Random Disc Priest Notes on Hard Modes

We’ve only just started to poke hard modes, so writing “guides” is a bit beyond me right now, but you might enjoy/make use of some of my random thoughts and comments on them:

Heroic Blood Queen Bella
Divine Hymn + Boltbolt Whirl = LOL (especially if bound to Inner Focus, which mine always is)

“What the hell do you mean I’m OOM?  FUCK.”

Heroic Rotface
A gift of a bubble with every cleanse works wonders!

“Okay, so I just bring the little slime over to the b–OW.”

Heroic Lootship
Note to self: Do NOT run around the melee casting holy nova on heroic.  Cleave STINGS to the point where it MIGHT actually result in your death now.

Heroic Marrowgar
“Oh hey, this is actually mildly interesting now.”

, , , ,

  1. #1 by KajinChunsaKira on August 26, 2010 - 11:11 am

    Hahahaha funny thoughts, I like this. And very cool site. Love the banner, btw. Mmm Draenei women = winZorZ every time! xD

  2. #2 by Kae on August 26, 2010 - 1:47 pm

    If there’s a cleave out there, I will find it. MELEE HEALER, GO!

  3. #3 by Nzete on August 26, 2010 - 6:53 pm

    H Saurfang… count the number of H Pallies… if less than 2, set to normal.

  4. #4 by Achloryn on August 26, 2010 - 8:16 pm

    You forgot H-LDW! “Wait…. this is different? Oh look.. a giant hun-OH GOD WHY IS MY GUILDIE SHOOTING ME!?”

  5. #5 by Amy on August 27, 2010 - 6:27 am

    Heroic Blood Prince Council: I think our raiders have hit their enrage timer-set to normal.

  6. #6 by Ambrosine on August 27, 2010 - 8:56 am

    @Achloryn – “AMBER YOU KILLED ME WITH PENANCE.” “…I’M SORRY I WAS TRYING TO HEAL YOU. MC DOES NOT SHOW UP ON MY GRID.”

  7. #7 by Velendrood on August 27, 2010 - 9:53 am

    I do not like H LDW at all! Between people not running from the mean spirits and getting jumped by MCed rogues…. I am so done with this fight. IMO H Putricide is a cakewalk compared with H Deathwhisper

  8. #8 by Arybeth on August 27, 2010 - 1:19 pm

    ahaha

    You killed me with penance was awesome.

  9. #9 by protopethunter on August 27, 2010 - 3:13 pm

    awesome article. Im definitely going to keep some of these in mind, but for my guild this will probably fall under the category of mysterious disc priest BS. ( at this point my heal assignment on every fight is “do whatever it is you do”)

  10. #10 by Golle on August 27, 2010 - 6:44 pm

    @Velendrood:
    H LDW is an awesome fight because you’re just as uncomfortable all through the fight. I do the fight on 25 HM every week and every time there is just 1 or 2 things to many things to pay attention to.

    Because there is too much to pay attention you really get into this very uncomfortable state where you really don’t have any time to breath until it’s dead. Phase 2 can be, omg, so deadly and overwhelming.

    It is because of this we have hate the fight, and I just realized I love it. Instead of it being like Putri HM, autp-pilot through P1 and 2 and wake up to get some pulse going in P3. H LDW is constantly tipping on your toes and exploding your mind with decision making.

  11. #11 by Lique on August 30, 2010 - 10:15 am

    I don’t find H LDW that hard. Druid either cyclones the MC person or a priest fears it. Or both. Or a warlock. The ghosts are still a problem, but biggest difference is if someone is interrupting frostbolts.

    H Saur by disc priest + resto shaman 2-healed. We killed it.

    Why does Divine Hymn + Inner Focus = OOM? (I haven’t done Blood Queen on heroic much yet.

  12. #12 by TheGrumpyElf on September 3, 2010 - 10:42 am

    My Priest is just starting ICC now so no heroics for me yet and I doubt there will be anytime in the near future being I am still only 4700 gear score. A long road ahead.

    However, I do appreciate the tips. I’ll have to remember them if and when the time comes. I did the holy nova thing on gunship yesterday and never even considered the cleave thing.

    I am a new healer so all I care about is making sure everyone is full and bubbled. I seem to have forget everything else about the fights when I heal. I just heal.

  13. #13 by Aaron on October 5, 2010 - 5:46 pm

    I know this is some kind of heresy among Disc priests, but I put together a regen set for fights like BQL hardmode (any items with MP5 I could find, gem +20 Int or 12 SP 10 int in any yellow or orange slot). When I’m all procced up I have over 1600 OOFSR regen. I sit around 3500 SP and 40% crit in this set as well, so I don’t feel like I’m sacrificing anything. Besides, if you’re always casting (ALWAYS BE CASTING), throughput doesn’t really suffer.

Leave a Reply

