Hyjal Highlights

I would write a useful post but my brain is fried on benedryl, you don’t want me thinking that hard.  Or well, I don’t know if I can think that hard.  So, have some random (trying not to be spoilery?) comments on leveling in Hyjal.

So far, Hyjal isn’t bad.  The scene that plays out as you fly in is really cool–even Josh expressed some enjoyment of its awesomeness.

I love Draenei but I am jealous of human rep hax.  Hrmph.

Watching laggy blood elves chase down rabbits is kind of funny.  Sad, but funny.

Josh: Your threat is insane.
Me: AOE ICY DICKPUNCH and proc of OH HELLO TANKING!
Josh:  >:|

I know the plural of deer is deer.  But I’m going to squeal about the BABY DEERS anyway. 

OMG BABY TURTLES.  (Pst: you don’t need the turtle companions to kill Nemesis, btw.  Not in a pair with mostly epics, anyway.  We lost ours and we were too lazy to go back and get them, but it only half healthed us.)

Fuck you horde camping Cinderwhoever.  I may have been the only spawn I saw you being a dick at, but fuck you anyway.

I spent a lot of time getting hit by stray Captain America shields.  I’m sure I clipped more than a few hordies with Howling Blast, though when guards were around I tried REALLY REALLY HARD.  I also ended up with no few hunter and warlock pets attacking me after I clipped them with something.  Oops.  For the most part though, people were leaving each other alone.

Mining nodes are serious business.  If you beat me to it, cool.  If you beat me to it but then aggro something, MINE.  Beat me to it and you’re horde?  MINE.  Or I’m dead, one or the other.  We snagged nodes from under the noses of everyone from guildies (poor Solt) to blog readers that I belatedly recognized (O HAI).   Not nessicarily on purpose, mind (I’d have let Solt have the one if I’d only seen it was him and well…if it hadn’t been Zoja’s turn) but those yellow dots on our maps cause some sort of mindless frenzy.  MINE MINE MINE MINE.

We found a mining spot that seemed good but I can’t remember the name of it. Doesn’t that suck for you?

Also I don’t care how awkward getting around was THE JOUSTING QUEST WAS AWESOME.  You know why it was awesome?

THIS. THIS IS WHY IT WAS AWESOME.

/faceplants in a benedryl haze

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Rivs on December 8, 2010 - 12:14 pm

    Good post, I hope to hit Hyjal tonight, and I won’t be as merciful as my Horde Brethren.

  2. #2 by Psynister on December 8, 2010 - 12:22 pm

    The squirrels and rabbits are so easy with a simple keybind. Turn on your click-to-move and bind Interact With Target to whatever key you want in the default interface, target one of them either by clicking or with a macro, hit the keybind and you’ll auto-chase the little bugger and pick it up. I like to cheat.

    I took Nemesis on solo without the turtle (didn’t notice I needed him to use the totem), on a Balance Druid in mostly Wrath crafted gear with a couple of ICC drops. He sucked.

    And the jousting? No, it was not awesome. Not at all.

  3. #3 by Myssidia on December 8, 2010 - 3:34 pm

    My dislike of pvp overrides my ineptitude at 3D movement so I’ve been doing vashjir. Lots of pretty colors.

  4. #4 by Ambrosine on December 8, 2010 - 4:55 pm

    @Myss I can’t do Vash, I lose Josh enough in 2d enviornments. Not “get lost” but lose track of him and go OH MY GOD WHERE DID MY BODYGUARD GO.

  5. #5 by theerivs on December 8, 2010 - 6:06 pm

    Who you kidding you get lost in a room with no corners….*cough* Gruuls *cough*

  6. #6 by tytalus on December 9, 2010 - 10:47 am

    I really enjoyed the entire Hyjal experience — I do not miss group quests, NPC backup rocks, thank you.

    Now go rescue the little fawns or I’ll make the big eyes at you.

  7. #7 by Sarai on December 9, 2010 - 1:37 pm

    The fawn quest was even cuter (and less annoying) than the squirrels and bunnies. Except that I lost mine on the first attempt. Silly flying mounts.

    So far I’m liking Hyjal better than Vash’jir, but that’s mostly because of my own ineptitude with 3D environments.

  8. #8 by Escobar on December 10, 2010 - 2:12 pm

    I liked Hyjal a lot. (But not nearly as much as Uldum.) I’m on a care bear server, but people were still acting like nutjobs. That Cinder-something-or-other was a mistake in that you can only loot the chest if you tag him and make the kill. The result was less than pleasant, with slabs of allys and horde piled in the area, trying to get the first hit. Some people made groups, some people were flagged, multiple PvP moments happened.

    And I…went into cat form, sat quietly, and then tagged him with Faerie Fire before anyone else. Normally I wait, but everyone was crazy, so I decided to jump the line. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

