Pee Vee Pee

I “grew up” on RP servers.  Jamethera the hunter started her life on Kirin Tor, Ambrosine the paladin hailed from Earthen Ring, and Lyestra the warrior was rolled on Sentinels.  I raided on RP servers for both Vanilla and BC, only moving to a PvP server with friends late in BC.

And y’know, I leveled Lyrandre on Azgalor.  Lyrandre, the priest.  I don’t recall it being that “bad” as far as ganking is concerned. 

But after the past few days chugging through Sholozar on Vainglory, I’ve decided that Sholozar is the new Stranglethorn Vale.  Of course the EASY solution would be to leave Sholozar.  The problem with that is my magical knack for spotting spirit beasts while alting.  I still hold out this slim strand of hope that I will magically tame Loque. 

Instead, Jamethera’s been brought out repeatedly to revenge gank some smuck.  Once or twice I even kill them.

…Cata lauch is going to be…interesting.  For Wrath I hada  built in leveling buddy, Josh.  It limited by gankability by enough to make things tolerable.  This time?

…HELP HELP I NEED AN ADULT.

Vainglory should hit 80 in the next day or so.  \o/

, ,

  1. #1 by Eva on November 9, 2010 - 12:49 pm

    We definitely need a buddy system for Cata leveling in SiB. Although I’m not sure 2 carebears would be much more effective than a solitary one when jumped.

  2. #2 by Krikket on November 9, 2010 - 12:58 pm

    I always feel like I’m gloating when I say this, but DEAR GOD AM I LUCKY. Live-in leveling partner that actually LIKES world PvP and is good at it? It’s like having an EASY button. I hope. Most likely. Maybe.

    (truth be told, I am TERRIFIED of this “leveling on a PvP server” thing)

  3. #3 by Kae on November 9, 2010 - 1:58 pm

    It’s the Nessingwary quests. Brings out the worst killers… they go player-huntin’. I remember leveling my draenei priest through STV on Azgalor back in BC… /gank /gank /gank /gank “Why are 70s hanging out in STV?!”

  4. #4 by Caireann on November 9, 2010 - 2:08 pm

    Oh my… I do admire you and all those people and choose to play on a PvP server. I imagine vast amounts of patience are needed, and the ability to forgive all those gankers that have wasted your time… ;)

    Nah.. never could do that.

    Good luck with levelling, it’ll be a chaos with all those players in new zones.. ;)

  5. #5 by Fawes on November 9, 2010 - 3:25 pm

    I’m actually just puttering around a PvP server with a lowbie, trying to get a feel for it. I leveled all three of my 80’s and various other alts on Draenor, PvE. Now I’m quite bored and I might regret this later, but I wouldn’t mind the extra excitement of having to keep an eye out for Hordies while questing. Only problem is, I will have no main to hop over to… hmm.
    I look forward to reading any noteworthy experiences you have leveling in Cata on a PvP server. :D

  6. #6 by theerivs on November 9, 2010 - 5:21 pm

    Now I know where to hunt. You still haven’t got Loque, add him to kill on sight list. LOL!

  7. #7 by alimonyazgalor on November 9, 2010 - 7:50 pm

    I’ll be your buddy for 100g and carry you to wins.

  8. #8 by Bluetiger on November 10, 2010 - 4:12 am

    I have always been on PvP-servers, not by own choice but because friends are there and my way to handle it is to have alts. Lots of them in various parts of the world, so when I get ganked on one side (STV ohmygosh – I couldn’t level through that zone until I was on my fourth alt, at just the end of BC and I still got ganked every day I was there) I could go to another zone and stay there for a while. Lets just say I have logged in one day and everyone of my levelleing-chars were still dead :/

  9. #9 by Rossanah on November 10, 2010 - 9:04 am

    Slowpoke.

  10. #10 by Oestrus on November 10, 2010 - 10:08 am

    Hey there – I found your site via the whole Frostheim scandal and I have to say that I loved everything you said, regarding that situation. I even talked about it in my recent phone post. I laughed quite hard at “cockwaffle” and I swear I’m going to ™ if you haven’t already! You brought up a lot of good points and I agreed with a lot of what you said and how you wrote it and I just wanted to throw you some praise for all of that.

    You definitely have earned yourself a new reader in me and I look forward to reading more of your thoughts.

    Take care!

    :)

  11. #11 by Bee on November 10, 2010 - 11:20 am

    Best advice I can give is make an undead rogue friend. That way if you find yourself in a sticky situation, you can call in the troops. Feels great to watch the would-be-ganker get ganked.

    Only problem I’ve seen with this is, that rogues have it too easy when it comes to going AFK. Stealth… and they are out. I’ve been killed right in front of the staring eyes of my stealthed undead rogue guildmate – crying out in vent – but he’s on a bio break.

  12. #12 by Rossanah on November 10, 2010 - 12:42 pm

    For Cata, I’m preparing myself the following way:

    1 – Scheduled my work vacation to 12/6 (done);
    2 – Will deck myself with as much pvp gear as possible (work in progress), since the rating nerf due to level won’t kick immediately, and the low level areas will be the worst;
    3 – Do all kinds of group quests from ICC and dungeons and only deliver it on 12/7.

  13. #13 by Nzete on November 10, 2010 - 4:38 pm

    I’m also quite nervous about the whole “leveling on a pvp server” thing. We transferred PvE to RPPvP to raid with friends during ICC. I’m the family “expert” on PvP (scary thought) because my hubby doesn’t at all… fortunately the general guild policy is “if a dumb Horde ganked someone with our guild tag, we camp him until he logs as a guild activity” – it seems to make people think a little bit about whether killing a lowbie with that guild tag is a good idea or not.

    I’m trying to figure what kind of leveling build would be best to support leveling in the most efficent manner (assist warlock hubby in killing stuff, keep us both alive (evil Horde and scary mobs), and have minimal downtime. I’m considering discipline PvP focused, shadow (kill ’em dead before they get us), and holy (go, go lolsmite chakra)… thus far I haven’t eliminated a single tree.. .hmmm… I will keep a decent healing build for dungeons (go, go guild groups and guild experience).

Leave a Reply

