Altitis: Druid Adventures

I’m questing through The Giant Swinning Pool on Vainglory to get Earthen Ring rep (tanking paaaants), so my interest in leveling Lyr there dropped to nothing.  I could, of course, take her OUT of there and go to Hyjal, but…well, that would take effort.

Anyway, I actually had time to run an instance so I threw my 72 druid into her resto gear and looked at my bars and proceeded to become very confused.

I spent a long time going “Where the fuck is healing touch?” before I clued in to the fact that nourish is now my non-HoT heal.  I think.  At least I hope it is, because I don’t have healing touch yet.  Now. What?

Anyway, nothing like learning under pressure, right?  We zone in and there’s a pally tank.

“This is my first time tanking,” he says.  That’s fine!

“This is my first instance too lol,” he adds.  Hmm.  Okay.  I peek at his gear and while one or two pieces are tank gear, a lot of it is…int gear?

On a tankadin.

I’m swiftly reminded of why my druid’s feral spec went bear flavored last time I tried pugging on her.  Early level 70s tanks tend to be AWFUL, wearing anything but tank gear.   Thankfully this was not a repeat of every UP run ever, and I was able to…life bloom stack (sometimes) and nourish and rejuv the tank to not dying.  The only death all run was me, which says something for how well I remembered where barkskin was.

But really…for the love of any of a hundred little gods, people…GET TANK GEAR BEFORE YOU TANK.  Holy shit.

Random thought: I’ve never seen someone trying to heal in non-healing gear.  /ponders

, , ,

  1. #1 by Kotakh on February 21, 2011 - 3:05 pm

    I healed Marrowgar and LDW in boomkin gear, does that count?

    Of course it wasnt intentional…it was just me being me..you know…like healing Magmaw and Omnitron with Boomkin glyphs :)

  2. #2 by LabRat on February 21, 2011 - 5:40 pm

    Was your death due to everyone leaving you in Kel’s ice block? Since I started healing on my shaman I’m started keeping a running log of the myriad ways the tank and DPS will let me die due to completely ignoring any given mechanic in any given Wrath instance. And I am always the ONLY PERSON WHO DOES.

    Part of the problem with the tank stuff is Burning Crusade, though. Before Touched by the Light came into our lives, pally tanks DID need int/spellpower and some of the quest gear rewards reflect that- stuff with int and dodge both on it. I know my warrior and my dk tanks both came into Wrath wearing some int gear just because it was sitll better.

    …But that’s why I stuck both of them in crafted cobalt sets and quested for awhile before I actually tanked anything there.

  3. #3 by elfindale on February 21, 2011 - 7:45 pm

    Obviously you’ve never been in an instance with me as a healer. I have healed in my fishing hat and fishing boots on more than one occasion. /blush

  4. #4 by Elladrion on February 21, 2011 - 9:43 pm

    I’ve quite a few plate wearers, and a lot of them tanks. Just got my newest paladin up to 85 mostly tanking randoms up to 70, where I had to switch to ret. I had the same problem on my warrior, you just hit this wall once you get into wrath becuase BC normals simply do NOT give you enough tanking gear to survive wrath dungeons and the wrath normals and quests don’t drop enough tanking gear to make a proper set. There is a LOT of crafted gear that was meant to fill that gap, but since it’s an xpac old there is virtually nothing on AH, so you have to know exactly what you want crafted, buy the mats, and find someone to make it, which many people leveling tanks simply don’t know about.

    At least in cataclysm normals the bosses have regular loot tables, in wrath each boss only drops 2 or 3 differant items, so there may only be 1 or 2 plate pieces in the entire instance and usually they’re healing plate. It’s a ROUGH transition going into wrath normals from BC normals that really needs to be smoothed out.

  5. #5 by tobeume on February 22, 2011 - 12:20 am

    I have totally had to deal with a Resto Druid in Feral gear because they decided that very day to take on Resto with no gear. :3

  6. #6 by Amy on February 22, 2011 - 7:32 am

    I had a very competent Enhance shaman heal Zul Farrak for me when I was on my druid. It was pretty silly since I had also queued as heals.

  7. #7 by Ambrosine on February 22, 2011 - 3:03 pm

    Oh I’ve accidentally healed in the wrong gear more than once. I’m talking intentionally taking on a role without the gear for it.

    The gear this particular paladin was wearing wasn’t even proper DPS gear. Or healing gear. Some of it was some of that bizarre stuff that still exists, the “I am for sharding” gear of nonsensical stats, where surely some slightly older piece of quest reward gear was better optimized than that green.

    I’ve also leveled a tank all the way up to 80, and I was NEVER forced to wear DPS gear. Sure a few pieces would be old, but they’d always be tanking stats old, so they were still acceptable peices. “Of the Champion” does not exist for DEing.

    By level 70 I expect people to be able to cobble some things together for tanking that arent str/int greens…

Leave a Reply

