ToC + Shadow Spec + Amber = Angry

Technically, all 3 of my 80s can/are DPS.  We’ll ignore Ambrosine’s ret spec, though, because I can still muster nothing but fail in that area. 

That leaves me with Jamethera the BM hunter, and Lyrandre and sometimes shadow priest.

Now in  Ulduar, my hunter flailed around a bit because there are fights in there that are Not Very Nice towards pets, especially not one’s first time in.  If I’d had a bit more experience in there I’m sure I could have learned how to control Suicidal Mutt for each fight and thus been more effective, but…well, it is still not an instance kindly disposed towards BM hunters.  I did, however, shadow deeps in there more than once and while I didn’t top the meters I did over 3k and held my own.  My priest doesn’t know what top of the meters means, anyway.  The best DPS I’ve seen as shadow was 4.9 on Ony (LOL MIND SEAR). 

Now take ToC.  I was able to bring my hunter into…well, one.  But during that one, I was solid DPS and my pet didn’t die at all what the hell.  Now when I say “solid DPS” I mean “I was #2 on damage done in a group with admittedly inferior composition”.  So, you know, I was some of the least sucky of a group of suck.  BUT, that was without any of the buffs that actually make me Not Suck.  Anyway.  I WASN’T REALLY THAT TERRIBLE.  Last night though, due to…odd sign ups, we shifted shit around and I was shadow all night*.

I considered myself lucky if I broke 3k.  I was doing the DPS my hunter can do in a favorable FIVE MAN in a TWENTY FIVE MAN RAID.  What the FUCK.  ToC?  Lots of target switching, lots of wanting to burst things down quickly.  Shadow priests?  No burst.  None.  I can’t even switch targets and instantly have full DPS, no, I MIGHT hit my full DPS potential by the time the thing is half or three-quarters dead.  MIGHT.

I sat there and said to myself, “Self, your lesser geared hunter would have done better in here.  What the HELL.”

It wasn’t just one or two fights that there unfriendly to my DPS.  It was ALL OF THEM.  ALL of them were either “switch targets repeatedly!” fights or “lol get interrupted by crap!” fights.  THE ENTIRE GOD DAMNED ISNTANCE GIVES MY SHADOW PRIEST THE MIDDLE FINGER.

Now I’m not the best shadow priest ever, and I’m sure there are shadow priests out there who will read this and go “Well YOU’RE DOING IT WRONG.”  But there are others who dual spec shadow in the guild, others who are better than me…and suddenly no one wants to go shadow anymore. 

 /cranky

Fuck you too, ToC!  Fuck you too!

 

*So we had a holy priest go tankadin, and a warrior tank go holy paladin, and a tankadin go holy, a disc priest go shadow (because 4 tank healers is overkill).  If that sounds confusing, it was.  There was logic (mostly related to gear) in there somewhere though, I swear.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by theerivs on October 27, 2009 - 10:39 am

    I’m with you Fuck TOC!

  2. #2 by Kaylex on October 27, 2009 - 10:56 am

    I went to TOC for the first time on Sunday. Boomkin rotation is shit in there too. I feel your pain

  3. #3 by Cassandri on October 27, 2009 - 10:59 am

    I totally feel your pain Amber.

    The only way to win in ToC as a spriesty is to kind of ignore those calls for burst (or point fingers at your mages) and cheat your way up the meters by dotting up anything and everything that moves.

    Like with your Hunter in Ulduar, it just takes a bit of time to get opportunistic in ToC as Shadow. But once you start looking around (and ignoring your raid leader, to some extent) you’ll find Snobolds aplenty, Mistresses and tons of infernals, multiple faction champions that can be dotted (er watch the CC I guess), 2 twins, spiders and scarab things.

    But if it’s no fun, just take your Hunter next time!

  4. #4 by Kotakh on October 27, 2009 - 11:02 am

    Dont forget a Resto Druid going Boomkin for the first 2 fights. Tho my dps gear is pretty good.

  5. #5 by Vorian87 on October 27, 2009 - 11:07 am

    i feel your pain :(

  6. #6 by Eric on October 27, 2009 - 11:16 am

    Meh…I’m wondering what my lock will do in there, or for that matter, my ret pally. One day I’ll go to ToC, I swear.

    And I’ll probably be saying afterwards – SCREW YOU TOC!

  7. #7 by Celaeno on October 27, 2009 - 11:21 am

    I just don’t want to go shadow because I don’t feel like I’m that good at it, but next time I’ll switch it up, it’s only fair.

    But if someone makes fun of my dps I am breaking out my push to talk button for a stern talking to. >C

  8. #8 by Vulpina on October 27, 2009 - 11:38 am

    I second all of what Cassandri said. That is all really good advice and what I would have said if she/he hadn’t said it first. :)

    You can make shadowing work in there, it just requires a little more creativity and a little bending of the RL’s directions. Make it work! Don’t despair!

  9. #9 by Linedan on October 27, 2009 - 11:40 am

    I feel ya. When I have to go in there as Arms, I don’t do well because of the mobility of the fights (knockbacks on Beasts, etc.) and the constant target-switching, even though I’ve got halfway decent burst. I do poorly on mobile fights, partially because Arms’ main filler attack has a .5-second cast time, partially because I just suck. If I’ve got to DPS, give me a fight like XT where I can just stand there and beat the crap out of him, bombs notwithstanding.

