On Heroics and Altitis

So many toons, so little time.  My priest needs some badges still, because I…still have some trophys in my bag to make use of.   My hunter needs badges because she only has two pieces of t9 and also has some other gear to replace.  She’s also back to being my primary alt, since I fail at shadow priesting and use her to step in for 2 heal situations. 

My paladin technically could use upgrades, but she’s gathering dust.  We don’t need her right now.  My warrior could use a LOT of badges and I do like warrior tanking, but if you’ve been reading along you’re also aware of the fits of screaming rage pugs cause me with her.  O NOES BLUES WHY DIDN’T YOU DING WITH PURPLES YOU FAIL TANK.

A lot of that is related to speed.  People want fast, so that they can run more heroics and get more badges.  Blizzard is even catering to this, nerfing certain longer instances.

Oh, Blizzard.  I don’t want you encouraging people to be speed happy douchebags.  Speed happy douchebags (be they healers who bail, DPS that pulls first, or tanks that rush ahead and pull half a room at a time) are annoying.   No, no, more than annoying.  Rage inducing.

I mean I want to run more heroics, sure!  I just want to run more heroics with people who aren’t dicks.  I guess that the nerfs will make it easier on my poor warrior-assuming, of course, that I can ever bring myself to touch her again-in one respect…but…meh.

Meh.

Of course I understand that Blizzard is trying to curb one kind of stupid (bailing on lengthy instances) with these changes.  I also understand that they can’t do anything about the kind of stupid that is irritating me (o hai, jerkfaces)*.   But you know what? I’m going to bitch, anyway, because it keeps me from throwing things around the room.

But if you’re going to nerf something, can it be those first whelp pulls in Oc?  I hate those things, they’re annoying.  :(

*Rating systems scare me, exactly because I CAN seem to be the worst tank in the world sometimes.  D:

, , , ,

  1. #1 by supernose on January 12, 2010 - 11:06 am

    Running things fast is fun. I pride myself in how quickly I can get through a Heroic. But at the same time, I also pride myself in being able to push my healers to their limit, and knowing where that is and how much it takes. 3-5 pulls into an instance I’ve usually got a pretty good feel for the healer and know what they can and can’t handle. Often times I find the healer is able to handle anything I throw at them, and then begins the part where I start pushing myself to go faster.

    It’s something you develop over time, the more you do it.

  2. #2 by Forreststump on January 12, 2010 - 11:12 am

    Night before last, I had a cocky warrior decide to chain pull in H-UK. Nonstop. From start to finish. Normally, I would have been annoyed, but he controlled 95% of it all the time (DPS can’t be perfect in their targeting, occasionally pulling one here and there). Fastest badges I ever saw. Just kept rolling the HoTs, popping a trinket occasionally, hitting Innervate occasionally.

    Was actually… dare I say it (fearing encouragement other tanks to pull the same stunt)… fun?

  3. #3 by joeego on January 12, 2010 - 11:41 am

    Whelp packs? I don’t see what the problem is when all you have to do is Conse… *ducks*

  4. #4 by Ambrosine on January 12, 2010 - 12:34 pm

    @joeego – /shakefist

  5. #5 by Armagon on January 12, 2010 - 12:35 pm

    HoS daily random on my Alliance Rogue. 2 wipes on the silly Brann encounter (think the Pally tank didn’t use Consecration, but might be mistaken) then disbanded, that’s a first.
    Gundrak was ok then. Not so fast, but new trousers and it’s ok. *sigh* Sometimes I’d love a rushing tank, given there’s better dps than a freshly dinged alt-alt. (Like, really seldomly played)

  6. #6 by Zha'ane on January 12, 2010 - 4:26 pm

    I’ve been playing WoW since about a year before BC came out. My rogue was my favorite character (and still is), and my favorite instance had to be UBRS. This is back when the only real tanks were Warriors, and CC actually meant something. Sure there was the odd pally tank and bears could be used to off tank, but the Warrior was the benchmark used in those days.

    Back in those days you actually had to PULL mobs before you engaged them, otherwise you ran the risk of pulling the next group or the pat if you weren’t careful. What I’ve seen is a degeneration of the group dynamics to an AOE faceroll. Now pallies an bears and DK’s have all this AOE threat generation and even rogues get an AOE to “compete” with the casters. (Don’t know about Warriors lately. There just aren’t much around anymore.)

    I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I think damage meters have killed finesse and skill in the instance environment. It’s all about the highest numbers and out dpsing the boss. Very few encounters at max level require skill, and there has been nothing since BC that requires CC.

    Don’t get me wrong, I know it takes talent to get through some of these raid instances, but it’s more about group coordination in avoiding some big thing that will squish/burn your face off. And very little about ussing what the differentiates the different classes from eachother.

    Big numbers can be fun occasionally, but there is still something to be said about a slow deliberate pace where you have to plan out how you pick off your enemies.

