that many women playing tanks.  I’d rather not touch gender issues with even a 40 foot stick, but it’s an interesting observation none the less.  Oh they’re out there, to be sure.  And some of them are damned fine tanks.  But there’s not many of them, and/or some of them hide very well.   I can’t get onto Vent without wanting to yap, so no hiding for me.

Is it something to do with the pressure?  Tanking pressure is different from healing pressure.  Tanking, especially in a raiding situation, is more lime light-y.  I mean there’s 5 other healers…and 2 other tanks.  They are WATCHING you, man.  WATCHING YOU.  YES THIS FREAKS ME THE FUCK OUT AAAAH.

It amuses me to think that right this moment, in BoO, there are three women who play (healy!) priests who also have tanky paladin alts.  For two of us, these alts were our mains at one point.  What the hell is it with priests and paladins?  

Speaking of alts healers like to have in common: Back in BC, we wanted a hunter for Kara, so we asked who had hunter alts to swap out.  There were a few hunter alts, as it turned out-all of our healers had one.  No one else, of course just…all of the healers.     /facepalm

Anyway.  Last night was supposed to be a Naxx25 badge/lolgear run…and we had…er…12 people?  Maybe?  There were no pugs in site.  Naxx is officially a ghost town…deserted…the red headed step child of raiding instances, what have you.  We dropped it down to a 10, though, and proceeded to lol our way through that.  It was more amusing goofing off with 10 guildies than running many heroics with 5.   :P  That, and I got some more MT experience under my belt (though Loth is boring as ever) and made at least 2 pathetic shows as lolret.  Let me tell you, having someone on Heigan who has never tanked it before…and a ret paladin who has never been melee down there before…results in a dead retadin.  And a dead most everyone else, apparently.  Oh, DDR boss, how we hate you!  I managed to Not Fail Grobb, though.  Er, well, not badly.  Only Josh died…  >.> 

I did get JUST enough badges from it to replace my Naxx10 chest (!) with the badge one.  That should help me out a lot!  I should go pug VoA as a tank for more gear, but it scares me.  I don’t know why, but…it does.  Tanking in general scares me far more than healing or DPSing ever has.  I’m so terrified of screwing up in front of everybody! O noes!  And it’s hard to do a “guild” VoA run first to learn the fight…nope…gotta jump in there cold…ugh!

I am such a pansy.  I do love tanking though.  Of course I also love disc priesting, and shadow priesting, and BM huntering…  I might love retadining if I didn’t SUCK at it.  I can’t tolerate being bad.  :(  You know the kids who thought anything less than an A was a failure?  That’s me.  Being a disc priest is probably healthy for me.  “Oh look, I’m at the bottom of the meters…WHERE I AM SUPPOSED TO BE” vs “OH GOD THE OTHER HOLY PALADINS ARE BEATING ME WHYYYYY”. 

No, this post had no point.  I’m all silly and rambly right now, and distracted by Nano.  I think that, next week, I’ll start ToC Strats.  Woooo, actual content!

Random thought: The funny thing about being a known kidder is that one rare occasions where I’m feeling especially bitter, sometimes the truth comes out and everyone laughs unknowingly.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by theerivs on October 16, 2009 - 10:33 am

    Being an attention whore, I do miss tanking once in awhile

  2. #2 by Vorian87 on October 16, 2009 - 11:01 am

    my girlfriend is an amazing tank on her paladin as well :D where she lacks in gear she makes up for skill but still asks me to tank sometimes hehe (i play paladin/dk tanks)

    and there is another one of my friends who is learning warrior tanking and we just picked up a new druid tank and we have like 3-4 priest/pally/druid healers in the guild as well… all women

    it’s definitely a trend about female players leaning towards healing roles compared to tanking, but the few I do know who are tanks, they are all awesome people :P

  3. #3 by kithain on October 16, 2009 - 11:18 am

    lol hmm… i’m a non-healy priest but my alt is *also* a prot/ret pally. D: and i loooove tanking on her. i wonder what it is!

  4. #4 by Celaeno on October 16, 2009 - 12:04 pm

    I refused to heal for a long time because I wanted to buck that “lol gurls r healz not tankz” stereotype. But healing is just more fun for me in the end.

    I was trying to see if I could get holy nova into my top 3 healing spells last night, but alas, it was not meant to be.

  5. #5 by ambient on October 16, 2009 - 1:02 pm

    OMG me too on the priest –> tankadin thing. I personally think it’s the mana. Who else tanks with mana? We’re just too used to the little blue bars.

    Tried warrior, but I didn’t like that the rage bar was always empty. I gotta work for my resource?? No way. I’d rather start out with a “finite” resource and just have to manage it carefully — which is exactly what I do while healing: use my abilities and mana pool to keep everybody safe. Which is why I think priests like playing pallies.

  6. #6 by Ambrosyne on October 16, 2009 - 2:25 pm

    @ambient – I have a prot warrior to…she’s just…sadly neglected as I get distracted gearing up my tankadin. I like like warrior tanking more (sssh!) but she’s always lagged behind the gear curve.

