Project: New Main – Meet Vainglory

Vainglory
“…a child of the enemy wrapped in flesh…”

My guild suddenly found itself short melee DPS and up to three hunters.  Since I’m still giving focus that long, sideways look of “man, I don’t know if I like you yet” I decided to see if there was a melee class I could adapt to and enjoy.

Ret pally?  I have an 80 pally with a ret offpsec!  Let’s try re…what the fuck is this holy power shit?

Oh god I’m only doing 3k DPS.  I know ret is broken right now but, oh god.

I…I…holy power.  Bwuh.

AND THE SHINY.  THE SHINY EVERYWHERE.

Fuck this noise.

My warrior has like…no DPS gear.  Hmm.  DK? My baby!DK was fun before patch.  Maybe it’s still fun!  

…WEE!  FUN!   …but fuck, this is my RP toon on Earthen Ring.  I can’t transfer her!

TIME TO LEVEL THE AZGALOR DK!

Have I mentioned that I have a new computer and am still spazzing at seeing all the detail that I’ve been missing since…uh…well, since I started playing the game?  THIS IS WHAT NAGRAND ACTUALLY LOOKS LIKE?

NAGRAND HAS GRASS?  LIKE ACTUAL GRASS?  WHAT IS THIS I DON’T EVEN.

…aaaanyway.

Vainglory started off at level 61 as of Sunday, dinged 68 and sailed off to Northrend as of last Monday, and has made her way to 70 (boy that slowed down a lot) as of yesterday.  This is record leveling speed for me!  God I love BoA gear.  I’m going with DW frost because 2handers have always annoyed me with their speed.  The attack animations for DWing are better, too.  >.>

I’m enjoying myself immensely, even when I do the typical melee thing and tank the floor (fuck those mana leech things, man).  I am trying to be a good DPSer and interrupt spells, wrangle errant casters to the tank before they start pelting the healer, and not pull aggro.  Sometimes the latter is really hard, especially when I find out that the guy who queued to tank is really a holy pally.

Yes that really happened.  Yes I screenshotted it.  Yes, you can see it later.

Expect the many misadventures of the frost death knugget…

…and now videos!  Because I have figured out how to make videos now, oh noes!  My fledging effort was a simple boss kill video, but shortly you may have my infamous boss strats IN VIDEO FORM.  FUCK YEAH.

, ,

  1. #1 by Joe Ego on October 25, 2010 - 10:54 am

    Since when were you on BG11? I only forgot to swap my spec & gear once. And I didn’t hear any complaints until I evaporated on the 4th pull in Forge of Souls. At least I remembered Righteous Fury!

  2. #2 by Jacob on October 25, 2010 - 7:58 pm

    NAGRAND HAS GRASS!?!!!!?!!!

    From another player on min settings. :)

  3. #3 by Eva on October 25, 2010 - 10:50 pm

    Omg! The game is so pretty and I’ve never seen it! Ok, when I move back into my own apartment I’m definitely getting a nice desktop.

    I love Vainglory’s name! Now we’ve had two priests switch over to DK. At least I’m Unholy like all the other cool kids.

  4. #4 by tytalus on October 25, 2010 - 11:34 pm

    I remember doing this ‘new main!’ thing a fair bit too, back when I was more into guilds and responsibility. Good luck with the DK project! Even if she is frost. You can use anti-magic shell, that’s like bubbles…sort of. A bit.

  5. #5 by Tam on November 1, 2010 - 11:10 am

    Anglo saxon with an american accent is SO WRONG!!!

Leave a Reply

