4.1 PTR Notes: I can do WHAT now?

I am probably one of the few DKs who tries to ghoul people on a regular basis in raids.  If I’m not chained to a crucial interrupt duty and I see a DPS bite the dust (and I don’t think they instantly alt tabbed), it amuses me to ghoul them.  It’s a loving way of saying “since you died like a scrub here, let me make you less useless for awhile.”

Apparently now I get to sometimes lovingly say, “Since you died like a scrub here, let me fix that problem for you,” which is…interesting.

Of course the RP nerd in me is wondering just how that’d work, really.  I mean, of the tree options for being rezzed mid-battle, which would be worse?  A druid bringing you back to life, a warlock mucking about iwth storing your soul, or a DK…er…well, how would a DK be doing it, really?  Without any other (non-self) healing abilities, would they be a little crude about shoving someone’s soul back in their body?  Or, considering their own experiences, would they actually be rather gentle about it?  Would they know how to?  How similar is the spell to actually reanimating a ghoul?   /dork

I was admittedly jealous that warrior’s were getting a group Last Stand type ability.  I’m not sure if this mollifies my jealousy much–it’s not “unique” and we have plenty of warlocks and druids for me to share the CD with–but I guess it is kind of neat, regardless. 

I’d talk about the other changes here but, er, I forgot to copy there where I could see them.  I do recall going “lol, you think you overnerfed HB, didn’t you” though.

GIEFS MORE FROST DAMAGE.  OMNOMNOM.

, ,

  1. #1 by youyankityoutankit on March 1, 2011 - 11:48 am

    I ghoul anyone who dies after a battle rez has been spent in a raid. Most of my 10 man knows to go spam attacks at the boss.

    The battle rez idea is intriguing… but I’ve seen the Raise Ally ghoul actually save a group from a wipe more than once. I remember soloing the first boss in H-SFK as a ghoul his last bit of health [aoe affects couldn’t hit the ghoul]. THAT was epic.

  2. #2 by Rades on March 1, 2011 - 12:05 pm

    I too Ghoul people whenever possible if a battle rez has already been used. It’s my only spell keybound to my Vuhdo bars when I’m on my DK. I always have to warn people though as half the time they’re tabbed out or have gone for a bio break. :P

  3. #3 by Dark on March 1, 2011 - 1:48 pm

    I think they should leave the spell as it is. Today i explained it to someone in my guild as follows: Take rebirth, replace the mana with runic power, and think away the manacost…thats it
    Its not that yet another class can do combat res now, its just that they kinda change a unique spell with something thats been done before.
    And as you said, how DOES it work? Raising someone as a ghoul made sense for a DK, shoving the soul back into the body does not.

  4. #4 by typhoonandrew on March 10, 2011 - 10:26 pm

    It would be acceptable to me lore wise if the character was raised with a replacement title over their head, something like: . Then have the player die again at the end of the fight for RP affect without a repair cost.

    Think of it like the Death Knight has momentarily forced the person’s soul back into their body, restoring them from death to complete a task; then they are discarded.

Leave a Reply

