Friday…Venn Diagram?

Many thanks once more to Pixie Stix!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Kotakh on February 5, 2010 - 10:05 am

    I’ve been bless so far with a LOT of “Not even remotely possible” group :)

    Rest of the time i get “Lerroy Jenkins would be ashame group” which is perfectly fine since 80% of the Heroics can be done with sub 1.2k dps.

    I got ONE “tank coulndt hold aggro” and that was a total DK moron who tought he could tank Heroic Nexus with no gear with defense rating and a dps spec…i’m frost i can tank stoopid duh!

    Never had a healer sucks….because i’m the healer :)

  2. #2 by crankyhealer on February 5, 2010 - 11:12 am

    I love the friday stuff!

    I have had the healer suck because it was me playing my shaman.

    Of course, last night, 2 weeks later, I realized that my outfitter wasn’t auto-changing my gear based on spec like it does on my other 2 toons (because I had forgotten to set it up initially, and then forgot that I didn’t set it up). Healing in elemental gear isn’t terrible… but still. Fail.

  3. #3 by Cel on February 5, 2010 - 11:31 am

    Ususally I get the dps who should be ashamed, but I’m okay with that. Unlike a dickbag tank that I ended up with once, who decided that the dps was too low on the first boss and sat down and refused to do any more tanking for the next 12 minutes, before he left.

    This is why there needs to be an option for kicking before 15 minutes is over.

  4. #4 by shadowtycho on February 5, 2010 - 11:58 am

    the solution i have found that works 90% of the time is to bring a rogue friend of mine and a healadin i know. that way the two fucktards are dps and i dont have to worry about them. I get a safe and fast pug and my friends get to share my queue time as a tank, everyone wins.

    and on the off chance that i cant find a healer beforehand i always bring 3 dps that i know.

    doing this i have had like 1 bad pug ever.

  5. #5 by Sarai on February 5, 2010 - 12:57 pm

    Went through the “healer sucks” bit last night, when the group of friends and I had to suffer through 2 PUG pally healers. First one seemed to think one FoL on the tank was enough for each trash pull, then called for a mana break as soon as she hit 80%. That’s 80% full, btw, not empty.

    We vote-kicked her shortly after the first boss and got another pally, who decided to drop group in the middle of the next pull. Without saying a word. Third time was yet another pally, but this one at least seemed competent, and we finished the instance with no further trouble.

  6. #6 by puggingpally on February 5, 2010 - 1:10 pm

    “Tank couldn’t hold aggro against a DK with a whiffle bat” was my tank for Pit of Saron last night. Oh. My. Gosh. I ended up just leaving, which I’ll almost never do if a group is giving it their all. At some point it just stops being worth it. “Pugs make me cry inside,” indeed.

  7. #7 by elekat on February 5, 2010 - 3:57 pm

    My experience with the bad healers is more like – Its lucky they can’t hit me!

    Can always tell the good raid healers on a heroic run…. by the randome Holy Fire / tree-clubbing & lightning bolts!

  8. #8 by BigK on March 6, 2010 - 2:46 am

    Am I the only one who thinks that this chart doesn’t even remotely make sense?. If you look at the different parts: You have “good tank”, you have “good healer” and “good dps”. Put all these three together (the field in the middle) and the likelyhood of successful pug becomes…… “not even reomotely possible”?? Me am confused

  9. #9 by Minoru on March 6, 2010 - 2:52 am

    @BigK
    Yes you’re right. The ‘not remotely possible’ area should be the entire area outside the perimeter of the diagram. The intersection of good tank/healer/dps should be ‘everything turned out better than expected.’

  10. #10 by steve on March 6, 2010 - 4:00 am

    Yeah, the person who made this clearly has no idea how Venn diagrams actually work. The middle intersection should be a perfect group, not a total disaster.

  11. #11 by Anna on March 6, 2010 - 6:13 am

    Re. the making of the Venn diagram.

    I think they are trying to say that the perfect group that should be in there couldn’t actually happen :)

    I have mixed experience with PUGs. My biggest pet peeve are those ‘gogogogo’ tanks who run in to pull the next mob before noticing that their mana-dependent dps and healers now have less than 15% in the blue bar after the last mob (you know who you are!). But I have also had some great PUGs where everyone did what they needed to do, and helped out where they could even if it wasn’t technically in the job descrip (ie a dps helping healer out).

  12. #12 by Selacia on March 6, 2010 - 12:40 pm

    What they should have done was make the center portion as small as possible while still existing, and had a line to the outside for the label.

  1. The Daily Quest: We love flowcharts | zacsgames.com

Leave a Reply

