Vainglorious

 The Tam said:

I’ve been raiding on my priest a fair while now and, although I’m far from being an expert, I’m pretty comfortable with the mechanics of my class, and how to maximise those mechanics in certain situations. It’s silly but I think understandable to therefore take changes badly: “what do you mean it’s going to work differently?! But I like how it works now!?! This is OUTRAGEOUS! WAAAAAAAH! HOW COULD YOU BLIZZARD?!!! YOU BASTARDS!!!”

Whereas I react to druid changes like this: “oh, okay.”

It’s one of the few circumstances in which less knowledge, and consequently less investment, is actually a good thing.

And I actually think that may be part of a Death Knight’s appeal to be right now.  Priests, hunters, and paladins all underwent enough changes to make me flail massively.  I’m suddenly a terrible hunter (FOCUS STARVED ALL THE TIME AMG), priesting is just different enough to throw me off my groove (what do you mean I want HASTE?), and paladin is “lol wtf is this shit”. 

By comparison, Death Knight–which I played only lightly before Cata–is still familiar ENOUGH that it is comfortable.  I don’t feel that I’m suddenly terrible at a class I used to be good at, which is incredibly jarring for my fragile but massive ego.

I did ding 80 last night, and our paladin tank was nice enough to let me latch onto his queue for some heroics.  I learned the following things:

  • There’s still some really terrible DPS out there.  Like the 800 DPS warlock.  And the 900 DPS fellow death knugget.  Sub 1k at 80 is sad, people.  Heck, sub 2k is sad.
  • There’s a lot more things I can kill myself on in melee.
  • Like…a lot more things.  Holy shit.
  • Healers who leave after the first pull of VH are still dicks.
  • …LOTS of things to kill myself on, guys.  LOTS.

Aaaand now for the fun task of leveling mining and engineering (!?) becuase I…never bothered to before.

No I have no idea why I took engineering on Vain.  At all.  It’ll amuse me, though, so it gets to stay.

I need rocket boots for when I’m not paying attention and lagging behind the group, anyway.  >.>

, , ,

  1. #1 by Lidanya on November 11, 2010 - 12:33 pm

    I’ve switched from disc priest to ret paladin in the haze of the patch, and so far, I’ve learnt that melee dps is zomgfun (to the point I’ve leveled a death knight to 78 in no time at all – now if only Icecrown quests weren’t so buggy I’d be 80 by now) but also that my mortality – high enough as a disc priest – has dramatically shot up. At least ret paladins have some cheat buttons… But nothing takes away the shame of falling off the bridge at Kologarn. With wings popped. /facepalm

  2. #2 by MyName on November 11, 2010 - 12:54 pm

    Engineering is teh awesome. Take it to pvp and you won’t regret it. Farming for Jeeves, being able to make scrapbots/mailboxes anywhere/your own portals to Kalimdor, Outland, and Northrend are just cool as heck.

    It’s not all rocketboots and parachutes my friend…

  3. #3 by Kotakh on November 11, 2010 - 1:32 pm

    Mining can be leveled up from 1 to 450 in about 4 hours easy. I did it on Kotakh 2 weeks ago.

    And yes, melee have a LOT to watch out for compared to range and healers otherwise they die.

    @Lidanya
    I’ve seen a bear main tank fall to his death on Kolo when Ulduar was new lol.

  4. #4 by Joe Ego on November 11, 2010 - 3:08 pm

    Engineering is awesome. From the bombs and such giving you real dps increases, to rocket boots helping your overall performance (saved me on All You Can Eat!), to the quality of life improvements (parachutes, mailboxes, Jeeves’ remote bank). After that it’s all fun and games with a Mote Extractor or Mind Control helmet.

    As for horrible dps, it should be known that post 4.0.1 holy paladins can break 3k with a little effort. That was never possible. I even cracked 1k average while healing a normal Putricide 25 fight a couple weeks ago.

  5. #5 by Nzete on November 12, 2010 - 8:49 am

    I’m currently playing the “which alt will level second in Cata” game. Someone needs to do herbs and alchemy and make flasks to support my raiding habit…. and probably mana pots, too. Although I can probably count on getting the mana pot drops of the warriors, rogues, and hunters I’m friends with. Ret/holy pally or frost/blood dk? Decisions, decisions.

    An on Kologarn.. did you anger a holly priest enough to get a body and soul speed boost from power word: shield just before you got to the boss? Because while I haven’t actually done that yet, yet is a very keep word there.

  6. #6 by Achloryn on November 13, 2010 - 4:40 am

    For the record, the bear tank Kotakh is referring to was NOT ME.. I knew better than to charge his ass…… although I would laugh HYSTERICALLY at anybody i’d ever seen do it xD.

    Amber – Engineering is quite awesome really. Macro your pyro-rockets or haste-gloves to one of your other buttons (oblit maybe?) and you’ll see your DPS jump a pretty decent amount on bosses. The macro command for using glove enchants, btw, is /use 10.

  7. #7 by Tam on November 15, 2010 - 2:33 pm

    I like being the definite article :D

Leave a Reply

