SHIELD TO FACE

So I’ve been pugging here and there on my little level 79 prot warrior.  She should be questing for rep, but I astutely noticed that I stopped leveling her about the time I hit the Hodir rep grind phase.  Clearly the solution is to random LFG her way to 80!  I will grind rep via tabards over questing!  Yay!

It was, however, interesting to zone in to Halls of Stone and get a few pulls in.  “It’s nice to have an actual tank,” someone in the group said.  “One who is specced for tanking, and holds aggro on stuff.”

This makes me wonder what the status of tanks in Vindication is!  Aside from “crazy” of course.   I got into a CoS that made me seriously spaz, because I would slow down to make sure that my healer was in range…and then a DPS would go pull the elites.  GG, guys.  Enjoy your death.  I can’t peel aggro off you when I am RAGE STARVED because you had to go play with the spider.   /facepalm

Of course come a couple more heroics and I’ll go from being a valued lowbie Real Tank to being that undergeared 80 who gets kicked from every group…oh, the irony.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Melfina the Blue on December 23, 2009 - 1:55 pm

    At least in my battlegroup, tanks are worshiped, undergeared or not. So long as you keep the mobs from eating me, you are my best friend.

    It’s the healers who get kicked. Or worse… chain pulls of doom with constant bitching if someone dies. When will people learn that no mana=no heals?

  2. #2 by MyName on December 23, 2009 - 2:03 pm

    Still better than what I went through last night. I got put into the random queue and ended up in Gundrak. When I saw the pile of dead bodies/skelles at the bottom of the entrance well, my first thought was “I have a bad feeling about this…”

    It turns out there was this rogue-hunter duo that thought it would be funny to wait until new people come into Gundrak and then aggro/misdirect the boss and either 1) Feign Death or 2) Sprint to the instance entrance. Fortunately, being a Nelf DK tank, which means I can shadowmeld and do all that other OP stuff that DKs do. So I didn’t die, but it still took me 15 mins to get the D-bags out of the instance and 2 other new people died in the process.

    If the wait wasn’t so dang long I probably would have reported them.

  3. #3 by xuna of Ragnaros on December 23, 2009 - 2:16 pm

    kick the healer whenever a DC takes more than 22 seconds.

    Kick the healer if HoR Wavefest is being bitchy because Dps cannot do LoS

    Kick the healer if the tank is … BAD and “it” doesn’t want to recognize that.

    http://www.wowarmory.com/character-talents.xml?r=Quel%27Thalas&n=Circorsa&group=1

    c’mon this thing is supposed to tank?

  4. #4 by Zobu on December 23, 2009 - 6:09 pm

    There’s no Hodir tabard :(

    Still, farm emblems then swap them for rep tokens. 40 tokens gets you from Revered to Exalted (minus a tiny bit you can get from doing 1 rep quest or something).

  5. #5 by Joe Ego on December 23, 2009 - 6:53 pm

    Forget the rep tokens. Random it up for Triumphs as often as you can, then buy the gear when you hit 80. After that you’re practically drowning in Triumphs and can finish off your gear, then get the rep (use tabards too!), and outfit that offspec.

  6. #6 by UFTimmy on December 23, 2009 - 7:43 pm

    You don’t need Hodir rep anymore, no? All the shoulder stuff is BoA.

  7. #7 by raquoon on December 24, 2009 - 9:44 am

    The PvP shoulders enchant, Greater Inscription of the Gladiator (+30 stam and 15 resilliance, is better than the Hodir if you are over 540 def.

  8. #8 by shadowtycho on December 25, 2009 - 1:24 am

    just remeber if you get kicked, you can find a new group instantly.
    also warriors are never actually rage starved, that’s a myth propagated by the people who hate discipline healing. you should be above such things.
    simply charge and shield slam and follow that up with a taunt if a dps is particularily stupid and threat and rage is yours!
    also thanks to recent buffs you get rage from not being hit as well as being hit and double rage when you hit the rage button.

    final note: your healer should be in range of you! thats his jorb, and charge is ther eto make it fun!

  9. #9 by shadowtycho on December 25, 2009 - 1:24 am

    also, i approve of prot warriors in general.

  10. #10 by Hoho on December 25, 2009 - 4:53 am

    Warrior can only get rage starved if someone else starts the pull, your rage regen button is on cooldown, there was >40s since last mob died and you can’t charge. It happens only very rarely that these four things happen at once. If even one of those conditions is not met then you will be able to get enough rage to do whatever you need.

    Also, imp. cleave spec is awesome in 5-mans. It’s almost as easymode aoe tanking as paladin :)

  11. #11 by Bhorg on December 27, 2009 - 2:18 pm

    I wonder if it would be easier to roll lowbie dps and gather some tank gear until you feel geared enough for heroics (as a new 80). Otherwise, grab an OP healer-friend and tag team randoms.
    My new disc priest ran heroics with our guild’s OP prot pallie until he got enough gear. Getting tank / healer combo works, as long as ONE of the team is OP. The only exception might be H HoR, where if EITHER is undergeared, it could fail.

    I’m doing dungeons on my lvl 38 pallie. It’s wild to see what people are healing / tanking with at lower levels.

  12. #12 by Dechion on December 28, 2009 - 11:26 am

    @Bhorg Thats exactly what I am doing on my DK. I am running heroics in i200 blues as Dps and saving up all my badges (and any lucky drops) to build a solid tanking set before I hit up the pug-o-matic russian roulette machine as a tank.

Leave a Reply

