Dear Tanks: I’m Sorry

I’ve recently become smitten with my Death Knight (Ambrosine 2.0) as more than just an RP character.  I’ve been leveling her quite a bit of late–she even has cold weather flying, thanks to the extreme generosity of my friends on that server.  She’s gone from level 65 to 71 in the span of a couple of weeks, which is amazing if you consider my normally glacial leveling speed (and lack of BoAs).

I’ve taken her into instances a few times now, and it’s been…highly educational.  I’ve never really melee’d before.  Oh once or twice as ret on Ambrosine 1.0, but never like this–never when I was on equal gear footing with the tank. 

I suddenly understand the plight of DPS warriors.  For lo, now I too am a Floor Tank.  I’ll be eyballing my threat and be hovering safely below the tank…then I’ll crit a few times and/or Killing Machine will proc and BAM!  I haz aggro.

I have no idea what to do, so I usually end up flailing cutely and stop attacking all together.  “GET IT OFF, GET IT OFF.”  This…is strangely ineffective, and it’s not unusual for me to splatter myself on the floor anyway.

So dear tanks: I’m sorry.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Gronthe on October 11, 2010 - 12:08 pm

    I’m used to hitting a Wind Shear on my Shaman or a Fade on my Priest to drop my threat a bit, but on my DK I’m always looking for my threat dump ability and always dismayed when it usually turns up in the form of the red “Release Spirit” button. I too, tanks, am sorry.

  2. #2 by MyName on October 11, 2010 - 4:10 pm

    There is a “threat reducing” button, it’s called Icebound Fortitude and it gives you basically the damage reduction of a tank for several seconds so the real tank can taunt it off before you die. Of course, if you made a Nelf, you can always shadowmeld.

  3. #3 by Kel on October 12, 2010 - 3:45 am

    As the player of an arms warrior, ret pally, destruction ‘lock (5 minute cd on my aggro dump, whattheflip?) and a frost dps death knight, all I can say is: Welcome to the floor-tank club :D

    Also, I just have to say, I <3 your tags. They make me laugh more than the actual posts sometimes. (I mean that in a good way)

Leave a Reply

