1. #1 by Alas on December 15, 2009 - 10:32 am

    Yay! Strats!

    For my part, I like to be the undergeared tank and stress everyone else. I figure it’s only fair since they’re always stressing me out.

  2. #2 by Tenicus on December 15, 2009 - 10:56 am

    For Saurfang…. (just in case you haven’t figured it out yet)

    If you get your Disc Priest to only keep bubbles on the entire raid and really concentrate on bubbling the people with boiling blood, you can reducethe number of the other debuff you get.

    We did it on 10-man with our t-9.5 geared disc priest and got 0 stacks, and with my t-9 geared disc priest and only got 1 stack. On 25-man our main disc priest was able to keep it to one stack and we automatically let the first guy to get the second debuff to die.

    Anyways, makes that fight easy mode :) (well relativily)

  3. #3 by Adlib on December 15, 2009 - 11:10 am

    Yep, Saurfang blows. I didn’t realize until I got the Mark of the Fallen Champion that you don’t get rid of it for the rest of the time! It made me feel really bad for our healers.

  4. #4 by Ambrosine on December 15, 2009 - 11:19 am

    @Tenicus – Oh I was a bubbling fiend, but we were losing people to the adds. :(

  5. #5 by Karzon on December 15, 2009 - 11:27 am

    I think our 10 man must be insane. We couldn’t figure out how to deal with Saurfang’s Mark going out to more than one person with three healers. So we switched to two and knocked it down on our third attempt with that strat. Disc/pally heals.

    I think we might have done something wrong, but we even got the “I’ve Gone and Made a Mess” achievement. We bloodlusted early and only had one Mark go out.

    Freaking intense.
    http://worldoflogs.com/reports/ync5bu6d2ikvc6r9/dashboard/?s=1560&e=1939

  6. #6 by Ten'nen on December 15, 2009 - 11:35 am

    Healing baby tanks is really fun, but only if they at least know how to tank…baby tanks who are bad are just a pain in the ass (but then again, bad tanks in general are a pain in the ass…).

    I guess we all have to remember that we all have to start somewhere, and that Blizzard isn’t exactly tank friendly…

  7. #7 by Tenicus on December 15, 2009 - 12:21 pm

    @Ambrosine: Then that’s a DPS issue :) We had a warlock or hunter kite the add around while the rest of the DPS downed the adds. I know last night on 10-man, at first we didnt have the best setup for DPS, and they would only end up with 10 seconds of DPS time on the boss between downing one set of adds until they came the next time. We switched around a bit, used a shammy earth bind totem, and we had 20 secs which turned out to be enough.

    Of course it all depends on your class makeup :)

    Just for reference, we had had:
    Pally Tank
    DK Tank
    Warlock – 5k DPS
    Shaman – 4.5 K DPS
    DK – 4k DPS
    Ret Pally – 4K DPS
    Warlock – 3.5 DPS
    2 Resto Druids
    1 Disc Priest

  8. #8 by Ambrosine on December 15, 2009 - 12:29 pm

    We had…hrm.

    1 disc priest
    1 tree
    1 holy pally
    1 pally tank
    1 warrior tank
    1 DK
    2 hunters
    1 mage
    1 rogue

    WTB shammy totems. :(

  9. #9 by Kotakh on December 15, 2009 - 12:35 pm

    I put a comment on the forum concerning this fight.

    Basically, its a dps race. Everything i read says we should 2 heal this. So i propose to go Boomkin to root 1 of them while we nuke the other add and i can use typhoon to knock them back if necessary.

    You and Cel can heal this just fine if we dont take as much damage.

  10. #10 by Karzon on December 15, 2009 - 12:51 pm

    @Kotakh We did that, as well as my Elem shaman’s Thunderstorm and a combination of both Enhance shaman constantly having Earthbind down and my Earthbind with the 100% chance to snare talent. Even so, the hunter, boomkin, and I were running around like idiots trying to kill them while not getting hit.

    The melee never left the boss.

  11. #11 by Tenicus on December 15, 2009 - 1:09 pm

    @Ambrosine: You probably were doing this but….

    If you put one hunter on each side, each hunter can use their frost trap to hold/slow down their add. The DPS all go to one side, down that add, then switch to the second add. The only DPS on the second add would be the hunter that is kiting/slowing it.

    For healing, we put the disc priest in the middle back, and the two other healers to the left and right. Everyone also has to try and stay 12 yards (I think) apart.

    (Im bored at work today, I usually don’t comment, but have been reading your blog for a bit now. When you said you were having issues with Saurfang I thought I might be able to offer some advice on what I have seen so far. I am far, so very far, from being an expert!)

    (So far I have run this on 10 and 25 man with my Holy Paladin and once on 10 man with my disc priest)

  12. #12 by Nzete on December 15, 2009 - 1:18 pm

    Before the click button for group now, I definately had to do so begging in guild to get a tank for the daily on occasion. Bringing a not defense capped, never tanked before warrior that I guilted into dual speccing to H OK was interesting to say the least.

  13. #13 by Tenicus on December 15, 2009 - 1:20 pm

    Oh and the trick for bubbling the raid is that you try to have a bubble on everyone (I cheated and ignored the tanks, for the most part they didnt get the blood boil)

    The best thing that can happen is the person that gets Blood Boil will have a bubble that will absorb 2 ticks of the BB which will kill your bubble, and if it is timed right, weakened soul will also be off, so you can bubble them again to absorb the last 2 ticks of BB.

    I use Grid and Clique, and I set grid to have the BB debuff show in the center, in one corner I would show a yellow square if the target is bubbled, and a grey square if the target doesn’t have a bubble, but has weakened soul. My problem was training myself to not re-bubble someone as soon as they got BB, because WS would not be off after the 2 ticks, make sure you let BB eat up the bubble that is already there and then re-bubble.

  14. #14 by Nymphe on December 16, 2009 - 8:50 am

    When we did the gunship battle we had all our healers stand on one side (yay not jumping!) and just the tank and melee jump to the other side. the tank pulled the guy close to the edge of the ship so that he was in range of the healers and it was total easy mode.

Leave a Reply

