BUBBLES YAY \o/

I’m Cel, but you’ve probably seen me lately in screenshots as Orithea, the holy paladin.  You know, the one who likes to say “ass cherry”.  Try it, it’s fun to say!

Like Amber said, I’m going to add some paladin flavor to the bubbles blog, because zomg I like bubbles too!  I am more than slightly jealous of the fact that disc priest bubbles are visually superior to holy paladin bubbles.  We get the short stick when it comes to spell effects – little glowy gold sparkles?  PFFT.

My first item of concern for you holy paladins is this: do you know where your Judgement is?  I don’t know if it’s just me being lazy because I have to go crazy with constantly casting to make sure that people don’t die while I take my eyes off the screen for a moment, but I never select a target to hit with my Judgement.  I generally trust that my hammer will, I dunno, hit something that the group actually has AGGRO ON, but apparently that is just sometimes too much to hope for.  I can’t be the only one who has accidentally pulled trash aaaaaall the way across the room during a boss fight, can I?  (Please tell me I’m not. ;_;)  I hate that this seems to only happen to me in heroics, where people probably think that I am complete nubsauce, pulling things left and right.  I swear I’m better than that!

,

  1. #1 by Vailladin on February 4, 2010 - 5:04 pm

    Guilty !
    It normally happens to me when there is only one mob left in the trash. The mob is almost dead and I want to refresh my haste for another minute when pop, down goes the garbage, well … my judgment is on cool down, so what did I hit …. ohhhh umm hey Mr. Tank ?!?!

    HELP!

  2. #2 by Splat on February 4, 2010 - 5:11 pm

    I use a macro to make my judgements always hit the target of my focus, which as a healadin is always the tank.

    Mainly because my hunter’s had a few stray shots that DID, in fact, pull from waaaaaaaaaaay over there just like you said.

  3. #3 by Rake on February 4, 2010 - 6:35 pm

    @Splat, can you please post that macro?

    The threat caused by a Judgement is never going to pull agro from the tank unless they’re horribly undergeared, and even then only if it crits. I bind space to “Target nearest enemy” and mouse scroll up to Judgement of Wisdom. Scroll down is my happy happy stun stick (Hammer of Justice) for when a mob strays too close. Tanks other than DK’s hate it because it means they can’t drag the add back like crazy but if it’s a choice between me getting ganked because the tank is too slow to grab them and me living to throw another heal I’ll take the latter option.

  4. #4 by Forreststump on February 4, 2010 - 6:59 pm

    Definitely macro it to your MT’s target.

  5. #5 by Forreststump on February 4, 2010 - 7:01 pm

    …via /assist is the easiest, I think.

  6. #6 by puggingpally on February 4, 2010 - 7:04 pm

    I was going to say what Forrest said – /assist set with a macro to a Judgment would be the easiest! …And now I want such a macro myself, thanks for the idea! :D

  7. #7 by Teresa on February 4, 2010 - 7:59 pm

    My boyfriend uses a macro too, but on occasion said macro goes horribly, horribly wrong.

    For instance on Rotface, as the ooze I am kiting is JUST merging and I haven’t secured aggro on it.

    Or on a pack of mobs I am about to pull but haven’t yet.

    It’s usually a great macro though.

  8. #8 by Silk on February 4, 2010 - 9:27 pm

    I would suggest trying to get into the habit of targeting the kill target rather than the tanks or the raid.

    Not only because abusing SoW procs is godly mana return (learn to love melee range) but also because you can track WHO is being target by (for example) the boss for a lot of effects.

    Your raid frames should show target’s target (in this case the tank) so you can track exactly the same debuffs etc on that frame.

    I don’t usually have a huge problem because I only have 1 point in the judgement range extending talent – making it all but impossible to pull the next pack.

  9. #9 by Dominus on February 5, 2010 - 3:29 am

    *Raises hand*

    Fortunately haven’t had this in raids (I raid as resto shaman -lazer beam pew pew-), but in random heroics it has happened quite a few times.

    I allways say sorry, 10% of the time the tank says nothing, the other 90% the tank will say something like “chain aggro <3".

  10. #10 by Ambrosine on February 5, 2010 - 9:30 am

    Some days I’m amazed I don’t pull adds with shadow fiend…

  11. #11 by Xuna of Ragnaros on February 5, 2010 - 10:18 am

    pop that cherry

    /innuendo

    maybe that is the extra kick I need to try paladining. It’s just that they’re… kinda cheesy… and cheap… and I have HANDS with 10 FINGERS so I think I must use more than TWO of them to one-shot someone.

  12. #12 by Joe Ego on February 5, 2010 - 11:29 am

    I have not pulled the wrong group before, but only because I’m running in to melee most of the time anyway. This has to be one of my favorite things about paladins. I love 40 yard judgements letting me judge/pull from across the room. I also love having Righteous Fury and both taunts.

    Taunting Deformed Fanatics during Deathwhisper is a rush. Pulling Patchwerk when people were not quite ready was a bad choice. Pulling XT was not a problem except for the fact that he can punch you from about 25 yards away.

  13. #13 by Splat on February 5, 2010 - 11:58 am

    /cast [target=focustarget] Judgement of Wisdom

    I have one of these for each judgement I’m likely to use when healadining.

    As someone else mentioned you still need to be careful – I usually wait to see the visual effect of an AOE from the tank before I hit the button.

    As a side note I use a similar macro with my hunter for casting Hunter’s mark.

  14. #14 by Cel on February 5, 2010 - 12:17 pm

    I am lucky that my Judgement trigger finger never causes a wipe, but it still makes me look bad sometimes. Being a paladin means that you can go “hey, I’m tanking!” and probably still be alive.

    I’m playing it off as a test of a tank’s true skills, even though I’m sure just about every tank out there would like to kill me if I said that.

  15. #15 by Joe Ego on February 5, 2010 - 4:20 pm

    It gets even more fun when you dual spec prot, pull & kill the first mob in H Nexus, and your healer asks why your running in healer gear.

Leave a Reply