    Guess I’m just an old fart…

  7. #7 by wantedpriest on January 12, 2010 - 4:40 pm

    Amber –

    I know shadow dps is tough atm (I dabble on my spriest alt, and one of my 10-man crew has made the switch from holy to shade, so I feel your pain) but don’t swap out to another toon on 2 healer ICC fights. Saurfang, for example, drops 3 solid pieces of gear for a Disc Priest: helm, neck and staff. There is even a pair of cloth dps boots that you could use for both disc and shadow.

    By switching to your hunter, you are going to put yourself even further behind the gear curve on your priest, since Lyr won’t be able to get upgrades that drop when Jamethera is there.

    The long term benefit of being properly geared for the content you are doing far outweighs the slight dps boost you are giving your team by switching toons for a single fight.

    Something to think about.

    Vess

  8. #8 by Voink on January 13, 2010 - 4:12 am

    I concur with Vess, since the later 3 fights you’ll need 3 heals for unless they’re insanely good.

    And when I say insanely, I’m talking to the toon of 6-7k hps. Even with 3 there will be panic moments.

  9. #9 by ZombiePirate on January 13, 2010 - 4:34 am

    I ran a load of Heroics last night on my Disc Priest just to grab enough badges for the Heirloom robe to send to my noobie Mage. I need to do the same again to afford the shoulders and I also want to regear my Shaman from Elemental to Resto to have a second healer (I have a crazy idea that I can get all the healing classes to 80 and be a healing machine. Sometime between now and working out the secret to earning millions of pounds while having to do no work, as that’ll be what needs to happen to give me time for my devious plans.

  10. #10 by Ambrosyne on January 13, 2010 - 10:31 am

    @wantedpriest – A point, except that Saurfang might not go down, otherwise. I don’t get loot that way, either! If that’s the case, then hunter time it is (sometimes it’s not just a DPS issue but a ‘fuck, someone needs to kite this thing’ measure).

    Hopefully, with better DPS mixes, my low shadow DPS won’t matter. It’s not an option this week, anyway, because my hunter is saved to another run!

  11. #11 by Bhorg on January 13, 2010 - 12:52 pm

    wowmostwanted.blogspot.com/2010/01/well-weve-got-one.html

    So – the link above is the chat log pics of the worst pug I’ve found so far.

    He was #1 gearscore, by the way.
    He was afk until we got to the first boss (which we blew through easily). Then he goes crazy because his gs is so much higher than anybody else. The tank and our #1 dps were guildmates. It seemed pretty appearant to me that the tank (a pallie) was in the learning stage. With 32k health and a 3900gs – I thought heroic pugging was the perfect content level for him. But the DK wanted . . . something else, I suppose. But he let loose a profanity laden tirade until the 15 minute mark when we kicked him.

    I’m seen some horrible stuff in pugs, but this guy was special.

    Anyway, I’d rather have a stress-free run in 20 min, than a 15 minute bitch-fest.

  12. #12 by supernose on January 13, 2010 - 1:47 pm

    You should make your Paladin a Holy Paladin. I’m telling you, there’s nothing quite like being able to keep two tanks up at one time, all by yourself. And in 5 mans, it’s absurdly easy, even starting out.

  13. #13 by LabRat on January 13, 2010 - 4:38 pm

    Random pugs = automatic lowest common denominator designing choices, sadly. On the “bright” side it’s pushed our guild closer together again after a few weeks of running real randoms; we’d all prefer to run with each other and let the RNG choose which dungeon we do.

    Chain-pulling instances and burning like crazy CAN be fun, it’s not autofail, but I wonder why so many people take it as a given. The randoms have frequently been compared to casual sex; there are a lot of things not quite standard that are fun with sex, but you don’t automatically expect that the unknown person you took home from the bar is going to be up for them. You ask nicely if you can stuff a sparkler up his ass and do it while swinging from a trapeze, and you expect “no”, you don’t throw a tantrum because he didn’t bring a lighter.

  14. #14 by loldrood on January 14, 2010 - 12:30 am

    I was healing a H UK run, and some epic’d out dps prick was like, “whoa, hold on, the tank’s not geared for this!” -_-
    The tank was in defense blues, and I, the disc priest with 2300 SP, had no problem with this, but this guy was adamant that he wasn’t up to the run.
    Grah!

  15. #15 by Calrisian on January 14, 2010 - 10:53 am

    As an overgeared (for heroics) healer I love the speed groups .. keeps things interesting slow groups just tend to make me sleepy and when all I gotta do is throw out a flash heal in between pulls it just kills me, so I either prefer fast groups of crappy tanks .. at least that keeps me engaged..

    As a crappy tank not quite doing heroics .. slow is good I really gotta learn my keybinds .. where are you damn hand of salvation .. or freedom .. or rightesouness .. aww crap which one lwers your damn threat .. oops .. dps splat .. sorry dps heres 2 gold to cover your repair..

Leave a Reply

