O Noes They’re Nerfing Content!

…again.  Remember when they did this before? Even ignoring the ICC Buff, there was The Great BC Content Nerf that dropped boss health. Suddenly the evil wind chime was actually killable by more than 1 guild on the entire god damned server!  Obviously this isn’t Sunwell, but you could argue that the nerfs meant ‘more’ back then.

In case you were wondering, the world didn’t end then, and it won’t end now.

I fail to grasp why people are getting their knickers in a twist over it. If you haven’t beaten the content by the time the nerf hits (and psst, it’s not that soon), then guess what?  Your penis wasn’t really that big anyway.

@Faidtastic said earlier, “Across the board raid nerf is ridiculous, T10 for Justice Points would self-nerf them, anyone who needed further nerfs shouldn’t be raiding.” 

Last I checked they weren’t taking away boss mechanics–just making them hurt a little less. A nerf will not magically allow all of The Bads to clear all the (by then, OLD) content, just made things a bit easier for those of us who take things a bit slower.

Of course I’d be surprised if SiB hasn’t downed every boss on normal mode well before then anyway–we only have two to go. In that case the nerf isn’t really about us (the 10 man normal crews) either, and our mighty penii remain satisfyingly large. It’s for alt runs and puggers and guilds who aren’t as blessed with attendance as we are.

And if you’re already doing heroic modes, why do you care? This isn’t about you.

I’m not even going to touch the ‘shouldn’t be raiding’ comment.  Just not gonna.

UNBUNCH YOUR KNICKERS AND QQ LESS.

ETA:  I don’t really mean to pick on Faidtastic with this post, his comment was just there in my Twitter feed being all…easily accesable and quotable.

, , ,

  1. #1 by xandrion on May 25, 2011 - 9:20 am

    I approve this message o/

  2. #2 by Ratshag on May 25, 2011 - 9:27 am

    I’s completely agreeing that the nerfs ain’t a big deal, and I’s on-board with the logifications behind them and all. However, I does want ta say fer the record that in facts me penis is that big.

  3. #3 by Tomaj on May 25, 2011 - 9:45 am

    Amen. We only have the last 3 bosses ourselves, and while I’d like to see us get them all down before 4.2, it’s coming up likely faster than we think – and that’s going to be a little sad, I suppose. Still, we’re probably still going to be hitting them up post-nerf if we haven’t already killed them to get some people started on their legendary staves (read, mage, warlocks).

  4. #4 by TheGrumpyElf on May 25, 2011 - 10:19 am

    Count me as another end bosses person. I am sure by the time this is out they will be done with them and I’ll move on to firelands.

    For most guilds, even super casual guilds like mine with our amazing 2 hour a week progression raid schedule we will have all normals done. (yes, we actually only work progression 2 hours most weeks, sad, I know)

    Most people where raiding was something they wanted to do will be done with it. This opens the door for those people that are not raiders but want something to do. This will allow for pugs to have a prayer of downing something, which is nearly impossible on my server as it is now.

    I like the idea.

  5. #5 by Fluffy on May 25, 2011 - 11:48 am

    I think the only shock I had was the depth of the nerf. It’s almost on par with the 3.0 nerf, but that was tied to a major patch rebalancing. 20% would have us at 8/12, maybe 9/12 right now, our attempts on Conclave, Chimaeron and Ascendant Council were so close.

  6. #6 by Thisius on May 25, 2011 - 12:15 pm

    I was a little upset about the nerf, but the more I think about it the more I shouldn’t be and neither should anyone else. Way I look at it there’s two types of guilds: those who cleared the content and those who didn’t. Those who cleared it have nothing to complain about. You cleared it. You’re achievements speak for themselves. Those who didn’t clear it shouldn’t be upset either. First this helps you clear it. Second, if you are mad because you don’t think you need the help and you would rather do it without, then here’s your chance. Do better in Firelands. Fact is you didn’t clear it in time. You’ve been given enough. You still have a chance to improve so stop the QQ and go do it.

  7. #7 by Artania on May 25, 2011 - 3:34 pm

    I love your website you make me ROFL. You tell it like it is and tell the douchewaffles off and for that I salute you.

  8. #8 by Lien on May 25, 2011 - 6:17 pm

    \o/ I heartily approve this message.
    Yeah, not going to touch that shouldn’t be raiding thing people are saying no matter how tempted I am to do so.

  9. #9 by Cynwise on May 25, 2011 - 6:56 pm

    “This isn’t about you.”

    This.

  10. #10 by Tara on May 25, 2011 - 10:16 pm

    I totally heart you after this post, I made the mistake of wandering onto the forums yesterday and the sound of QQ’ing was deafening – people always seem to forget that this always happens, content always gets nerfed after it becomes old content. I will never understand the plethora of bitching going on, it’s like “how dare you also enjoy the game or see content, you doing so detracts from my joy”.

  11. #11 by Achloryn on May 26, 2011 - 5:09 am

    Oh Tara… you wandered into the forums? Rookie mistake. We’ve all made it at some point before, don’t worry. You’ll be sure to remember the next time i’m sure. ;D

    I was more confused by this nerf than anything else. like Fluffy said, this is a MAJOR nerf for a content patch that isn’t preceeding a new expansion. But it does sorta make sense, this raid tier was far more brutal (in the normal modes even) than the first tier of BC or Wrath ever was, so they would need to drop it down a bit to make it more accessible. I’m pretty sure we’ll be able to get Nef before 4.2 (depending on what our timeline looks like anyway).

Leave a Reply

