Make Yourself Useful: The CC-less DPS

I have to say it’s a little odd going from playing a hunter to a death knight, in more ways than one.  For one thing I’m used to being able to contribute to CC (yes, used to: I did hunter in BC) and now I suddenly have none!  And now it’s important!

That’s okay, though, because I have many other fun buttons to play with that are still of endless assistance to the group.

Interrupts.  Interrupts interrupts interrupts.  Your tanks and your healers will love you.  The talent to reduce the cooldown on Strangulate is well worth it.  Casters standing in the back?  Shut ’em up and bring ’em over.  Shadowlancers doing their AoE of Healery Doom?  Nope!  Not anymore!

Don’t forget that you have more than Mind Freeze and StrangulateHungering Cold is well-nigh useless as “CC”, although I do use it when I see strays to give the tank a few seconds to get a handle on the situation. It can, however, serve as yet another interrupt.  Is a mob whirlwinding and cutting up both your face and the tanks?  ICE CUBES.


Last but not least is our old friend Death Grip.  This does require some co-ordination with the tank, but I use it to good effect with my Cranky Tank with casters or ranged hunter mobs are misbehaving.

CC is awesome, yes, but so is making the tank’s life easier and reducing damage done to the group!

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rades on December 16, 2010 - 12:33 pm

    I talent for 0 runic power Mind Freeze and glyph for 0 runic power ICE CUBES for these reasons. Interrupting is so important now! (Still would love some actual cc, but what can you do.)

  2. #2 by Nzete on December 16, 2010 - 1:23 pm

    I always figure that if I’ve gotten desperate enough as a holy priest to use holy word: chastise or shackle undead as an interrupt in a dungeon that some dps need to be taken out back and beaten.

  3. #3 by Rades on December 16, 2010 - 1:35 pm

    Nzete – when they introduced the glyph of Shackle Undead and I was gearing up my priest in the ICC 5-mans, it became my favorite spell ever. Not necessarily as CC – but as a nearly-instant cast spammable interrupt. And EVERYTHING was undead and vulnerable to it! It makes me very sad that those glory days were so short and fleeting.

  4. #4 by Eva on December 16, 2010 - 3:11 pm

    Unholy needs as many interrupts as frost. And yours are all free if you spec/glyph for it :(. (With guild perks, On a Pale Horse becomes useless eventually, and there aren’t any other good DK major glyphs.) Maybe I’ll try 2-hand frost eventually.

  5. #5 by Nzete on December 17, 2010 - 9:45 am

    I got tired of healing all the spikey frost crap in the trash before marrowgar… I took to shackle interrupting them… how many rogue, dks, warriors, shammies… way too many for the holy priest to get irrate enough to take to shackle interrupting. While I can’t interrupt with it now, I am perfectly free to yell at anyone in vent to CC more and interrupt more without being the ‘whiny healer’.

  6. #6 by tytalus on December 17, 2010 - 10:50 am

    Excellent advice on the interrupts. It may be irrelevant in a year, but right now we can save tanks/healers a great deal of pain. The second boss fight in heroic BRC goes from ridiculous to trivial with well-timed interrupts (of the fears, so the group keeps the adds from busting loose). As an unholy DK, I get none for free, but I try to keep the RP handy to always be able to mind freeze. No ice cubes for me, alas.

  7. #7 by Hoho on December 17, 2010 - 5:55 pm

    Yea, any kind of aoe icecube/fear works awesomely as an interrupt. On my spriest I’ve used it loads of times. With horror I also have another interrupt, though on a longish cooldown. I often use it on some big hairy melee guys, generally they only tickle when you take away their weapon and you can even do it on several 5-man bosses :)

    Also, mind control = THE most OP CC ever.

  8. #8 by shadanzi on December 20, 2010 - 3:06 pm

    “Also, mind control = THE most OP CC ever.”

    SO TRUE. I do like having a frost DK around though for control. Chains on melee can work as CC for range pull and give the group time to burn down one mob. Also, DGing melee away from the group and Icecubing, then chainsing as icecube breaks is so win. However when you can MC a healer for 50k+ mana free heals you feel quite pro(/OP).

  9. #9 by Voink on December 24, 2010 - 2:06 pm

    I would welcome a post about dps worrying about more then the meters, this post illustrates a good example of a smart dps – make your tank and healer’s job easier instead of just mindlessly dpsing without watching anything around you. If you have no cc, interupt, use methods of soft control like chains of ice and your woefully underrated ice cubes spell.

    As a player who is healing pretty much by necessity for his guild’s dungeon runs, any dps who tries to keep me safe in the harder heroics will get every inch of effort from me to save them when they need it <3. When I dps, my number one priority is keeping my healer safe and helping my tank in any way I can. Any dps who hasn't healed or tanked before needs to in order to do their job better.

Leave a Reply

