Wait, what kind of healer am I again?

I have always considered myself, first and foremost, a tank healer.  I’ve been a little slow to catch on to the prevelance of “raid bubblers” lately, and I must admit it bemuses me.

Oh, I raid bubble.  I raid bubble because I work with a holy paladin, and it’s easier for me to raid heal than the paladin…but I consider that something else I can do, rather like a druid can tank heal.  I don’t gear for it.  I don’t gem for it.  If you told me I was never to heal a tank again I’d shank you in the face.  It seems like the tank healing disc priest is becoming the more rare of the two, however.

I blame fights like LK.   If you feel that you “need” bubbles on the raid, and you only have 1 disc priest (and really, who has multiple disc priests?  We never have regular ones that attend all the time for very long), you’re not going to have them on your tank.  Chances are, this means you found a holy paladin and they’re almost always on your tank.

I appreciate being useful…but I’d rather not be SO useful in certain situations that they yank me away from what I consider my main job.  Hi, Blizz?  I’m a tank healer, remember?  Not a raid mitigatior who sometimes throws Pain Suppression on the tank.

Here’s a strange concept:  give paladins some more raid healing toys to play with so I can make them the raid bitch sometimes!   Gasp!

, ,

  1. #1 by Rilgon Arcsinh on May 25, 2010 - 11:59 am

    Hi, Blizz? I’m a tank healer, remember?

    No, they killed that when they slashed Flash Heal’s throughput and gutted Penance because of Arenatards.

    The purpose of a Discipline Priest in modern 10- and 25-man raiding is mitigation and preventative “healing”. Having your raid blanketed in 10k PW:Ses with supplemental Aegises (and Val’anyr bubbles if you’re lucky enough to have one) is a huge load off the backs of your other raid healers. It’s like giving every raid member another 10,000 HP, and bubbles never overheal.

  2. #2 by Khraden on May 25, 2010 - 12:09 pm

    I am actually some kind of freak paladin, who actually likes to “try” and raid heal (http://wp.me/pQG8u-37), I do agree though, Blizzard has seemed to try and force a niche for Disc Priests. Same with Paladins, and their current position as tank healers. Sure Cataclysm will have the spastic pally running around with Healing Hands, but it will only help so much when it comes to raid healing. (http://paladinillumination.files.wordpress.com/2010/04/hoh_pr.gif)

    I personally miss being able to use Sacred Shield on multiple targets, made me feel useful, and if it was still implemented would have taken some of that burden off of Disc Priests, and allowed more raids to “bring the player, not the class”. But we can’t force that to happen again, though we can wish.

  3. #3 by Myssidia on May 25, 2010 - 1:27 pm

    Hey! =O I consider myself both specs. I believe I can do either equally as well and am willing todo either whenever it is needed. Not my fault you, ori, and Aman have the tank buisness covered=]

  4. #4 by Aloix on May 25, 2010 - 2:55 pm

    Yeah, my understanding is that *currently*, disco priests are, in 10 man content, a bit ‘jack of all’, but in 25 mans, definitely raid bubblers. Thing I’ve noticed is that some raid leaders don’t get this yet, and well I wonder if not all disc priests do either.

  5. #5 by Krikket on May 25, 2010 - 2:57 pm

    Ok, so, last week sometime? We did a ToC 10, right? I’m on my Holy Paladin & we’re 2 healing it. Until the holy priest goes down.

    That’s right. I solo-healed Faction Champs. Who the hell says that holy pally cannot be for raid heals???

    I really believe that ANY healer in ANY healing spec can do any job. The only hard part is challenging the pre-conceived notions of the raid leaders (see also, the resto shaman solo-healing Dreamwalker while the holy paladin healed the raid).

  6. #6 by Nzete on May 25, 2010 - 4:40 pm

    Ten man content is definately more interesting than 25 right now. Raid with 25 = bubblebot. Raid with 10 might be chaotic but I use all my spells including gheal on the tank. Green dragon 10 hard… I was the one that got left out to heal both tanks and the raid with the tree and the holy pally took the portal. (With mp5 food, chained innervates from said tree, and both hymns from the shadow priest)… that was an awesome fight. Killing Lich King 25… was yes! he’s dead… so I don’t have to repeat the 1,1…1 infest, over and over.

  7. #7 by Ori on May 25, 2010 - 5:21 pm

    @Krikket I’d never say that holy paladins CAN’T raid heal, only that it makes me want to tear my hair out more than raid healing on a different class does. Every class can be flexible, but they do have certain strengths.

  8. #8 by domni on May 25, 2010 - 6:05 pm

    When I’m healing my tank, I feel focused, I feel powerful, and I feel like every spell is working the way it’s supposed to.

    When I’m shielding the raid, I feel sloppy and overstretched. I’m shielding the raid, having to cover the tanks because the holy paladin is undergeared, dispelling the raid because I’m the only one that can, and wondering why the hell I took four different talents as disc that I’ll never get to use.

    I’ll be flexible and do what the raid needs, but I know that I’m stronger on a tank. Raid healers can suck it up and do without shields on every player. They shouldn’t need it.

