Melee Misadventures: The Accidental Tank

I’ve been spoiled lately by having Solt as a tank.  He’s ICC geared and I’m not, so generally the only time I end up face tanking is when I’m over enthusiastically whacking on something I shouldn’t be.  Yesterday, however, I grabbed a rather freshly dinged druid from guild and decided to run around with him.  Decked in almost all blues (I’m at least…more than halfway epics now?) he must’ve convinced the magical gear match maker that tanks in all blues were awesome.

And you know what?  They were awesome, in the sense that they weren’t lacking in skills and generally seemed to be decent folk.  They just weren’t prepared to handle me and my AoE Icy Dick Punch.

It also says something about Isis as a healer that I managed to not die.  Close! Omg, close!  But I never actually died.  \o/

When one tank was actually so shiny new he had never been to ToC5 before I coo’d a little bit (I love new tanks, I really do) and instantly burst into Helpful Mode.  I marked things!  I gave him very brief rundowns on what to expect!  I held in my urge to run forward and howling blast right away!  I carefully followed my own marks (or his target) and…still pulled with Killing Machine procs but you know, there’s only so much I can do.

But I apologized and gave him hugs and he never yelled at me.  <3

I think I actually prefer the tanks-in-blues, even if they don’t prefer me.

Sorry guys!   >.>

, , ,

  1. #1 by Resonate on November 17, 2010 - 12:38 pm

    I’m going to start using the term “AoE Icy Dick Punch” now, haha.

  2. #2 by Nzete on November 17, 2010 - 1:16 pm

    Maybe I should take my dk out to some dungeons… she is after all in the running for the position of “first alt” by virtue of knowing herbalism and alchemy (competing with the herbalism/alchemy paladin). I’ve always thought that Howling Blast was a lot of fun.

  3. #3 by Belia on November 17, 2010 - 2:52 pm

    I love running with new tanks, especially when they are guildies! It doesn’t matter if I’m healing or dpsing, I think that it’s just working through the challenges that learning to tank can present that’s fun. As dps it makes you consider your ability choices to maximized your output while not face-planting yourself and making the tanks life harder, but also gives you the ability (while used correctly) to challenge the tank at the right points in time. As a healer, it just plain makes it more fun, imo, when you actually have to *heal* a heroic instead of casting PW:S once every blue-moon and then smite spamming the rest of the time.

  4. #4 by Ambrosine on November 17, 2010 - 3:17 pm

    Solt’s just probbaly wondering why I’m not that nice to HIM.

    ilu Solt

  5. #5 by Lidanya on November 17, 2010 - 3:36 pm

    I love new, GOOD tanks. That they’re tyring, often trying so hard with my suicidal melee dps ways, I just want to cuddle them and give them candy and keep cheering them on; and I always apologize excessively when I screw up their pulls (oh hai full holy power bar let’s OH GOD THAT’S BAD THAT IS SO BAD OH FUCK).

  6. #6 by Anafielle on November 17, 2010 - 3:39 pm

    I love new tanks!! This might not be apparent since I just got some attention for whining about them… but I do!

    The difference is attitude.

    One of my favorite memories of Wrath will always be popping H HOR on my alt, finding a polite but inexperienced tank (he said something like “I’ve never done this, but I have the gear- I will leave if you’d like to wait for another tank”) … then teaching him how to do it. Did we wipe? Once or twice. Did we get it done? Hell yeah!

    For every idiot in ICC 264, there are very polite and willing to learn people in blues who just need a helping hand. i found my first raiding group as a new tank who was adopted by a healer in 5 mans.

    I wouldn’t trust my luck finding them in PUGs, but when you do, sometimes it’s the nicest feeling in the world. :)

  7. #7 by Achloryn on November 18, 2010 - 6:22 pm

    Heh.. I still remember my first time tanking random heroics.. I was a little freaked out because tanking normal-modes is one thing… but these were HEROICS man! This was the big leagues! (lol… what a nub I was)

    @Anafielle, it’s good to hear that some good pugs do still exist. I still, to this day, absolutely loathe tanking H-HoR. I just suck at it, and I consider myself a damn good tank. (Ignore anything Kotakh might say to the contrary.) I think that if I hadn’t come across a number of VERY understanding pugs when I was gearing my druid up, then I wouldn’t have lasted long tanking, and thus may not’ve come to the guild i’m in now… they’re just so rare these days.

    @Amber – Solt knows why you’re not nice to him… he’s already in our guild.. niceness isn’t required to guild tanks anymore. (STOP FUCKING HOWLING BLASTING OMG I NEED RAEGAGHRGHLJERKLSN!”

Leave a Reply

