Musings on Disc Raid Healing

We have a couple of solid holy paladins, so unless we’re on a 3 tank fight, I’ve been spending a lot of time raid bubbling.  I actually enjoy this, quite a bit, and it’s not something we can actually be well suited for.

How so?  Well, it does require being alert and familiar with fights, but you’re essentially a “fire fighter”.  Tank healer spiked on Marrowgar?  I take over until they’re free.  Someone important Marked on Saurfang? I focus on them.  Good knowledge of the fight plus a mod like DBM will usually tell you when and where there’s someone who might need help.

In general, though, I keep a careful eye on my raid frames.  I watch for red aggro outlines where they shouldn’t be.  For the dogs, I make sure the bubble and penance the current tank after decimate.  I watch for unfortuante or reckless DPS who have gotten themselves almost killed-a  penance has saved more people than I can count.  I pick my favorite caster and giving them Power Infusion every time it’s up.  I save Pain Suppression for those “oh no” tanking moments.  Typically I throw this on Zoja just as he pops Shield Wall, causing him to complain about the waste of cooldowns.  What can I say, we’ve honed similar instincts over the years together. 

You definitely need to function as a single target healer assisting the raid, isntead of trying to be a half assed holy priest.  PoH is barely a blip on my recount.  Lots of bubbles, lots of flashes.

All in all, I enjoy raid healing as a disc priest because it I have to be constantly on my toes!

, , ,

  1. #1 by krizzlybear on March 3, 2010 - 11:34 am

    Don’t forget bubbles on the incanter’s absorption mages! They love them bubbles, at least for now, until they get nerfed to hell in 3.3.3. *points and laughs at arcane mages*

  2. #2 by Kestrel on March 3, 2010 - 11:46 am

    ICC was custom-built for Disc Priests, I’m convinced. Unfortunately, our awesome DPriest left for greener pastures. I’m tempted to change specs, but I did Disc for a little bit, and the Holy habits are too ingrained.

    Saurfang’s Mark though, is easily countered with focused PoM. I use Power Auras to tell me when it’s available, I have one of the Marked targets as my focus, and every 7 seconds they get a fresh frisbee + renew. Life is good for them.

  3. #3 by BobTurkey on March 3, 2010 - 3:41 pm

    Me too. Some complain but I like doing things like absorbing large chunks of green ooze explosions. I also love that most of my casts are instants and I can run around like a mad thing with little loss of effectiveness.

    Much better than being pigeon-holed as a tank healer IMHO.

    Gobble gobble.

  4. #4 by Forreststump on March 3, 2010 - 6:49 pm

    Not a single profanity. You’re slipping.

  5. #5 by Novalix on March 11, 2010 - 12:14 pm

    I’m curious what you think of the new Priest t10 4 piece bonus. Could you write a quick little blog on that please?

    Thanks.

  1. hard disc dvd recorders | Code Free Region

Leave a Reply