  9. #9 by Renault on May 25, 2010 - 9:21 pm

    Shank me in the face? ….you sure you’re not a rogue? ;)

    I always liked covering both tank and raid with bacon hax, I did that the other week when we 2 tanked Blood prince 10. Very fun, but I needed an innervate. Don’t feel too bad bout Blizzard trying to pull you outta the tank niche. Looks like they’re prying pallys out of that niche in Cata too. I’ll be hiding on my rogue. :P

  10. #10 by Xeppe on May 25, 2010 - 9:40 pm

    I love the variety of being a bubbler in 25s and tank heals on 10s, but limited WoW hours (due to having significant rl commitments) means that I only have had time to put together one really good gear set — and every gear and gem choice is fraught. Then I complicate that by having a Holy offspec that gets used for raid heals whenever the class makeup on the night demands it.
    For bubbling, all slots are red slots, and more haste will do me no good at all (the game won’t let me shield any faster), but if I don’t keep it around 650 my Holy AOEs seem to suffer. Spirit is not really a Discy’s main priority, but I need more of it in Holy. There’s an argument that says the guild main game is 25s and I should gear/gem for that. And another that says since we run 6-8 heals in 25s and often only 2 in 10s, that it’s more important to support my 10s roles, where it will matter more.
    Need more frosties . . .

  11. #11 by HoHo on May 26, 2010 - 4:26 am

    Can disc actually compete in high-end raiding as tank healer with any other healer? It takes me ages to top off a tank after 40k hit while paladin can do it in 2-3 spellcasts.

    As for who raids with >1 discs, for a while our 25-man Ulduar ran with pala, druid and 3 discs. Things like XT hardmode, council and firefighter were never that easy :)

  12. #12 by Rilgon Arcsinh on May 26, 2010 - 7:11 am

    Can disc actually compete in high-end raiding as tank healer with any other healer?

    Nope. This is why they do something that no other healer can – provide extremely high, zero-overheal throughput that provides not so much direct healing as it does temporarily increase the target’s HP pool.

    Disc Priests who whine about or shirk this duty exasperate me.

  13. #13 by wantedpriest on May 26, 2010 - 9:59 am

    I respectfully disagree with Rilgon. Disc Priests can compete in high-end raiding as a tank healer, they just can’t do it with your typical high spellpower/high crit build.

    http://wantedpriest.wordpress.com/2010/01/23/can-disc-priests-compete-as-tank-healers-in-progression-content/

    Vess

  14. #14 by shadowtycho on May 26, 2010 - 6:50 pm

    IMHO as a tank i prefer the combination offered by having a disc priest in charge of my health and a beacon from a holy pally in charge of melee. the bubble gives me more EH(which is tasty) and since the first hit is eatin by prist bubble the second one hits the pally bubble(hopefully) allowing for more up time of that wonder full not-actually-hurting-me-but-getting-healed stuff. also it means that those holy light splashes land where they can do good.

    this means that both healers get to help with the raid a bit( the healadin shouldn’t stop casting no matter what and the discprist is hitting in there with their delicious fast heals that leave a bubble).
    it also means that the disc prist has to get used to the rythm the pally is casting at and snipe inside that, but i’ve seen it done very well and it leads to happy melee and me at full health through some crazy damage.

    and why would you bring just one disc prist too a 25 man. bubbles are tasty!

  15. #15 by Joe Ego on May 27, 2010 - 10:16 am

    “There’s an argument that says the guild main game is 25s and I should gear/gem for that. And another that says since we run 6-8 heals in 25s and often only 2 in 10s, that it’s more important to support my 10s roles, where it will matter more.”

    I’d suggest gearing to the tougher content, which could be your 10s. We run 4 healers through the first half of ICC 25, so if you’re running up to 8 on normal modes you can probably get away with quite a bit when it comes to suboptimal gearing.

  16. #16 by Heather Knight on June 9, 2010 - 9:44 am

    The problem with trying to compete as a tank healer when you’re Disc is that once everything is on CD, all you have is Flash Heal.

    And while it can be very, very good if you’re lucky, tank healing on sheer luck tends to suck horribly. (It also tends to give your tanks grey hairs, and make them hate you.)

    Disc Priests are fine for healing 10 mans, but once you hit 25 mans – especially on some of the later bosses where there are multiple tanks being walloped at the same time, or where the boss is putting out progressively more and more damage (see Marrowgar, Festergut’s Inhales, Putricide in P3, Blood Queen, Blood Princes, Lich King), Disc falls behind when it comes to tank healing. This becomes even more pronounced when you get into Hard Mode content, where one of the major ways they make the content “harder” is to hit the tanks harder (40k+ hits on a regular basis on Heroic Lich King, there is no way that a Disc Priest can keep up with that).

    Disc Priests who insist on remaining tank healers when it’s simply not ideal for them to do so (and when there are better options – see Holy Pallies) frustrate me. I hate Bubble Spam as much as anyone else – I find it mind-numbingly boring. But I’m more concerned with keeping the tank alive than with my own need to be The Tank Healer.

    My current hope is that Blizz will actually fix the spec in Cata. They keep saying they will (and then nerfed Penance, tee hee!), so I’m trying to hold out hope. I miss tank healing. Hell, I was more effective tank healing as a Holy Priest in BC than I am as Disc at the moment.

Leave a Reply

