Random Cata Musings

I’m not musing over game mechanics or any of those changes.  I’ll become interested in those once, you know, Cata is closer and it’s more concrete and I feel like getting all wound up about something.  No, I’m pondering two things and two things only:

1) Who will be my main THIS expansion?  Or at least, who will start off as my main?

2) How will they follow pattern and at some point get me playing my holy paladin AGAIN?

Let’s recap. 

Vanilla: Holy paladin
BC: BM hunter!  Which then turned into…BM hunter and holy pally raiding about the same amount in different guilds!  Which then turned into only the pally, but prot!  But then we had too many tanks so holy pally again!
Wrath: Holy pally!  Which turn turned into…disc priest! 

So far I am avoiding the Holy Paladin Trap, but I’m sure it will be sprung upon me anew at some point.  IT ALWAYS IS.

I actually have no idea who I’ll level first (default main indicator) in Cata.  It depends on several factors, including who quits the game at that point and what the guild is left with.  I love my hunter and my priest equally–this may or may not be the case when Cata changes come around.  Tankadin is also not entirely off the table.

Choices, choices…

How many of you plan on using the expansion to shake up mains?  Or are you like Cranky Tank, playing the same class and spec since the dawn of time?

Tomorrow:  Twilight Sparkle Party strat!  Or well, that’s the plan, anyway.

,

  1. #1 by Ori on April 6, 2010 - 10:55 am

    If we end up with more holy paladins I might have to shank someone. Or switch mains myself.

  2. #2 by Khraden on April 6, 2010 - 11:03 am

    I’ve always had the same main, probably cause I’m too lazy to level the professions on another, but so far:

    Vanilla: Pally Tard (never picked a true spec)
    BC: Holy Pally
    Wrath: Holy Pally
    Late-Wrath: Holy Pally and Prot Pally (same character)

    I’m guessing Cataclysm will be: Holy Pally.

    I do plan on getting at least my DK to 80, and maybe my shaman, just ot have something different to use in the expansion. I’m interested in any of the Shaman lore that may come out in the expansion anyway, so might as well have one to use.

  3. #3 by Kae on April 6, 2010 - 11:09 am

    Twilight… sparkle… party… /flees

  4. #4 by Psynister on April 6, 2010 - 11:12 am

    Pfft, I don’t need an excuse to change up my main, I just need an open character slot on a given server.

    I have a feeling though that my main in Cat will end up being either a Druid (Bear/Tree or Bear/Boom), Warlock (Affliction/Destro), Shaman (Enhance/Elemental), or maybe they will finally get around to making Paladins interesting to tank with and requiring me to do more than tie a macro to my mouse wheel that I just spin until someone in vent tells me I’m Consecrating corpses for the fifth time. “Dude, are you there?” “Huh? Oh yeah, sorry, was watching that Ninja Raiders vid on YouTube again. Ready for the next pull then?”

  5. #5 by Kaelandros on April 6, 2010 - 11:17 am

    I’m with Cranky Tank on this one.

  6. #6 by Rhidach on April 6, 2010 - 11:26 am

    I’m going to stick with my pally but for Cataclysm, but for the first time I’m going to have a second max-level character as soon as possible and try to keep it equally geared so I have “options”.

  7. #7 by Xlark on April 6, 2010 - 11:38 am

    While I cheat on my pally tank with the lock, mages (yes, strangley I have two at 80) and priest 80s (and level alts like a mad woman!) I always come back to the pally and she is the one that gets all the goodies from rep and holidays. No doubt in my mind she will be the first to be leveled, geared, and raided on.

    I’m more concerned, honestly, about what my guildies are going to do and how I’m going to keep the raid team balanced. If I hear one more healer talking about going DPS….

  8. #8 by Ratshag on April 6, 2010 - 11:47 am

    The significant other done told me who the team’s (initial) main is gonna be. Is makes the decisionfying easier.

  9. #9 by Joe Ego on April 6, 2010 - 12:00 pm

    In the beginning I made a paladin. Holy he was. And, lo, until the darkening of the skies and sundering of the world the paladin will remain and Holy he shall stay.

  10. #10 by dorgol on April 6, 2010 - 12:09 pm

    In Classic WoW I was a Warlock with a Warrior alt.
    In TBC I switched to the Holy Paladin with a Warlock, Warrior, and Mage alt.
    In WotLK I started as a Holy Paladin with a Druid alt.
    Then a Holy Paladin with a Warlock, Mage, Warrior, and Druid alt.
    Then a PROT Paladin.
    Now I’m a [Insert Spec] Paladin, with a tanking DK, tanking Warrior, Warlock, Mage, and [insert spec] Druid.

