Bury the Corpse

This post brought to you by idle musings and background crap you’re not aware of.  And muffin tabards.

My first raiding guild was on Earthen Ring, and was called Unified.  I loved Unified.

They took me in shortly after I dinged 60, mostly because my fiance was already in the guild.  I’d like to think that they took me on because I was an amazing holy pally but, quite frankly, at that point in time I was not.

Anyway.

Unified was, in its heyday, a top 10 guild…I think.  I never honestly paid any attention.  I know that several of us had full t2, that we had BWL down to 2 hour clears, AQ 40 was clear to C’thun, and we were played around in Naxx.  Good? Yes.  Top guild on the server?  Hardly.

What was interesting, though, was to watch people leave…come back…leave…come BACK…always stating some version of “I missed you guys” upon their return.

The community that formed was strong, lasting-in many cases-years after the guild’s death.  I can still log onto Earthen Ring, poke my head in the /unitram channel, and say hello to any number of folks.

Unified broke up in BC as many former 40 man guilds did, torn apart by different sized raids, the sudden discovery that so and so sucked when not backed up by 5 others of their class, and the fact that our GM was-quite frankly-losing it.

Nostalgia was strong enough that after we wandered to our seperate guilds and found them lacking, some of us started raiding together again.  I ran Kara once a week with my hunter in my raiding guild, and then again on my paladin with this…former-guildie not-a-pug.

Eventually someone contacted our former GM, who actually handed over the old guild to us, and Unified was reborn.

It was not the same.  It never could be the same.  We had some of the same people, yes, but…there was no reviving Unified as it had once been.  Eventually one of the GMs-Josh-and one of the officers-myself-transferred off server to play with friends.  These friends-Brotherhood of Oblivion.

Corpses are corpses.  They need to be buried, not restlessly prodded with sticks.  They make good fertilizer, though-good things can come from what’s left, if you let them.

But you cannot ever expect them to be the same.

The Brotherhood is not what it once was.  I joined at the end of BC…and yes, it is different now.   Wrath changed it.  People leaving changed it.  The mere passage of time changed it.  My method of recruiting?  Changed it.  My blogging?  Changed it.   Now that I’m GM it certainly is-and shall become-something different yet again.

The Brotherhood of Oblivion is dead.
The Brotherhood of Oblivion lives.

This upsets some people, of course.  They look back at what once was and pine.

Cut it the fuck out.  It gets you nowhere.

Why don’t you come check out the flowers I’m growing here, instead?  The ride to wherever we’re going should be fun-especially as I have no idea how the fuck to navigate.   Quick, give Ky the map!

Oh, and eat a fucking muffin.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Feist on February 17, 2010 - 2:18 pm

    So, this corpse, it is of the letter h, yes?

  2. #2 by Kotakh on February 17, 2010 - 2:19 pm

    Sounds interesting…now make it happen hon :)

    BoO is Dead
    Long live BoO

  3. #3 by Cel on February 17, 2010 - 2:33 pm

    I love the way that you write, and agree with what you’re saying to boot. <3

    We can't cling to the way we used to play in vanilla and BC because it gets us nowhere, so why cling to an old idea of what a guild should feel like? Things evolve, people come and go, and little changes will always happen. The best way to enjoy them is to embrace them and make the changes for the better.

  4. #4 by shieldbreakr on February 17, 2010 - 2:46 pm

    As is often said in another game I play: Adapt or Die. Kudos for moving the f*ck on, Amber.

  5. #5 by Ambrosine on February 17, 2010 - 2:55 pm

    Feist – Ah, bite me. :P

  6. #6 by Rhidach on February 17, 2010 - 3:03 pm

    Very well put!

  7. #7 by puggingpally on February 17, 2010 - 3:32 pm

    Eat a fucking muffin is going to make me spontaneously laugh all day now that you reminded me of it.

    And the actual post is good stuff, too. It sounds like a good place to be.

  8. #8 by Pixelated Executioner on February 17, 2010 - 4:48 pm

    Amen, Amber. :)

    *brings box of muffins*

  9. #9 by Christian on February 17, 2010 - 6:17 pm

    Very, very true statements and post in general. I also find this does not only go for WOW and guilds, but very often for life in general be it friendships, your job or your relationship.

    Just wish that muffins could fix it in all cases.

  10. #10 by Voink on February 17, 2010 - 6:44 pm

    Yes to the power of N.

    My guild’s going through a similiar transformation – the same thing we’ve always dealt with, but differently. You don’t like it? Sorry, things aren’t the way they used to be. Get with the times or get out of my way.

  11. #11 by Forreststump on February 17, 2010 - 7:23 pm

    “But you cannot ever expect them to be the same.”

    I had visions of Stephen King’s Pet Sematary when I read that. /shiver

  12. #12 by protopet-windrunner on February 18, 2010 - 9:37 am

    first time on the site and run into this post. this post reminded me so much of my first guild. with the exception that the guild hasn’t reached the point where the gm transfers ownership and it gets revived. i still run with that same old group of folks every now and then for the nostalgia.

  13. #13 by Barbi on February 19, 2010 - 2:03 pm

    So true… in wow, and life. I, personally, am excited to be along for the ride with BoO and am looking forward to getting more involved (once I’m back from my vacation randomness) and getting to know everyone in guild. So far, it has been a ton of fun and I’m looking forward to more of the same!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