  10. #10 by kyrilean on October 27, 2009 - 12:08 pm

    “…we shifted shit around and I was shadow all night.”

    Don’t let her fool you people. She wanted to go shadow. Don’t even deny it, Amber!

  11. #11 by Oasic on October 27, 2009 - 1:03 pm

    You left out the part at the start of the raid where you said something like this in the healer channel:

    “wtf, we don’t need seven healers”
    /dualspec

    I did enjoy it though each time Mach said, “Ok Amber, I am going to need you to be shadow for this fight”

  12. #12 by Ambrosyne on October 27, 2009 - 1:24 pm

    @Oasic – Yeah, that amused me too. As I stood there, already in shadow form, having already been DPSing…

    @Celaeno – And I’m good DPS?! I don’t honestly CARE which priest goes shadow. I flail when I seem to suck at it, as I flailed last night, but it’ll never upset me to go shadow…not even in ToC. We can try it some other time…and if you don’t like shadow in there, or don’t feel that you’re up to par, then we can trade. And I…won’t care. :)

    @Kyr – I’m happy doing WTF ever. It made the most sense to have me go shadow at the time and yeah, I wanted to. I was just irritated at my performance!

    @Cassandri – Good advice, and I’ll keep it in mind. But when the raid leader sits right behind you? Or is your GM, who lives across the street? It’s pretty deeply engrained to follow instructions. >.> Skull = KILL, this is hard training to bypass!

  13. #13 by Voink on October 27, 2009 - 2:04 pm

    Moonkins also hate ToC for the target swapping and the lack of a chance to get a good rotation going. So I very much feel your pain.

  14. #14 by Celaeno on October 27, 2009 - 2:07 pm

    I just have an unhealthy fear of being judged since I’m new. :P Okay, maybe not that new anymore.

  15. #15 by Nzete on October 27, 2009 - 2:33 pm

    If you look at the latest PTR notes with the incoming shadow priest dps buffs (rather major), you come to the conclusion that Blizzard recognized that shadow dps even with skills puts out lousy results. I haven’t tried a dummy or anything but with single target lolsmite might be a better option…. which says bad things about the current state of shadow.

  16. #16 by Myssidia on October 27, 2009 - 3:40 pm

    @Celaeno I totally know what you mean, I seriously have a mini-heart attack each time I goof up and need to go eat half a pint of ice cream to not start getting depressed. At least… you don’t cleanse on Grob >< (Will never allow myself to live that down)

    @Amber I totally never mind DPSing if that's what is needed. Although, it doesn't sound like we'll ever lack AoE heals. Srsly though, I may not be all that great (I'm really not) at DPSing, but if I ever need to, it's not a problem at all. =]

  17. #17 by Adgamorix on October 27, 2009 - 3:53 pm

    I can’t help you with the spriest DPS – but for ret you should check out this post http://w-crusher.blogspot.com/2009/10/how-does-he-do-it.html by our resident ret pally – who honestly does come close to 18k DPS on 25 man Twin Valks. OK – maybe only like 12 or 14 – but it’s still ridiculous.

    In that post he goes through the basics, and lays it out nice and simple about how to do good ret DPS. He also showcases a mod that helps with your rotation, which is probably 70% of ret DPS.

  18. #18 by elekat on October 27, 2009 - 5:42 pm

    I know what you mean by LOL-Mindsear – hit 8K DPS thanks to cooperative whelps ….
    My priest has yet to try ToC …. always needed to tank it!

  19. #19 by Cassandri on October 27, 2009 - 8:24 pm

    @ Amber

    “But when the raid leader sits right behind you? Or is your GM, who lives across the street? It’s pretty deeply engrained to follow instructions.”

    If your RL sits behind you then you have every right to yell “eyes on your own screen tyvm” or “don’t tell me how to play” if they even start to get snippy about what you’re doing.

    I figure you’re only in the wrong if you DoT up a new target before the tank get it if, and only if, you did that when your Fade is on cooldown thus removing your oh shit backup plan. Anything else is fair game.

  20. #20 by sainttonone on October 27, 2009 - 10:08 pm

    From Brad – The international blog-troll of doom.

    I wrote a quasi haiku for you:

    Amber fails at ToC
    I think her shadow build has aids,
    Unfortunately, mage cannot dispel :(

    /fin

  21. #21 by Worldmage on October 27, 2009 - 10:18 pm

    I don’t know about locks, but I do know that ToC blows for most dpsers that have back-loaded DPS like spriests (you) and Boomkins (me) unless you DoT everything that moves. We all take time to rev up to our full DPS, so target switching is murder.

    Burst? What is this burst you speak of? All I have is burble.

  22. #22 by HoHo on October 28, 2009 - 3:19 am

    Only fight that is bad for shadow is twins, rest offer numerous possibilities to throw out more dots. I’m in top 5-10 in pretty much all fights and consider that relatively good. Only problem is that multidotting properly is awfully complicated. Any feral who thinks their DPS is hard should reroll shadow and try keeping 3-4 targets fully dotted and then say they are the hardest spec to play with.

Leave a Reply