    I fully expect my Paladin to take center stage again in Cataclysm. The only reason my interest in the class has waned is because I’m not raiding due to my laptop being “not prepared” for ICC.

  11. #11 by Robbie on April 6, 2010 - 12:10 pm

    I will be leveling my main, my priest first. As shadow. However, once I hit 85, I fully intend to switch shadow to a temporary offspec and go Holy for raiding/heroics/gearing, etc. That’s how it worked in Wrath.

    After that, I’m thinking my Worgen Druid, then my Dwarf Shammy, then my DK. Yup.

  12. #12 by Stop on April 6, 2010 - 12:10 pm

    If I get him to 80 before Cata, I’m giving serious thought to leveling my elemental shaman first. I like the pew pew. Problem is, unless we do some srs tank recruiting (I mean really, I’m 1/3 of the active tanks), that leaves my guild in the lurch.

  13. #13 by Nzete on April 6, 2010 - 12:37 pm

    Hubby and I have lots of 80s. It isn’t only a question of main characters but also which alts to level next, making sure each leveling pair has one tank or healer to be able to get into dungeons while leveling, making sure that we don’t level a pair that has a gathering profession in common, and making sure that we have the proper professions leveled to suppor the level 85 mains (probably need alchemy, herbalism, tailoring [warlock/priest mains], enchanting, jewelcrafting, mining, and maybe inscription).

  14. #14 by Nymphe on April 6, 2010 - 12:48 pm

    I dont know that I even have a main right now as it is! I raid with guild on my ret pally (sometimes my disc priest depending on the situation ), pug with my husbands guild if they need someone for 10s on my mage and occasionally my dk or rogue, my poor warlock stands in org and looks pretty doing transmutes.. ( I like mah alts ) more than likely my mage will get powered to 85 right away… she was my first, I raided through some of SSC and BT with her in BC, and I always go back to her. But the pally will be a close second… very very close second.

  15. #15 by evisceratespam on April 6, 2010 - 12:48 pm

    Rogue, Combat, FOREVAH

    His race might change though….we’ll have to see how the human racials turn out

  16. #16 by Krikket on April 6, 2010 - 1:11 pm

    I really want to say I won’t change my main no matter what.

    But damn, I’m sick of being the red-headed stepchild spec, y’know?

    Hopefully, I’ll have choices when the expac actually drops, but my WoW-apathy has led to not so much leveling lately. I’m trying not to worry about it too much. :P

  17. #17 by shadowtycho on April 6, 2010 - 1:21 pm

    I <3 my warrior soooooooo much.
    i tried leving a paladin and got bored,( it wanst suffecently distinct froma arms warrior before level 40)
    i tried leveling a rogue(i have a 80 fury warror… duelweiledin two tiny weapons is just lesser)
    i ve tried DK,(i /have/ a arms warrior)
    and it looks liek they are going to try very hard to make rage matter so… ill stick with my warrior.

  18. #18 by Armagon on April 6, 2010 - 2:14 pm

    Vanilla: Only Rogue (Assassination)
    TBC: Rogue (Combat), alts: Feral/Resto Druid, Prot Warr
    Wrath: Rogue(Muti+Combat), Prot Warr, Resto Shaman
    Cata: mhm, Rogue probably, with Tank/Healer alt again – works out nicely

  19. #19 by Adlib on April 6, 2010 - 3:56 pm

    Hmmm, good question! I’ve been a human mage since forever ago. I’m not sure if I’ll raid in Cata or not. I’ve currently just been messing around with alts lately. If I do pick a “main” though, it might be my dps DK. I have a druid too, but healing scares me, and tank spots are scarce so I’ll stick with what I know — dps. :) It’s still a weird feeling being melee.

  20. #20 by Jake on April 6, 2010 - 4:39 pm

    vanilla: BM hunter then SV hunter (my guild hated me for it too :D)
    BC: BM hunter, Enh sham, ret pally and i started leveling a “lol smite” priest, disc/holy damage ftw!(i seem to like the odd specs)
    wrath: started all over still haven’t raided but i did make a new ret pally and prot warrior(among others).

  21. #21 by Mike on April 6, 2010 - 4:48 pm

    I started playing in BC.
    BC- Hunter/Holy Priest
    Wrath-
    Naxx: Holy Pally
    Ulduar: Holy Pally
    TOC: Holy Pally/ time off
    ICC: Ret Pally/ Enh Shaman
    Cata- ?? I’m thinking Resto or Elemental Shaman as my main.

