Dear Ramparts, I Hate You

I have two alts that I am working on currently–Jamethera, my beloved  BM hunter, and Icestone, my ele/resto shaman.  Once I get tired of DPS queues I tend to flop over to Icestone for the soothing ritual of filling green bars.

Only it’s not soothing–not when I load into Ramps. I don’t know what it is about this instance, but tanks suddenly want to pull ALL THE THINGS.  And I would just like to say, Mr. 58-60 tank, that you are not a raid geared tank in a Wrath heroic. Y0u are a fucking lowbie tank. If you’re a DK you don’t even have your taunt or D&D yet half the time.  When I’m running around screaming because I have HEALING AGGRO ON SHIT, then you should maybe NOT PULL THE ENTIRE GODS BE DAMNED ROOM.

EVERY SINGLE GOD DAMN TIME.

This…never seems to happen in the other instances.  I hope, since Ice melted her way to level 63 yesterday, that my time in the Ramparts of Hell is done. I pity anyone who doesn’t heal those without dripping Heirlooms.

But for everyone else…

…how about pulling one pack at a time, eh?

, ,

  1. #1 by telanarra on June 15, 2011 - 11:33 am

    I blame DK’s for ramps being the suck

  2. #2 by Anaora@Drenden-US on June 15, 2011 - 11:34 am

    DK…. tank? DKs can’t tank in BC content. Common misconception.

    Paladins on the other hand, especially those with heirlooms, can usually survive several groups without healing. Not only can a paladin solo every boss in Ramparts, a careful paladin tank at 60 can probably solo the entire instance (the only concern being the disarm cast by the melee mobs, but that’s what the paladin’s defensive cooldowns are for). And given that paladin tanks usually do ~50% of all of the damage in most BC dungeon groups, that solo paladin tank could probably make good time.

    I don’t think there is any more benefit to grouping for randoms than there is finding a paladin tank via /who, and tank+healing through everything (you can bring along someone to DPS as well, but that’s barely worthwhile since all DPS suck anyway). All you lose is… the bags?

  3. #3 by Dancingblade on June 15, 2011 - 11:36 am

    I blame the craptastic design of crowded trash packs (after the first bridge in particular, and the three packs plus pats just before the final two bosses).

  4. #4 by Nzete on June 15, 2011 - 12:07 pm

    Hugs from the dps warrior alt who did the minus attack speed/power debuffs and smacked all things attacking the heals.

    I did tank through BC dungeons on an alt dk… the second dk rerolling on a new server.. pulling one group at a time and had a macro saying that “I lack some key abilities like taunt and AoE threat.. death grip is for saving the healer, be good or die”.

  5. #5 by ILikeBubbles on June 15, 2011 - 2:30 pm

    I’ve tanked BC content on an heirloomless DK just fine. :) It just required a bit more care.

    I don’t mind a challenge, I do mind people being stupidly reckless. Or being beat on by mobs.

  6. #6 by girlhasblog on June 15, 2011 - 5:48 pm

    When I first started healing on my priest it was in ramps. My first run went fairly smoothly, subsequent runs were filled with a lot of me going “oh god everyone’s dying why is stuff everywhere eek I’m being attacked HALP TANK SAVE MEEE”. Then my friend levelling a tank caught up to me and everything was much better after that.

    It wasn’t always DKs being dumb though. Some of my worst were with warriors and paladins.

  7. #7 by MyName on June 15, 2011 - 6:01 pm

    I did not tank this when leveling my DK. I did off tank it plenty though. Actually I off tanked it in a group with 3 DKs, a priest, and a warlock. Guess which one thought it would be funny to “rain of fire pull” 2-3 packs then wondered “Y U So Mad M8?”

    Those were the crazy days. It actually wasn’t any easier when I brought in my warrior tank and my GF on her priest to heal as then the DKs, who have much better gear, are always pulling aggro, and one of them was probably convinced they were supposed to be tanking. And since both the tank and the healer both follow the cranky tank flowchart, those DKs ended up dealing with a repair bill.

    I had much more trouble trying to tank Utegarde Keep heroic on my DK for reals at lvl 80. Then I broke down and bought the BoE tanking gear and it was all good.

  8. #8 by Stop on June 16, 2011 - 9:42 am

    From what I remember of Ramps, you will continue to go to Ramps until your eyes bleed. Bad news for Icestone amirite

  9. #9 by Leit on June 21, 2011 - 7:19 am

    I healed Ramps repeatedly without heirlooms. How? Disc priest. Bubbles are so ludicrously OP at that point that you can shield the tank as he runs headlong at the next pack, sit down and drink, run in to drop some renews/penance and then repeat. If you’re talking about the big pulls in the middle-ish of the first passage and at the split between the bosses, those involve keeping PoH bouncing, renews on all the melee and any ranged daft enough to pull, and shielding people as appropriate while the renews tick them back to full.

    It was a sad moment stepping into Cata and watching my bubbles pop in seconds. T_T

    And yes, by the time you hit 64 your eyes will boil at the sight of the Ramparts loading screen. It’s almost as bad as UK, which still somehow manages to turn up in the random dungeon rotation long after it’s become irrelevant from a gear or xp point of view.

  10. #10 by Melfina the Blue on June 22, 2011 - 12:29 am

    Wait, it’s possible to run Ramps without pulling everything? Are you sure? :)

    It does get better later on into Outlands though, mostly. And (as I noted last time I ran dungeons in the 60s), once you get past the Ramps levels you get more dungeons than you used to. Also, I find a “HELP, MOBS EATING MY FACE!” macro invaluable. Good luck!

  11. #11 by ellori on June 22, 2011 - 1:07 am

    I am a cautious tank in Ramparts, seeing as how the mobs outlevel me by 2-3 levels. I pull one pack at a time. In the run just now, the druid healer kept screaming, “PULL MORE I CAN HEAL IT”; and not content with that, proceeded to run ahead and moonfire more packs while I was dealing with the pull I had. Good fun, seeing as how a lot of my attacks were missing due to level gap.

    TLDR: It’s not always tanks who do that. :)

Leave a Reply

