An Idea.

So, a certain birdie started this idea rattling around my head…

…how many of you would rather HEAR me rant than read it?  I’m a recording nub, but I’m sure I could manage something.  While it would not be as interesting as, say, an ex guildie’s drunken rambling about the birds and the bees (as we do acutally have recorded somewhere), I could probably get a chuckle or two.

Y/N?

,

  1. #1 by Aoladari on November 25, 2009 - 4:50 pm

    As in podcast? mmmmm Maybe. That idea has been floating in my head for sometime too (me starting one not you) but I just don’t know that I have the patience for it.

  2. #2 by xuna on November 25, 2009 - 5:25 pm

    I approve of this.
    Just think of the awesomeness… Amber in “BubbleStereo”
    The next step would Amber with “BubbleVision”

    … or “I like Bubbles”… The motion picture…

  3. #3 by theerivs on November 25, 2009 - 5:43 pm

    I hear your voice…WAY TOO MUCH!

  4. #4 by Ablimoth on November 25, 2009 - 5:51 pm

    NOOOOO!!!

    Well, while I’m sure it would be nice, I read blogs at work.

    Cannot listen at work. Do not want moar podcasts!

  5. #5 by Jov on November 25, 2009 - 5:51 pm

    y

  6. #6 by Bruski on November 25, 2009 - 5:56 pm

    I love the blog, would love a podcast too, but not at the expense of the blog. I too, read it at work.

  7. #7 by Naithin on November 25, 2009 - 5:57 pm

    Xuna is onto something I think.

  8. #8 by Kestrel on November 25, 2009 - 6:26 pm

    Birdie? What birdie? And why do you never comment on MY blog? HMM??

    AmberVision…not sure the world is ready for that, but maybe in Sep 2011… ;)

    But yeah, podcast in addition to the printed word would be fun(ny).

  9. #9 by xuna on November 25, 2009 - 6:51 pm

    I love Bubbles II: the revenge of Amber…

  10. #10 by Ron on November 25, 2009 - 6:58 pm

    Don’t take this the wrong way, but your writing presentation is far superior to the verbal presentation. Not that the verbal is bad in any way, but you have a way of writing that a lot of us enjoy and while adding a verbal spin might be cool for a while I fear it would fail to live up to the excellence I’ve come to expect from this page

  11. #11 by Kazalt on November 25, 2009 - 8:29 pm

    I think it’d be awesome, go for it!

  12. #12 by Aurik on November 25, 2009 - 8:42 pm

    Audio turns me off – I like reading and I like the presentation of text. Sure it can sometimes be limiting but, I admit, I pretty much ignore anything in video or audio, mark-as-read and go on.

    /hug

  13. #13 by Joe Ego on November 25, 2009 - 10:50 pm

    No. Sound production time > writing time. More output is probably better than more time on the same output or the same time spent on less output.

  14. #14 by Elnia on November 25, 2009 - 11:10 pm

    In all honesty I think you need to be careful. Some people are really funny writers (Dave Barry) and some people are really funny actors (Bill Cosby). It is the rare person who can pull off both successfully. Garrison Keillor is one such rare person but he hardly writes anymore. There is a reason why all the talking heads on TV employ joke writers.

    The reason for this that what sounds funny orally often looks bland on paper and what seems funny when written down sounds immature and fatuous. The timing and pacing are completely different. Unless you really understand what works and doesn’t work on each medium (or are willing to suffer through the learning process) I’d advise against it.

    Having said that, if you did try it I’d certainly give it a listen just to see how you make out. Perhaps you are one of those gifted people who can handle both.

  15. #15 by Marenie on November 25, 2009 - 11:15 pm

    I vote No. While podcasts can be super funny I prefer reading at my own pace rather then listening to people rambling on in a too fast/too slow speed.

  16. #16 by ekinara on November 26, 2009 - 12:24 am

    Ill vote a no, some of the others have pointed it out but humor written rarely coverts to humor spoken in a spectacular fashion. That is not to say you would not be funny as a spoken comedian of sorts but i think your humor may be better suited to impromptu wise cracks then planned recordings.
    Remember people with Sharp wit often come across arrogant or mean when not fully interactive with those listening. :-) with that said if you make it ill listen it anyway haha.

  17. #17 by Katurian on November 26, 2009 - 2:28 am

    Yes and I got the perfect title for you…

    BubbleCast.

    Oh yea.

  18. #18 by Shayzani on November 26, 2009 - 4:22 am

    Yes to Bubblecast.

  19. #19 by Elethiomel on November 26, 2009 - 8:59 am

    Yes. I think it would be an interesting thing to do. I see some people here saying “audio is hard to do, so don’t do it”; I don’t get that at all. AFAIK you haven’t tried to do a podcast before, so how do these people know that you can’t do it?

    Expanding one’s creative repertoire is a good thing. If it doesn’t work out you could always stop, but giving up before trying because “it’s hard” is never a good argument.

  20. #20 by Shubb-Niggurath on November 26, 2009 - 10:06 am

    yup good idea :)
    I’m from France actually, and I often practice my english listening to various podcasts. Furthermore, I’m quite sure it would funnier to hear you rage about your guildies than only reading it :p

    btw, long time reader, first time poster. Keep up with your blog, I like it a lot :p

  21. #21 by Danny on November 26, 2009 - 11:49 am

    Your prose style is so unique, it would be interesting to see if what comes out of your fingers is the same as what comes out your mouth. Go for it! What’s the worst that can happen?

    Evolution of Bubbles – the next internet sensation.

  22. #22 by armagone on November 26, 2009 - 4:31 pm

    I hate podcasts, any of them.
    You’re welcome to prove me wrong, of course :)

    I like reading too much, I think.

  23. #23 by buboe on November 26, 2009 - 6:13 pm

    No. Please No.
    American voices sound so much better written…

  24. #24 by evisceratespam on November 26, 2009 - 8:27 pm

    I say no…blog>podcast imo

  25. #25 by Mortume on November 26, 2009 - 9:50 pm

    Podcast sounds like a good idea to me!

  26. #26 by shadowtycho on November 27, 2009 - 7:56 pm

    do both!
    ur a internets suparstar!

    its your creative medium anyone who dosent like it can just be called a charlotten and left behind, the real question is weather or not you want to put more effort into this. it seems like you have enough trouble keeping up with flowchart firdays, would a weekly (or god help us,daily) pod cast be less effort?(no, it would be more)

  27. #27 by Magejuego on November 27, 2009 - 7:58 pm

    I want to hear the RAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGE

  28. #28 by Christian on November 28, 2009 - 9:36 pm

    I love the blog as it is. If you wanted to do a podcast too, fine for those who listens to us, but please don’t abandon your faithful readers for the new fancy technology.

Leave a Reply