    @Cel – I started off healing because…er…I didn’t know what I was doing. /nods

  7. #7 by mediumsizedrobb on October 16, 2009 - 5:14 pm

    It is sort of funny how nearly every female I know who plays this game is a healer. Especially ones who have BFs who play the game. I have a good friend who was one of the best DPS I knew while she was playing her mage.. then she started dating a guy who played the game and she dutifully switched to a healer as if it was the most natural thing in the world. I still give her a lot of shit for falling into the “personal healer for your DPS/tank BF” stereotype. Oh well, I’m probably just jealous mine won’t heal me. :(

  8. #8 by ekinara on October 16, 2009 - 7:21 pm

    My girl went from Holy priest to tankadin.. that really is strange how that happens, considering two of the females in my guild the same thing. Seriously WTF!
    Ahh well it least its not as bad as switching from a rogue to a healer (like me) its really strange when suddenly you hate your own toon :-p

  9. #9 by Ablimoth on October 16, 2009 - 7:40 pm

    What about Kadomi? http://www.tanklikeagirl.com

    There are probably less female tanks than male because there are less female players than male. I don’t know that the proportion of female tanks:male tanks is that different to female players:male players.

  10. #10 by Codi on October 16, 2009 - 9:18 pm

    Both of our main tanks are women, which I find rather awesome. Add to that the fact that most of our best healers are female! The only place we’re lacking competent women is in the DPS department. I think we have a total of 4 female DPSers. :(

  11. #11 by Jyorore on October 16, 2009 - 10:50 pm

    I’m a female and Ive been tanking on my druid for a few years now, even have a warrior that isn’t horribly geared, and a holy paladin that’s getting offspec gear for prot as well. I haven’t met any other maintoon/spec female tanks on my server, which honestly was part of what inspired me to be one in the first place, but I’m sure that they are out there…somewhere.

  12. #12 by HoHo on October 17, 2009 - 6:31 am

    I think my guild has around 2 females atm only, both are dps (mage and lock) and very good at it.

    My GM/best resto druid is a 40y guy with a HUGE family that all play wow. He has around 8-9 kids and total of ~12-14 accounts. Pretty much everyone is playing wow, including his wife and daughters but they are no in my guild for some reason so I have no idea what roles they play.

  13. #13 by Armagon on October 18, 2009 - 7:13 am

    What I really find disturbing is that 2 girls I know have been guild Main Tanks in classic, have been DPS in TBC and are now healers in WotLK.
    So much for “most girls play healers”.

  14. #14 by LordHuggington on October 18, 2009 - 1:09 pm

    Yeah, I’ve only come across a few women who do a lot of tanking in my travels. Usually they prefer to dps or heal. I have noticed there’s a lot more spacial awareness required for tanking: keeping track of where all the bad guys are, where all your party members are, what AoE attacks are going where. Sometimes I think everyone should be required to spend one night per week tanking. It would probably work wonders for curing people who have a tendency to stand in the fire. :p Tanking just requires one to pay attention to a lot more stuff.

  15. #15 by Kiramaren on October 20, 2009 - 10:39 am

    I started out as a bad ass Hunter (lol once I got over my noobishness and learned my class) I loved raiding, was good at it, and even when we were in uld10 she was my main, though I was playing my druid more and more.

    I switched mains about 3-4months ago to my druid, and I am one of our main tanks and the RL in my guild.

    I LOVE tanking there is something that is calming yet exhilarating about it, and ya you do have to be aware of everything and everyone. While still keeping the baddies off of everyone and dealing with specials (depending on the fight), its hectic, crazy, in your face action that is sooooo addicting, knowing that you and the other tank are the only things between the baddies and the rest of the grp.

    And I am now in the process of levelling up a disc/shadow priest (woot lvl 71), and I do enjoy healing especially disc. On my drood too I am offspec heals and I pvp as resto, when it comes to raids if I have to heal then I do okay at it not fantastic but alright with more practice I bet I would be pretty good at it. But I don’t want to give up my tanky goodness, ripping faces and nom nom noming on the baddies is sooo fun.

    I do find now though that if I am not tanking then I am nervous unless it is a tank that I know and have tanked with before, I have seen to many pugs (i.e. Naxx25/ VOA/ OS/ Maly… etc.) that terrify me when I look at there spec/gems/gear what ever. Or see the adds all over the place because they aren’t picking them up (I.e. last night in 10man uld… /shudder, no FR for hodier say what?) I was healing and I was sooo omgomgomgomg /cry!

    I think I will mainly stick to main tanking (I hate off tanking most fights, its sooo boring… lol I try to out dmg some of the dps when I am ot tanking for some challenge).

  16. #16 by Arkaneena on October 20, 2009 - 10:40 am

    You know I did talk about this on my blog awhile back. I officially came out of the closet as a man who plays female toons. (TL;DR I can relate to women more than men.) I love healing and hate tanking. So I don’t think this is a male/female thing so much as a personality thing. I am also a lawyer working in poverty law, so pretty much a permanent care bear.
    I am also the one who had the A all the time. I was asked by the professor to be a TA for property law. In my law school this was a rarified honor. C is for cookie, but that is not good enough for me. B means do better scrub. A is acceptable.
    My guild wanted me to tank so I did it. It is taking months to learn, and I mostly do it in heroics, or with freinds as an offtank. I know I am a paladin, we are main tanks. I have the gear, but I am not yet Wonder Woman. Suck it up camper, crank the music, learn not to fail. I keep telling myself this, and it gets better with more practice.
    (This is the same reason I hate jousting. I hate failing. I want to stab Tirion and the Argent champion in the eye with my lance, just once.)
    Oh and the priest paladin thing, RP wise I think because they both use Holy Light. My first time seeing a priest heal, I knew I wanted one. But I already had leveled a shaman to 30, now 45. Plus I want a gnome priest, so I am waiting. Yes I could change race, I want to level a gnome priest as a healer. With all the worgen rerolls running around then it will be cake. Or is it pie? mhhmmm pie

Leave a Reply