  22. #22 by Gryphonheart on April 6, 2010 - 5:23 pm

    “So far I am avoiding the Holy Paladin Trap…”

    You cannot resist awesome of that magnitude! Go with the Holy Paladin main! >=)

  23. #23 by ttamyarrum on April 6, 2010 - 5:57 pm

    Vanilla – Nope
    BC – Combat Rogue
    Wrath – Combat Rogue
    Cata – Combat Rogue

    yeah homeboy will always be my main. First Character and wikkid badass. I have made a few copies of him across a number o realms

  24. #24 by ledenblog on April 7, 2010 - 1:05 am

    ‘Tis Math.

    And Math is Math is my main is my main. Was my main in BC, and on through Wrath, only class I first loved enough to level to 70. Shake up main classes? Only if being Focus-based REALLY REALLY SUCKS.

  25. #25 by Rake on April 7, 2010 - 2:04 am

    Vanilla: Mage
    BC: Mage
    Wrath: Mage with holy/ret pally, leveling rogue (71) and babyLock (43)
    Cata: Mage. Then Pally (she’s ret/prot now), after that…. No idea

    Mage has always been first. Pally was a mercenary decision because I couldn’t get my sorry Magey arse into a guild that was raiding high end content. DPS were a dime a dozen. So I raided on the pally to see end game until I found a guild (<3 Inertia) that followed the "bring the player not the class" adage and made room for my Mage :)

    So Mage will be first I think.

  26. #26 by Demeternoth on April 7, 2010 - 7:04 am

    My DK will be levelled first and will see the action more than any other char. Then it’ll depend on whose sitting at 80 by the time we get there, currently I’ve got a 65 Warrior, 40 Priest and a myriad of lowbies. I’ll probably be sticking a Worgen and goblin in there too just to see the new zones …

  27. #27 by Souci on April 7, 2010 - 7:16 am

    boomchicken till the end =)

    not only do i totally love playing my druid, but i totally fail at raising alts. i mean, really, the day my lock ever gets around to turning 73, i’ll have to go buy a cake.

  28. #28 by Forreststump on April 7, 2010 - 11:53 am

    Vanilla: Holy Paladin
    BC: Holy Paladin
    Wrath: Ret Paladin in Naxx, Holy in Ulduar…

    …and then I found my total appreciation for my druid, primarily resto, but sometimes bearing fur or feathers.

    And that is who will make the climb first…

  29. #29 by tytalus on April 7, 2010 - 2:46 pm

    My first character was a nelf hunter, though I logged an awful lot of time on my undead warrior once my original set of alliance friends quit the game. I had always wanted to play a death knight though, and my venerable warrior was retired in WotLK.

    I am planning to keep playing the DK, but also returning to my roots with a new worgen hunter — since the nelf is marooned on some other server, I forget where. I could move her back to where I play now, but there’s also the lure of playing a worgen. I could maybe try a worgenlock, but something about a werewolf in a dress strikes me as wrong.

  30. #30 by Vulpina on April 7, 2010 - 2:57 pm

    Vanilla – didn’t play
    BC – Assassy Rogue
    LK – Assassy Rogue / Shadow priest
    Cata – Assassy Rogue … then Shadow priest later.

    DPSin’ is in me blood.

  31. #31 by Balerion on April 15, 2010 - 5:09 am

    Too early for me to make any real decision since they’re still pretty vague on what the talent trees will look like. I was:

    Vanilla: Resto Druid
    TBC: Resto Druid/Pally Tank
    Wrath: Survival Hunter/Pally Tank

    I’m very leery of the Hunter changes. Changing mana to focus for Hunters could open up a lot of dps opportunity through itemization (no int = more good stuff). However, anything this major of a change could bork the class and cause months of fine tuning (a wise man says “Time is money, friend” and by that, he meant no wasting time playing a broken class). I dig playing a Hunter now, and major changes to playstyle could be good or bad. I want to play the Hunter but…

    I’m having fun right now Paladin tanking and tanking is pretty satisfying (10 years ago, if I ever thought I’d say a game was “satisfying” I would have put any opprotunity to get laid out to pasture). The changes seem interesting without being overly risky to the core mechanics of the class.

    It all hinges on the overall changes to the game they’re talking about… healing is going to be “more interesting”, dps roles will be more “straightforward”, and tanking will be less about threat management and more about… something mysterious and fun! We’ll see how things pan out… likely, I’ll be dancing naked on top of a mailbox and giggling IRL.

  1. rift private server

Leave a Reply

