Murphy’s Law and the LFG Tool

Last night I decided to shove my poor level 79 warrior in the LFG tool.  If I struggle to quest-grind my way to 80, I can instance my way there, right?  Being somewhat rusty with her, however, I was hoping that I’d get an instance I was at least familiar with.

But, fuck no!  Murphy’s Law Attack #1: Oculus.

I have run this instance all of two times, once as a healer (Ambrosine) and once as DPS (Lyrandre).   Neither trip had been recently, and I certainly hadn’t the faintest idea how to tank it.  Well, fuck.  One person ditched the group, but I decided that I’d see how much they’d nerfed it.

The answer is that they’ve nerfed it quite a bit, but the mage boss still sucks. During the fight 2 DPS and the healer died, leaving me and a warlock alive.  Well, warrior tanks are fucking awesome, and I blew every oh shit button I had.   Amazingly enough, we downed the boss, and both of us were still alive-albeit barely, and damn, but that AoE is nonsense.

I turned around to get the fuck out of the frosty shit when I saw the warlock die and something with a red bar above its head come streaking towards me.

Oh.

Wait, what the fuck?

Murphy’s Law Attack #2: the Curse of Doom will proc a demon at the worst possible time ever.

We didn’t wipe to the boss.  We wiped to the demon.

The mother fucking demon.

What the hell?

, ,

  1. #1 by Triz on December 9, 2009 - 10:13 am

    Ooooh, I remember once back in Karazhan we had that demon pop out of Netherbane after he died. It was quite funny (although he didn’t manage to kill anyone of us).

  2. #2 by candy on December 9, 2009 - 10:14 am

    Perhaps you have no broken the curse of the Oculus?

  3. #3 by HoHo on December 9, 2009 - 10:20 am

    One tip for warrior tanking:
    if you are low then pop last stand and all other max HP-increasing things right before popping enraged regeneration. On my L76 warr at 18k unbuff HP who wears that lovely quest trinket from TBC I get close to around 9k HP healed. That’s quite awesome :)

    I haven’t seen Oculus lately myself but with semi-decent groups we just burned the boss down without any kiting. Though I imagine a holy pala might have some problems healing through it, it shouldn’t really be all that bad for anyone else.

  4. #4 by Alas on December 9, 2009 - 10:43 am

    Oculus blows. That is all.

  5. #5 by XUNA on December 9, 2009 - 10:48 am

    Murphy…

    Tried to do Frozen Halls, got to the pit of Saron. NO HALLS OF REFLECTION FOR YOU!.

    after that and trying to crawl my way out of Icecrown Citadel, as 80% of the server was standing in the stone room… and the other 20% was in the little hall. 1 fps crawls are not nice.

    tried out the LFG tool… got halls of Reflection and a nice deserter debuff because “isntance not found”

  6. #6 by Stop on December 9, 2009 - 11:10 am

    “Murphy’s Law Attack #2: the Curse of Doom will proc a demon at the worst possible time ever.”

    Did that shit more times than I can count back in the day in ZA. Always on dragonhawk boss, too, so half the raid was dead because they forgot how fire worked or something. Jan’alai hits the turf, demon pops out and punches a tank or a healer in the face a few times, always ate at least one person.

  7. #7 by Ambrosine on December 9, 2009 - 11:48 am

    @Xuna – If that happens, simply find the green eye minimap icon underneath all your addon icons and select “teleport to instance”. It will try again. :)

  8. #8 by Corr on December 9, 2009 - 12:07 pm

    I’m the same way. I refused to do Occ at all until a couple months ago and I’ve only been in once since. I’m dreading getting stuck in there through the LFG tool. Not because it’s ‘hard’ really, and I know they’ve nerfed it a lot, but because it’s an irritating place and most people don’t know what the heck they’re doing. Oh, and my first time in there, the same thing happened to me with the demon. I was so excited that we finished the boss, even though it was just the two of us left alive. Then shit, we both died, and I didn’t know wtf had happened, lol.

  9. #9 by Grace on December 9, 2009 - 1:39 pm

    My first experience with the new LFG was AN with a group so perfect I could kiss them. I managed to get DC’d during the middle of the last boss fight and by some miracle when I got back on we were all still alive and I just kept going like nothing happened. Nobody said a word. If the PUGs all go like that (minus the DC) I may actually be able to get my pug pet without murdering anybody.

  10. #10 by BobTurkey on December 9, 2009 - 6:05 pm

    Wiped on the demon?!? Thats classic. :-)

    Gobble gobble.

  11. #11 by Tamarind on December 10, 2009 - 4:42 am

    Oh sigh, the LFG tool is basically just going to condemn me to run Occulus and ToC until I stab myself in the eyes isn’t it?

  12. #12 by stip on March 6, 2010 - 6:40 pm

    I once got a CoD proc from Jaraxxus. A demon popping out of a demon, almost as if he had a baby

Leave a Reply

