Anything You Say Can And Will Be Used Against You

My Angry Healer was starting to show a bit, here, but…really?  I’ll rez you for just about any reason other than “I’m lazy”.  Also, Popaskwat?  Seriously?  “Bra” is merely the final offense here.

How did “bro” evolve into “bra/brah” anyway?  /headtilt

There I am, minding my own busines, picking flowers to level my herbalism, when I find some…silver…in the sungrass?  Watch those holes in your pockets!

, ,

  1. #1 by Stop on August 17, 2010 - 9:23 am

    First time I heard “bro” as “brah” was actually in 1994, when Weezer used it in one of the spoken parts of “Undone (The Sweater Song)” – it’s kind of grown since then, I s’pose.

  2. #2 by Pindleskin on August 17, 2010 - 9:38 am

    In South Africa, “my bra/h” is almost exclusively used for bro, and has nothing to do with underwear.

  3. #3 by Kaylex on August 17, 2010 - 9:41 am

    Yeah.. in RFK on my lowbie shaman, my group booted a priest who, after a wipe, said. “I’m going afk to get a drink, rez me when you get here. kkthx”.

    angry.healer.

  4. #4 by battlechicken on August 17, 2010 - 11:16 am

    Awwww. I don’t get silver when I herb. Sungrass likes you better.

  5. #5 by Calbry on August 17, 2010 - 11:17 am

    Hear where you’re coming from. Jerks are jerks, and stupid language only makes them worse.

    But on the use of bra(h), don’t forget you’re playing with people from all over.

    Brah or bra, is Hawaiian pidgen for “brother.” Ditto bruddah.
    As in “Geev’em, brah!” (Go for it, bro!)

    Brah has spread quite a bit in the US via the surfers -> skaters -> wannabe cool types :)

    Ditto “mate.” On my US East Coast server, I see a lot more of that really late at night as the Aussie and Kiwi contingents start logging in.

    Kind of cool actually…

  6. #6 by Nont on August 17, 2010 - 9:21 pm

    bra/h probably comes from bro and various accents across the world. South African and New Zealand come to mind.

    also, i’m loving your blog always get a good laugh out of me.

  7. #7 by tytalus on August 19, 2010 - 2:58 pm

    ABCNews.com: Report: CIA Used Power Drills, Guns, Threats Against Children

    I wonder how this was possibly related to your post? Well, I can imagine. :)

    As for lazy bums like in the first SS I don’t even pay attention to them anymore unless it’s the tank. Most random dungeons I run these days don’t really take 5 people, except for the new heroics perhaps. Blizzard’s wheel of pain usually puts me in H-HoR at least once a week.

  8. #8 by Chirri on August 21, 2010 - 1:56 am

    I was herbing in Feralas a while back and got the jingle sound and system text informing me I’d gotten some … coins. I hadn’t associated it with the herb node because there wasn’t a coin icon in the loot window. But now it all makes sense. We’re finding herbs that were, at one point, at the end of the rainbow. The leprechauns left with their pots of gold, but left some silver behind by accident!

    (I submitted a ticket about it, since at the time there’d been some guy running around killing stuff and I got it in my head that it had made him share his loot with a complete stranger of the opposite faction…) It might, in fact, have been a Sungrass node. I dunno. It was near the ogres in the south end of the zone. Definitely made an impression on me.

Leave a Reply

