CC: Thoughts, and Remembrances

CC: To “require” it, or not?

On one hand, you have people bitching about how not requiring CC in instances these days makes things 1) too easy on the DPS and 2) too hard on non-AoE tanks.

On the other hand, you have memories (if you’re me, anyway) of trying to do Shattered Halls with a warrior tank, a paladin healer, 2 warlocks and a rogue.  Have you ever tried to only use a rogue and warlocks as CC?  No?  Let me tell you it’s exciting!  You pull back and try to fear safely, but more adds pull anyway, and you wipe…

…the sap breaks early, and you wipe…

…the rogue forgets to stealth, pulls the mobs, dies and gets made fun of…

…the seduce breaks early and the sucubus gets nommed…

…and you have no choice becuase that’s all you have in your guild and there’s NO ONE in LFG and, ugh.

I’m not sure how there’d be middle ground unless EVERY DPS had a (reliable) form of CC?

How would needing CC again work with LFD, anyway?  Do you have DPS, and DPS w/CC as new selections?  Would the warlock tricks even count?  What about rogue sap?  If you ended up with 2 rogues as your CC, that still wouldn’t be…great. 

You know what?  I STILL hate Shattered Halls.

, ,

  1. #1 by Mishaweha on September 22, 2010 - 2:49 pm

    And shaman, with their 45 second cd Hex for 30 seconds of CC that only works on… humanoids and beasts, will totally rock if CC is required.

    Just saying.

    Though yes, that group comp. would suck horribly for Shattered Halls. I remember we’d always make sure to grab our super awesome pally tank for that.

  2. #2 by Shayzani on September 22, 2010 - 4:10 pm

    I lol’ed at Shattered Halls because I was a pally in T6 tank gear. CC what?

  3. #3 by Katherine on September 22, 2010 - 4:46 pm

    We’ve taken to CCing in HPoS because I run randoms with a new warr tank. It makes those big pulls so unbelievably easy…

  4. #4 by Poneria on September 22, 2010 - 5:02 pm

    One of the warlock glyphs that I see in the Cataclysm section of Wowhead is making the mob just tremble during Fear rather than running. Of course, it’s a Prime glyph, and it reduces Fear to a small CD, but still, ZOMG.

  5. #5 by Kah on September 23, 2010 - 3:41 am

    Shattered Halls was the best! But I was a pally tank in T6 gear…

  6. #6 by coup on September 23, 2010 - 8:51 am

    my lock rocked at cc in tbc… had suduced macroed and a focus macro for deathcoil in case it broke early. dont forget banish for all those demons. cant wait for cata with all them elementals :)

  7. #7 by tytalus on September 23, 2010 - 11:39 am

    Instances like Shattered Halls are what made me give up on my warrior. I got tired of being the ‘boss tank’. A fine role, but unsuited to, what…90% of the game. Sheesh.

    Nowadays I enjoy rolling through places like that on my DK tank, I just solo it. Screw it. Victory is mine!

  8. #8 by Forreststump on September 23, 2010 - 11:45 am

    @coup: <3 Banish

  9. #9 by MyName on September 23, 2010 - 12:35 pm

    Some of those pulls were fun on my druid tank, at least after the patch that let you use roots in doors! On the other hand, that ability is kind of useless on ranged mobs.

  10. #10 by Chris on September 23, 2010 - 2:22 pm

    I am not a fan of Shattered Halls, either. That was the first instance I was pulled into in BC, and as a healer with an undergeared tank and slow dps, it wasn’t fun. Not at all! Needless to say, we didn’t get far, and it turned me off of dungeons for the rest of BC.

    I will say that its quite therapeutic to go back in there now at 80 as an overgeared Ret Pally and trash the place…

  11. #11 by Nassin on September 23, 2010 - 9:33 pm

    A lot of today’s random PUG fillers can barely play their own class, think blue flames and big black fuzzy circles make great places to stand, and will gladly tell you “omg get over it, so what if im a holy pally in melee dps leather, get over it, its a game nerd.” Expecting them, nay, Requiring them to perform anything as complicated as actually stunning, banishing, or fearing a target is madness and a recipe for Epic Fail. I fear for my repair bills, my blood pressure, and the last remnants of my sanity.

  12. #12 by Asa on September 24, 2010 - 3:30 pm

    hHoR is usually a mess because the add waves can be hard to manage. But I just had the smoothest pug run through there with two rogues who had the whole thing locked down tight. It was beautifully done.

  13. #13 by Nzete on September 25, 2010 - 9:47 am

    I remember being in a social guild in BC – non of us with gear beyond heroics and contemplating a first badge of justice purchase…. warrior tank, warrior dps, warlock (smart), mage (dumb), and healing as a priest (disc because I thought divine spirit was hot stuff – mmm newbiness). I can definately say that those dungeons were more interesting and fun than the aoe spam of Wrath… at least from my viewpoint. I actually enjoying having the first heals on the tank being PoM, binding heal, binding heal for threat considerations. The only times in Wrath when I’ve even thought about threat as a healer are “new adds spawning” and “that one time when the warrior tank (same one as BC) pulled Hodir in Ulduar and missed a couple in a row right off the bat. This warrior still wishes he could have seen the look on my face as I pulled threat and faded.

  14. #14 by Aoladari on September 25, 2010 - 11:58 pm

    Funny thing is the LFD tool won’t put the same classes in a group together unless there isn’t a choice. Most times you end up with a well rounded group and no duplicate classing.

  15. #15 by TheGrumpyElf on September 29, 2010 - 1:47 pm

    I’ve been thinking a lot of CC lately myself and I think it is something we will just have to wait out. Go with guildies on runs and abandon the LFD tool until the first tier or two of raiding is done by most. Then we can go back to the lol heroics because we over gear them. I have no faith in Blizzard to stick by their line that they want to make it so you “have to” use CC.

    I’ve seen the way most of these LFD people handle DPS, which is horrible, so I am not looking forward to counting on them to do CC if they can not even do halfway decent DPS, and that is the easy part.

  16. #16 by Whitebeard on September 29, 2010 - 9:17 pm

    Ah yes, CCs. I have a fond memory of a guild raid into SSC, and there was a point where me, rogue at the time, was asked to go sap one of the annoying nagas that come in packs of “lots”. I get ready, receive encouragement… and run in, forgetting to stealth.

    years later I STILL get laughed at for that one.

Leave a Reply

